Australian title and Junior night at Wangaratta City Raceway this Saturday

Wangaratta City Raceway this Saturday plays host to another two title events at its second last race meeting of the season when the Grand Prix Midgets arrive in town for the Australian title and the Junior Open Sedans compete for the Victorian title with support from the Sports Sedans, Ladies Open Sedans, Junior 1200cc Sedans and with the Junior Sedan Promotions Association also making the trip to Wangaratta for series events for the Juniors in 1500cc Sedans.

Competitors from New South Wales and across Victoria are entered into the national title for Grand Prix Midgets with pre-event favouritism amongst the nominations on Gary Bowyer from Sydney, whilst drivers such as Chris Fowler, Adam Buckley also from New South Wales, Alex Myers from Shepparton, Travis Florrimell, Matt Kamolins and Shawn Ward from Benalla are just some of the drivers to keep your eye on at the front of the field.

Junior Open Sedans competitors will compete for a Victorian title in their class, Wangaratta members such as Cooper Lack, Jacob Tinworth and Riley Balins will do battle with visiting competitors such as Braidan Webster, Connor Claridge, Marcus Maclean, Anthony Hanson, Harry Cecil, Jordyn Tewkesbury, Mia Lamb, and Hunter Carey to name a few that are set to challenge for podium positions on title night.

Wangaratta will also see the nationally aligned Junior Sedans compete with their Top Star and New Star gradings. In Top Stars for the more developed and experienced racers between the ages of twelve and seventeen, drivers such as brothers Linken and River Paterson, brother and sister James and Christine Oliver and Sisters Bree and Tamika Simpson will figure in the podium race, as will Blake Glynn. In the New Star class Wangaratta member Zack Erickson, a recent winner at Nyora is a driver likely to be at the front with Steane Cosson, Tyson Heaphy, James Peacock, and Harry Dunn competing for the podium spots.

Local race drivers in the Sports Sedan’s will be competitive against a few visitors that are making the trip into Wangaratta. Felicity Roycroft, Jaimi Barber and Bianca Ballantyne lead a trio Ladies up against the likes of Shane Simpson Dennis Reid, and Steven Loader whilst the Wangaratta lads Jake and Craig Cottier, Jesse Nicholas, James Guppy, and Tom Barnard want to leave their mark also.

The Ladies then hit the track in Ladies Open Sedans where Roycroft, Barber, and Ballantyne go at each other again, this time though Kimberley Smith, Tay Barnard and Leah Orgill join them. Roycroft is the class champion and very difficult to defeat.

Rounding out all the classes is the Junior 1200cc Sedans with all the cars and competitors coming from out of town. Ella Sheedy and Xander Baxter have figured at the front in recent weeks whilst Bryce Leek is a Wangaratta resident racing for the Drouin club where his father’s side of the family are members. Wangaratta will get behind Leek in the 1200s.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.
Public enquiries can be made to 0458 889 974

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

SPONSOR RECOGNITION FOR Wangaratta Speedway Club
A1 Tyre Service
Aerodrome Automotive
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Service
Grimshaw Sign
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Toil and Soil
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda
Wangaratta Offroad & Mechanical

Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 5
Gary Bowyer – NSW 5
Anthony Lea – NSW 7
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Alex Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
David Bacon – Victoria 36
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Riley Bowyer – NSW 50
Adam Buckley – NSW 67
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Cooper Lack – Wangaratta 4
Tyiren Bailey – Corowa 4
Braidan Webster – Alexandra 5
Ty Claridge – Swan Hill 5
Levi Blake – Ballarat 6
Connor Claridge – Goulburn Valley 6
Jacob Tinworth – Wangaratta 7
Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Thomas Mohr – Corowa 8
Anthony Hanson – Bendigo 10
Connor Lovell – Corowa 21
Riley Balins – Wangaratta 21
Mackenzie Bunt – Corowa 22
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Blaize Majok – Edwards – Daylesford 33
Harry Cecil – Alexandra 34
Peyton Edwards – Daly – Daylesford 35
Cobie McGraw – Corowa 39
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51
Jordyn Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Brody McCarten – Corowa 63
Kalani Garlick – Alexandra 63
Mia Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Jayden Lock – Simpson 4
Blake Glynn- Avalon 8
Parr Das – Simpson 8
Bree Simpson – Alexandra 10
Tamika Simpson – Alexandra 23
Tristan Jarred – Nyora 27
James Oliver – Warrnambool 35
Christine Oliver – Ballarat 43
River Paterson – Alexandra 47
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 48
Kiarna Barton – Alexandra 51
Maddy Capon – Alexandra 66

Steane Cosson – Alexandra 8
Tyson Heaphy – Nyora 9
Jaylen Knight – Nyora 17
James Peacock – Avalon 23
Harry Dunn – Bendigo 23
Allie Erickson – Wangaratta 27
Zac Loader – Alexandra 28
Zack Erickson – Wangaratta 28
Cruz Paterson – Alexandra 46
Brad Marshall – Alexandra 58
Maddy Beach – Alexandra 88

Shane Simpson – Nagambie 7
Jake Cottier – Wangaratta 11
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Brendan Lovell – Corowa 21
Craig Cottier – Wangaratta 34
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Jesse Nicholas – Wangaratta 50
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
James Guppy – Wangaratta 66
Steve Loader – Alexandra 69
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 88

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Leah Orgill – Wangaratta 27
Kimberley Smith – Alexandra 40
Tay Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 88

Ella Sheedy – Drouin 21
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Zac Loader – Alexandra 28
Bryce Leek – Drouin 29
Brad Marshall – Alexandra 58
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Maddy Beach – Alexandra 88

Ends Release

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist