Aussie rally champ confirmed for Mahindra gig

Dean Herridge
Dean Herridge

Australian professional rally driver and champion Dean Herridge is the latest big name in Australasian motorsport to confirm he will be lining up for the first round of the Mahindra North Island Endurance Series – the Mahindra Pukekohe 6 hours – and he’ll be doing it alongside Gary Morgan in a brand new supercharged Subaru BRZ built and run by legendary outfit Possum Bourne Motorsport.

Herridge (37) is a former 2011 Australian Targa Champion (2011) and FIA Pacific Cup Champion (2008) and has a number of Bathurst 12 hour events under his belt.

The idea to race in New Zealand came from Subaru Australia team mate Cody Crocker, who had been in contact with driver and BRZ car owner Gary Morgan for a while about a possible drive. With Crocker committed to racing his Polaris off road enduro car over the Pukekohe weekend, Herridge was invited to take the spot and jumped at the chance.

“We have a long standing relationship at Subaru Australia with Possum Bourne Motorsport who ran our programme originally in the Australian Rally Championship, so the connections are strong. I saw the shell of the car when I attended the 10 year memorial event for Possum last year but it has come a long way since then and has been built with a supercharged BRZ engine.

“Pukekohe will essentially be the debut for the car but Gary has plenty of circuit experience and knowledge of Subarus and we have a great team behind us in Possum Bourne Motorsport. The objective will be to make the car fast, reliable and user friendly and obviously do as well as we can in the six hour race. I have a little bit of circuit experience from when we used to shakedown the Rally NZ Subarus there back in the day but overall I am just excited to be coming to the event, it’s generating quite a bit of interest and it’s going to be good to be part of it.”

The Mahindra Pukekohe Six Hour race will include a one, three and six hour race on June 6th and 7th with one and three hour events at Taupo on July 4th and 5th and one, three and six hour events at Hampton Downs on 25th and 26th of July.

See below for Dean Herridge’s competition history

•Contracted to Subaru Australia
•Competes for Subaru Rally Team China in China Rally Championship
•Competes for Maximum Motorsport in tarmac and gravel rally events
•2011 Australian Targa Champion
•2008 FIA Pacific Cup Champion
•3rd Outright 2008 Targa Tasmania
•2007 and 2006 Australian Rally Championship, 3rd Outright, 1st Privateer
•2006 Rally Australia – Rd 14 WRC, 8th Outright, 3rd PWRC, 1st Australian
•1st Outright 2006 Australian Rally Championship Round 4 – Tasmania
•2nd Outright 2006 Rally Tasmania Tarmac Rally (Winner Jim Richards)
•FIA B Seeded driver for 2005
•Winner 2004 International Rally of Canberra (APRC Round 1)
•9th Outright and Winner of Group N 2004 Rally New Zealand (WRC Round 4)
•2007, 2006, 2001 and 2000 Australian Privateer Rally Champion
•Contracted to Subaru Rally Team Australia, 2002-2005
•2005 Australian Rally Championship Runner Up
•Competed in 49 international events (by the end of 2008), in Australia, New Zealand, Indonesia, United Kingdom, Japan China and New Caledonia.

Championship Titles

•Australian Targa Championship: 2011
•FIA Pacific Cup Champion: 2008
•Australian Privateer Rally Champion: 2000, 2001, 2006 & 2007
•Australian 2 Litre Champion: 1997, 1998
•Western Australian Rallysprint Champion: 1995, 1996
•Western Australian Clubman Champion: 1994

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist