BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship up for grabs at Rainbow

The 2017 BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Champions will be crowned at the conclusion of this weekend’s Hindmarsh Shire Rainbow Desert Enduro supported by GrainCorp—but just who will take out the title is still anyone’s guess.

Outright and class championship titles are well and truly alive as Australia’s best off road teams head to the third and final round of the Australian championship; with a maximum of 529 points available at this round—1.5 times more points than at each of the first two rounds—a solid performance is vital for teams in the championship hunt.

Outer Bounds Racing’s Travis Robinson and navigator Trent Anthony lead Matthew Martin by just 17 points in the BFGoodrich CAMS Australian Off Road Championship; Chris Browning sits in third, a further 74 points behind Martin.

Martin and Browning have their own battle going on in the Prolite class, with just 30 points separating the pair.

The Extreme 2WD class championship will be decided at the Rainbow Desert Enduro; Michael Mclean and John Stewart are 54 points ahead of Tatts Finke Desert Race runners-up Beau Robinson and Shane Hutt. Steven Sanderson and Tahlia O’Cass are not out of it either, only 33 points further adrift.

The popular Superlite B class is anyone’s, with Nathan Chivers and Scott O’Connor leading Greg Campbell by 26 points; Michael and Mitchel Schnieder are a further 28 points adrift.

The closest battle will be between Paul Malt/Rick Norris and Travis Rosewarne/Mark Nelson in the Extreme 4WD class; just one point separates the two teams after two rounds. Matt Gardiner and Levi Saleeba also have a shot at the class title, sitting third only 79 points behind.

Located in the historic township of Rainbow in Victoria, some 400 kilometres north-west of Melbourne, the local community is set to embrace the inaugural Rainbow Desert Enduro with scrutiny and a public display of cars taking over the main street of the town on Friday afternoon.

Over 50 teams will tackle the 80 kilometre track on the north-west outskirts of the town; spectators can see all the action from the the GrainCorp Race Centre, featuring the competitor pits and spectator viewing.

Run by the Victorian Off Road Racing Association, the event promises to be an exciting finale to the 2017 BFGoodrich CAMS AORC; it is also a round of the CAMS Victorian Off Road Championship. For further information visit

2017 BFGoodrich CAMS AORC Points – after round 2


Travis Robinson/Trent Anthony 575
Matthew Martin 558
Chris Browning 484

Pro buggy

Travis Robinson/Trent Anthony 575
Ryan Taylor/Nev Taylor 383
Shannon Rentsch/Ian Rentsch 363


Matthew Martin 716
Chris Browning 686
Tait Svenson 532

Super 1650

Declan Cummins 563
Michael Phillips/Lisa Phillips 375

Extreme 2WD

Michael Mclean/John Stewart 429
Beau Robinson/Shane Hutt 375
Steven Sanderson/Tahlia O’Cass 342


Waylon Jaggard 300

Superlite A

Dan Czislowski/Tara Czislowski 682
Gary Taylor/Jamie Hacker 351
Dean Terry/Terry Jordon 345

Superlite B

Nathan Chivers/Scott O’Connor 656
Greg Campbell 630
Michael Schnieder/Mitchel Schnieder 602

Production 4WD

Geoff Pickering/Dylan Watson 750
Jodie Allen/Trevor Wiley 401

Extreme 4WD

Paul Malt/Rick Norris 672
Travis Rosewarne/Mark Nelson 671
Matthew Gardiner/Levi Saleeba 592

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist