The big toys are back at Rushworth this Saturday night

Late Model Sedan racing returns to Rushworth Speedway this Saturday night as the showcase division with support from the Division 2 Hot Rods who will later in the season have a Victorian title at the venue and all the local heroes from the Goulburn Valley Sedan classes.

The Late Model Sedans so far this season have been racing at Alexandra, Rosedale in Gippsland and up at Swan Hill and now it is the Goulburn Valleys turn. Cameron Pearson from Healesville is the man to beat this season so far and New Zealand Lady racer Kristin Vermeulen has been consistent and a fleet of interstate based race drivers will keep Pearson on his toes.

Brock Edwards from Eildon and James Cornfoot have quick cars, if everything goes right for them on Saturday night, they just might put Pearson under pressure. Watch for David Robertson, Wade Carter and David Cassidy from New South Wales, Brett Watson from Queensland and Steve Vaughan from South Australia as the interstate drivers give some stick to the Vic’s.

Victorian Champion Scott Laidlaw leads a small contingent of Division 2 Hot Rods to Rushworth this weekend. The class is a predominantly Latrobe Valley up to East Gippsland category running at Bairnsdale and Rosedale most of the season. Laidlaw, Rob Tatterson, Toby Callanan are amongst the stronger racers that have nominated all looking for an edge before their Victorian title after Christmas.

Local action from the Goulburn Valley classes will be hotly contested as always with Paul Lamb up against last meetings winner of the Opens Stephen Hopkins. Hopkins deserved the win last meeting as to be first you have to be first to the finish line; however Lamb will be rueing lost opportunity after a first lap accident took he and another entrant Adam Box out of the race at the last show.

The Production Sedan field is wide open once again with a number of entrants capable of snatching the win. Leigh Jeffery, the Hutchins Lads, Geoff Lee and Ian Wilson amongst them. Its anybody’s guess as to who is going to win on Saturday night.

Chloe Lamb, Kelly Lamb and Felicity Roycroft will be at it again in the Ladies with all three figuring in the finish at the last show. The return of Belinda Chalcraft might just intervene in their battle with Chelsea Hodge another looking to add her name to the podium.

Finally, in the Junior Sedans Lachie Fitzpatrick remains the driver to beat and whilst his competitors are getting closer, Fitzpatrick is focussing on another clean sweep of race wins. Tristan McGraw, Daniel Smith, the Cecil boys and Jordan Simmonds will be in amongst the action ready to pounce.

Racing begins from 4pm with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
WG Panels – Rochester
Provac Poultry Services – Bendigo
Bourke Fencing – Bendigo
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Kyabram Bearings – Kyabram
Autobarn Shepparton
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Michel Signs – Shepparton
Sonaray Lighting – Melbourne
The McIvor – Bendigo
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura

Danny Amato – Victoria 0
James Cornfoot – Victoria 4
David Robertson – NSW / X4
Shane Belk – Victoria 9
Brett Watson – Queensland 9
Cameron Pearson – Victoria 10
George Napier – Victoria / 11x
Kristin Vermeulen – New Zealand 12
Brock Edwards – Victoria 12
David Cassidy – New South Wales 23
Wade Carter – New South Wales 24
Steve Vaughan – South Australia 67

Scott Laidlaw – Moe/Vic 1
RobTatterson – Moe/Vic3
Jason Seymour – Moe 10
Toby Callanan – Rosedale 14
Melissa Tatterson – Moe 21
Jake Van Den Brand – Rosedale 27
Jordan Haley – Moe 65
Shane Uprichard – Rosedale 95

Mark Bergman – 31
Braiden Simmonds – 36
Scott O’Keefe – 37
Brad Simmonds – 39
Thomas Conboy – 56
Neil Johnson – 69
Paul Lamb – 73
Garry Gapes – 84
Stephen Hopkins – 95
Scott Burchett – 104

Geoff Lee – 5
Shane Hutchins – 15
Bevan Hutchins – 18
Ian Wilson – 19
Leigh Jeffery – 29
Troy Britton – 41
Rod Burchett – 52
Aaron Bacon – 57
Scott Smith – 59
Dale Smith- 59
Tyler Gahan – 60
Jacob Lourey – 62

Chloe Lamb – 2
Belinda Chalcraft – 15
Maddie Naismith – 35
Kelly Lamb – 77
Nicole Gapes – 84
Chelsea Hodge – 95
Linette Moore – 104
Felicity Roycroft – 165

Lachie Fitzpatrick – 1
Josh Cecil – 6
Luke Cecil – 7
Jordan Simmonds – 20
Tristan McGraw – 38
Daniel Smith – 59

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist