Clout claims best-career MX Nationals MX1 result at Nowra

pic: Marc Jones Photography

It was a bittersweet day for Crankt Protein Honda Racing at Nowra’s sixth round of the 2017 MX Nationals in New South Wales, marking the recommencement of the series following a lengthy five-week break, highlighted by an impressive fourth place result for MX1 rookie Luke Clout.

Queenslander Todd Waters started on a positive note, claiming his third Super Pole in as many races to be credited three championship points in the process, while Clout joined his teammate in the session, lodging the fifth-fastest time.

It was Clout who shone in front of a home crowd in race one, negotiating the tricky Nowra circuit aboard his 2017 CRF450R with class to cross the line in fourth, setting him up nicely for a solid finish prior to race two. Waters encountered troubles in the opening laps of the race while running in second position, which ultimately forced him the retire from the moto.

In race two, Clout was again able to record a strong consistent finish of fifth, awarding him a well-deserved top five placing in fourth overall for the weekend. The premier class newcomer now sits sixth in the championship standings with four rounds remaining.

Waters came out looking to make amends in his second outing, racing to seventh in what capped off a challenging day for the experienced title hopeful. He maintains a top five position in the point standings with a firm hold on fifth ahead of Clout.

The MX Nationals will now head to Shepparton for the final Victorian stop of the series on 16 July, marking the seventh round of the prestigious championship.

2017 MX Nationals Rd6 Nowra MX1 results:

1. Dean Ferris 70
2. Brett Metcalfe 64
3. Kirk Gibbs 58
4. Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 54
5. Nathan Crawford 51
6. Kade Mosig 50
7. Luke Styke 48
8. Kyle Peters 46
9. Kieron Hall 43
10. Brodie Sims 42
18. Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 24

2017 MX Nationals MX1 championship standings:

1. Dean Ferris 427
2. Kirk Gibbs 366
3. Kade Mosig 329
4. Luke Styke 310
5. Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 304
6. Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 277
7. Kyle Peters 276
8. Brett Metcalfe 239
9. Aleksandr Tonkov 218
10. Kieron Hall 216

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist