Big season opening night at Rushworth Speedway this Saturday night

Rushworth Speedway will provide plenty of action this Saturday night when it kicks off its season that has been held back whilst the club did some work around the facility and prepared for another year of racing. For the first show of the season, Goulburn Valley Auto Club has invited the Daylesford Speedway Club to compete, and a couple of classes have taken up that opportunity. Along with the Daylesford classes, the Goulburn Valley club classes that now includes the Sports Sedans and Junior 1200 Sedans are all on the programme.

Goulburn Valley have several representatives in our new Victorian Speedway Council club class, the 1200cc Junior Sedans. With Libby Ahearn, Connor and Tyler Claridge set to represent Rushworth against a strong field coming from all parts of Victoria. Arthur Hutchinson, Riley Taylor, Bryce Leek, Billy McBride, and Toby Cook are just some of the visiting youngsters to watch.

Sports Sedans will also compete and with big events at two other tracks, we have a small local contingent of race drivers competing. Marc Hanson, Corey Knox, Troy Britton, and Garry Gapes are some of the drivers in the line-up to keep an eye on.

Two Daylesford classes are making the trip to Rushworth, with many of the members from the Western Suburbs of Melbourne and around the Ballarat area. The Street Stocks and A Modifieds are coming and in the Street Stock line-up last season’s club champion Des Robinson and Glen McCoubrie will look to continue their battles of the past few seasons. Michael Smith is another driver to watch in the Stockies.

Daylesford A Modified Sedans race right hand down as do the Street Stocks. Seventeen Modifieds have nominated to compete including Jayden Humphreys, Dale Kakoschke, Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, Nash Harris, and Ricky-Lee Basten who are just a handful of competitors that should provide some interest for fans. Humphreys in his Cortina is popular and the return of Nash Harris to the wheel after spending time recently on the bitumen circuits along with Dale Kakoschke getting back behind the wheel provides extra interest.

Our home track classes for this Saturday night includes the Open Saloons, Production Sedans and Juniors. In Open Saloons competition Bevan Hutchins with the number one plate on his roof is keen to start the season with a win. He will be up against the likes of Keith Simmonds, Scott Smith, Matthew Smith, and Mark Bergman amongst others vying for first place.

Colin Ahearn will be competing in the Production Sedans and in doing so he is part of three generations of his family on track this Saturday. Colin will race his son Jason in Production Sedans whilst his granddaughter Libby Ahearn races in the Junior 1200s. Production Sedan action will include Geoff Lee returning to the wheel, Shane Hutchins, Warren Alexander, Jack Houlahan with Kelly Lamb another racer to watch.

Rounding out our classes is the Goulburn Valley clubs own Junior Sedans. Keiden Britton is an experienced racer in the line-up as is Caleb Simmonds. We look forward to seeing how the like of Leah Simmonds, Zach Hampton, Tia Anderson, Carley Smith, and Mia Lamb go. Many of them are rookie race drivers without a race under their belt.

All the action begins at 4pm on and enquiries can be made to 0491 680 977.

Spectator admission costs are Adults $20, Aged Pensioners $15, Kids ages 12 to 16 $10 each whilst children under the age of twelve are free. A family of two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 is $50 on a family ticket.

Goulburn Valley Auto Club is proudly supported by,
Automotive Super Balance – Shepparton
1 Stop Construction Group P/L – Kyabram
Claridge House Removalists
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
RDI Mobile Mechanical Services
Rod Wild Auto Electric Services – Shepparton
Rushworth Criterion Hotel
Rushworth Rural Services
Ward Bros – Rochester
WG Panels – Rochester

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Connor Claridge – Goulburn Valley 7
Tyler Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Billy McBride – Alexandra 13
Harry Dunn – Bendigo 23
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 25
Xander Baxter – Alexandra 27
Bryce Leek – Nyora 29
Ryder Taylor – Nyora 43
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82
Toby Cook – Laang 95

Marc Hanson – Bendigo 19
Troy Britton – Goulburn Valley 41
Justin Hampton – Goulburn Valley 44
Kevin Apps – Daylesford 46
Shaqkira Blake – Ballarat 66
Corey Knox – Goulburn Valley 67
Garry Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Jack Houlahan – Goulburn Valley 96

Jhon Baker – Daylesford 0
Dylan Reeves – Daylesford 7
Michael Smith – Daylesford 13
David Clark – Daylesford 36
Benjamin Anderson – Daylesford 45
Des Robinson – Daylesford 63
Glen McCoubrie – Daylesford 66
Anthony Bull – Daylesford 88
Steven Brook – Daylesford 99

Leon Argent – Daylesford 11
Bradley Trainor – Daylesford 22
Jayden Humphreys – Daylesford 24
Luke Humphreys – Daylesford 25
Steven Trainor – Daylesford 27
Derek Higginbottom – Daylesford 26
Dale Kakoschke – Daylesford 29
Coby Kakoschke – Daylesford 32
Ryan Daly – Daylesford 33
Ian Bartlett – Daylesford 34
Peter Jenner – Daylesford 41
Colin Threlfall – Daylesford 45
Nash Harris – Daylesford 54
Dale Spinner – Daylesford 56
Wade Justice – Daylesford 63 (B Mod)
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Steve Warlond – Daylesford 87
Ricky-Lee Basten – Daylesford 92

Bevan Hutchins – Goulburn Valley 18
Stewart Knight – Goulburn Valley 23
Mark Bergman – Goulburn Valley 31
Keith Simmonds – Goulburn Valley 38
Justin Hampton – Goulburn Valley 44
Scott Smith – Goulburn Valley 58
Tyler Gahan – Goulburn Valley 60
Matthew Smith – Goulburn Valley 61
Greg Knight – Goulburn Valley 123

Colin Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Geoff Lee – Goulburn Valley 5
Jordan Tombyn – Goulburn Valley 9
Shane Hutchins – Goulburn Valley 10
Jason Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 17
Jye Sanders – Goulburn Valley 37
Warren Alexander – Goulburn Valley 64
Kelly Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Nicole Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Jack Houlahan – Goulburn Valley 96

Leah & Caleb Simmonds – Goulburn Valley 38
Zach Hampton – Goulburn Valley 44
Tia Anderson – Daylesford 45
Carley Smith – Goulburn Valley 58
Mia Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Keiden Britton – Goulburn Valley 141

Ends Release

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist