Anzac Cup day on Monday At Daylesford speedway

This Monday the annual Anzac Cup day will be held at Daylesford Speedway, a speedway built many years ago by returned servicemen from the local Returned Services League, racing will start at 11.30 am and every competing race category is vying for the honour of winning their class ‘Anzac Cup’ on this very special day.

A remembrance ceremony will be held on the day around 11am at the spectator RSL plaque and national flagpole. All spectators are competitors are invited to be involved by standing around as the ceremony progresses with the Ode, the Last Post, the Rouse, the national anthem and more with some assistance from a guest musical artist, Ricky from Mojo Jacket. Competitors and crew will be locked out of the pits for a short time whilst the ceremony is performed and let back in after it is completed.

Last Sundays Modified Sedan winner Brett Carrington returns for competition against a terrific line-up that includes Jayden Humphrey, the returning Blake Harris, Luke Humphrey, Coby and Reece Kakoschke, Ryan Daly, Daniel Carter, David Barrie, and Steven Warlond. The winner for this week is anybody’s guess, however Harris and Barrie have both won in their cars in recent visits to the Basin.

Katie Meyer it seems just cannot lose at Daylesford and she returns to try to take another win in the Ladies Sedans Anzac Cup. Ellen Vagg, Chloe Graham, and Richelle Jenner are just some of the fierce competition she will need to finish ahead of on Monday.

Daylesford Junior Sedans competition will see Bailey Kakoschke the red-hot favourite trying to pick up another win, this week though Jhett Cruise returns, and he will join Blaize Majok-Edwards and others trying to get the ‘W’ over Kakoschke.

Last week’s Street Stock feature race winner Chris Hay is on a high having won his first ever final. Hay is going for back-to-back with the likes of Ashley Fox, Des Robinson, Glenn McCoubrie, Anthony Bull, Ellen Vagg and Belinda Taylor in the field. The category at Daylesford produces very even competition so we could end up with a completely new winner this Monday.

Tim Hutchinson is the club’s standout Standard Saloon competitor, and he will look to pick up another win with the likes of Andrew Cormack a winner previously at Bairnsdale, Rob Tatterson a sport veteran, Bailey Sinclair, and Rick Stowe. Hutchinson is the most likely to win, it would be a big win for anybody else that could beat Hutchinson.

Another run for the Junior 1200cc Sedans will see Arthur Hutchinson from Daylesford club up against a healthy field of competitors that includes Connor Claridge, Ella Sheedy, Riley Taylor, and Bryce Leek who were all in the top five last time the class competed in the Basin. Hutchinson is proving hard to defeat in finals, could Monday be the day it happens?

Rounding out the on-track action will be the Ace of Spades vintage club in spirited demonstrations including know military veteran Col Chadwick who is looking forward to having a squirt on Anzac Day at a race track built by servicemen and women.

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday. Daylesford Speedway has an onsite bar, no BYO allowed. $4 beers $6 Spirits.

All Competitors and spectators need to prove double vaccination upon entry to the venue. Please have them ready when you reach the entry gate.

Head to Basin Road Daylesford to watch, general enquiries on 0408 541 873 or 0402 534 711

All adults are $15 to enter, Life members & aged pensioners are $10. Children 13 to 17 are $5 each and twelve and under are free, no family ticket at these prices.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Interactive Mobile app.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters;
O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Metro Fuels – Daylesford
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
Daylesford Bowling Club
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
Rusty Cars Down Under
J Tow
Mitre 10 – Daylesford
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat

DDA7 – Jayden Humphrey
DDA21 – Blake Harris
DDA25 – Luke Humphrey
DDA38 – Daniel East
DDA29 – Coby Kakoschke
DDA31 – Reece Kakoschke
DDA33 – Ryan Daly
DDA47 – Brett Carrington
DDA56 – Dale Spinner
DDA63 – Wade Justice
DDA73 – Daniel Carter
DDA83 – David Barrie
DDA87 – Steven Warlond

DDA12B – Jo Richardson
DDA19B – Sammie Broome
DDA21 – Ellen Vagg
DDA25 – Katie Meyer
DDA51G – Michaela Kelly
DDA73 – Chloe Graham
DDA87 -Richalle Jenner

DDA 45 – Sebastian Hardie
DDA30 – Bailey Kakoschke
DDA33 – Arthur Hutchinson
DDA35 – Blaize Majok- Edwards
DDA48 – Ben Carrington
DDA85 – Jhett Cruise

DDA21 – Ellen Vagg
DDA27 – Riley Noonan
DDA29G – Ashley Fox
DDA36 – David Clark
DDA42 – Chris Hay
DDA63 – Des Robinson
DDA66 – Glenn McCoubrie
DDA80 – Belinda Taylor
DDA88 – Anthony Bull
DDA92 – Jamie Angwin

Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Joel McInnes – Colac 14
Scott Deville – Nyora 24
Darcy Loader – Colac 32
Rob Tatterson – Rosedale 61
Tim Hutchinson – Daylesford 88
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Connor Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Ty Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Ella Sheedy – Nyora 21
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 25
Bryce Leek – Nyora 29
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82

Bob Malone – 8
Peter Dredge – 13
Col Chadwick – 50
Mark Cowin – 77
Darren Chesterfield – 79

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor – DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist