2015 Racing Season Kicks Off at Wakefield Park

Malcolm Cancian won a Modern Sports Car race in his return to circuit racing.
Malcolm Cancian won a Modern Sports Car race in his return to circuit racing.

Wakefield Park hosted its first race meeting of 2015, Round 1 of the Motor Racing Australia series today with Modern Sports Cars, Super TT, Superkarts, Minis and Regularity all on the program.

Brian Anderson won the first three Modern Sports Car races in his BMW E36 M3, but mechanical gremlins prevented him from starting the final, which was taken out by Malcolm Cancian, father of regular Wakefield Park competitor Nick.

It was Cancian’s first race meeting in many years, and he was elated with victory.

“It was a lot of fun being back in a race car and good to be competitive, but the last race was certainly hard work!” Cancian said.

Modern Sports Car class winner (from L to R: Malcolm Cancian, Daniel Reynolds, Sam Silvestro).
Modern Sports Car class winner (from left) Malcolm Cancian, Daniel Reynolds, Sam Silvestro).

Daniel Reynolds (Mazda MX5) and Sam Silvestro (BMW M3) each claimed Modern Sports Car class victories, based on their performances compared to similar cars across the three races.

Regular NSW Sports Sedan front-runner Steven Lacey won the first two Super TT races in his Holden Commodore, but a spin in Race 3 allowed Adam Burgess (Mazda RX7) to pounce, with Dori Saade (BMW M3) finishing in second.

The Mini Series was dominated by defending champion Linda Devlin, who took comprehensive victories in all three races. John Walker was second in Races 1 and 3, but mechanical problems ruled him out of Race 2; Chris Adlam emerged in the runner-up spot.

Superkarts also produced four competitive races. John Pellicano won Race 1, but Aaron Cogger won Races 2, 3 and 4, setting times less than half a second outside the lap record.

The non-gearbox class was also a closely-fought affair with Mark Vickers, Wayne Horswell, Ryan Taplin, David Fogerty and Alan Dodge all swapping the race lead on multiple occasions. Vickers ended up winning three of the four races with Horswell victorious in the other.

Geoff Owens (Datsun 260Z) claimed two of the Regularity runs, with Mark Nottage (Hyundai Excel) and Gordon Lennox (Datsun 240Z) winning one each.

The next race meeting at Wakefield Park will be the Formula Vee 50th anniversary race meeting on 14-15 February.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist