A great club night at Wangaratta City Raceway for local racing members

Wangaratta City Raceway played host to its local competitors on Saturday night with all the club classes running for points. The Production Sedans were having a track series round along with members points up for grabs for all classes. A healthy crowd enjoyed a relaxed night of racing with winners being Raymond Ussher, Martin Heiner, Felicity Roycroft, Riley Balins, Justin Brockley, and Trevor Evans.

Raymond Ussher picked up the win in the Production Sedans putting down fast laps with consistency in the final whilst Tom Barnard, Rodney Anderson and David Lord were the only others to finish in that order.

In Sports Sedan’s Martin Heiner who has recently only just returned to the Speedway to compete after a little time away and becoming a father, won his second feature event in a couple of weeks when he finished ahead of Felicity Roycroft and Matthew Brooks. Josh Beattie finished fourth and visiting Maryborough woman Pauline Fell finished in fifth spot in her new race car.

Roycroft continued her dominance in the Ladies Open Sedans with a victory in front of Tay Cummins. Roycroft is well on top in this class locally and thinking about her finishing rate in the Sports Sedans, she could be leading that class also. Roycroft, Cummins and Janie Patton were the top three with Jaimi Barber and Pauline Fell the top five in the Ladies.

Riley Balins and Cobie McGraw were the only two Junior Sedan drivers to finish the final for the Junior Sedans whose Victorian title is at Wahgunyah this Saturday night. Balins the winner here.

Once again Trevor Evans won the Standard Saloons finishing well ahead Daryl Joosten and Josh Delarue. Jaimi Barber was fourth with Scott McAuliffe in fifth spot. Evans was lapping around a second a lap quicker than the rest of the competitors in the final.

The Goulburn Ovens Sedan Associations points event for Goulburn Ovens Sedans was again won by Justin Brockley. Brockley is currently on top of his game and has the wood over Ross Maclean who has been the classes most dominant racer in recent seasons. Corey McDonald was second, Maclean third then Stuart Balins and Janie Patton.

Wangaratta City Raceway is next in competition on March the 26th with the Australian Compact Speedcar Australia Title, Production Sedans, and local club classes.

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including
A1 Tyre Service
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Services
Grimshaw Signs
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist