Chivers Memorial day this Saturday at Daylesford Speedway

The Victorian Speedway Council Standard Saloon class makes its biggest appearance of the season at Daylesford Speedway this Saturday with the running of the Chivers Memorial honouring the father of David and the grandfather of Austin and Lachie who will all be competing in the race themselves along with a host of competitors from as far as Bairnsdale making the trip to compete.

All the local Daylesford member classes and the 1200cc Junior Sedan class make up a show with more than seventy competitors nominated so far.

In the Memorial race for Standard Saloons a number of the entrants have won feature events in the class, and they will all be vying for the big win on the Saturday. Andrew Cormack, Trevor Crilly, Stephen Douglas, Andrew Miles, Dean Pedersen, Aaron Meakins, and Rick Stowe have all won events before and are amongst the favourites in the nominations list that has over twenty-five racers in the hunt.

Greater Ballarat is represented in the event beyond the Chivers family to include Sean Oakes-Rogers, Patrick Walsh, Jacob Head, Bailey Sinclair, Hayley Walker, and Brad Sheppard.

Junior 1200cc Sedan race drivers are having their last attempt to familiarise themselves with the Daylesford track before their upcoming Victorian title at the venue. Arthur Hutchinson is the heavy favourite having won almost every feature race he has entered in the class since its beginning. Braiden Webster from Wonthaggi, Billy McBride from the eastern suburbs, Riley Taylor, Ella Sheedy, Bryce Leek and Chase Doherty are others who have shown some great speed in the class and they will be keen to get a victory over Hutchinson before the title race.

Jhett Cruise a former club Junior makes his debut in senior racing in the Modified class this weekend and he will be up against strong competition that includes Brad Trainor, Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, Dan Carter and Steven Warlond. Carter has been the most consistent over the last eighteen months in the class, anything can happen, and he will have his eye out for challengers.

Street Stock competition includes Robert Smith, David Clark, Glenn McCoubrie, Sarah Meakins, and Anthony Bull as drivers in the mix for a win this week whilst in the Juniors Arthur Hutchinson will compete in his second class for race day with Blaize Majok-Edwards, Peyton Edwards-Daly, and Ben Carrington some of the other entrants to keep an eye on. Rounding out the support class racing.

In Ladies Sedan racing Jane Laidler is the most consistent of the current competitors at Daylesford. She can expect strong competition from Richelle Warlond, Jo Richardson and Sarah Meakins, Sarah a very experienced racer however fairly new to competing at Daylesford.

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday. Daylesford Speedway has an onsite bar, no BYO allowed. $4 beers $6 Spirits.

Head to Basin Road Daylesford to watch, general enquiries on 0408 5439 694 or 0449 107 863

Entry for all adults for is $15 to enter, Life members & aged pensioners are $10. Children 10 to 17 are $5 each and ten and under are free, no family ticket.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Interactive Mobile app.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 11
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Joel McInnes – Colac 14
Trevor Crilly – Swan Hill 15
Luke King – Nyora 16
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Sam Rundell – Portland 24
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Justin Crerar – Ballarat 29
Andrew Miles – Nyora 34
Lockie Rae – Bendigo 43
Stephen Douglas – Drouin 44
Sean Oakes-Rogers – Ballarat 56
Joshua Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dylan Shelton – Portland 69
Phil Keep – Drouin 71
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Dave Chivers – Ballarat 78
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Jay Miles – Nyora 94
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97
Hayley Walker – Daylesford 97
Brad Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Libby Ahearn – Goulburn Valley 4
Braiden Webster – Alexandra 5
Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Billy McBride – Alexandra 13
Ella Sheedy – Drouin 21
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 22
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Bryce Leek – Drouin 29
Chase Doherty – Nyora 31
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Amiley Botheras – Daylesford 77
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82

Jhett Cruise – 8
Brad Trainor – 12
Graham Smith – 15
Brad Cadzow -22
Derek Higginbottom – 26
Ryan Daly – 33
Ian Bartlett – 34
Graham Hutchinson – 35
Travis Fernandes – 36
Brett Carrington – 47
Wade Justice – 63
Dan Carter – 73
Steven Warlond – 87

Robert Smith – 14B
Riley Noonan – 27
David Clark – 36
Glenn McCoubrie – 66
Sarah Meakins – 84
Anthony Bull – 88DDA
Jamie Angwin – 92

Blair Botheras – 18
Arthur Hutchinson – 26N
Abby/Belle Higginbottom – 26
Peyton Edwards-Daly – 33
Riley Taylor – 35
Blaize Majok-Edwards – 35
Ben Carrington – 48
Noah Basten – 92

Jane Laidler – 8
Marlena Argent – 12
Jo Richardson – 12B
Sarah Gartner – 16N
Shelby Higginbottom – 26
Vicki Alford – 35
Sarah Meakins – 84
Richelle Warlond – 87
Hayley Walker – 97

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist