Crash and Bash carnage at Drouin Speedway this Saturday

In the second of its twilight Saturday race day shows this season Drouin Speedway fires up from 1pm until the early hours of the evening with a huge Crash and Bash and Dog leg racing event. The annual War on Wheels for the Crash and Bash Opens and the Race for Yarnie for the Ladies Crash and Bash contingent headlines the program with a packed venue from top to bottom of the viewing area expected.

Drivers will compete around the speedway until the enter turn two where they will then cross through the infield dog leg before re-entering onto the speedway in turn three. This slows down the heavy and fast Crash and Bash cars and allows for more opportunities for contact between competitors.

As a result of a tragic accident this past weekend at Daylesford Speedway that claimed the life of Drouin member Stephen Douglas, the Standard Saloon race will honour him as the ‘Drive for Dougo’. This makes the event even bigger than it already was in significance with the two tribute races on the program.

Amongst some of the favoured competitors in the War on Wheels are names like Jackson Basten, Matt Sgroi, Steve Young, Zac and William Leeson, Mark Taylor, Rob Bushell, Nathan Taylor, Jason Judd, Daniel Williams, David Parker, and Alan George. Expect drivers to do whatever it takes to make the finals with some pushing and shoving along the way, and once the final begins, expect absolute mayhem!

In the Race for Yarnie which is a tribute race for Teahn Murrell, Leanne Young returns to do battle with the likes of Danni Marshall, Lea Judd, Clare Lynch, and Erin Brown. Judd is in great racing form and is almost always in the top three whilst Young is a class legend with numerous titles and wins over her career behind the wheel. Watch for those two especially.

Whilst club points are up for grabs in the Standard Saloons, some of ‘Dougo’s mates have entered to compete and the “Drive for Dougo’ takes on more meaning for them. Shane Ardley considered Douglas his best mate and will compete in the other car Douglas owned and Owen Cecil who spent many hours in the garage in Poowong with Douglas has also nominated to turn laps at Drouin.

Jeff Blencowe, Mitch Blencowe, Jack Yeomans, Matt Leek, Kane Gibson and Darwyn Lee are other competitors in the line-up that should figure in the race for podium places, Jeff Blencowe the standout at Drouin along with Jack Yeoman’s with both drivers ranked in Drouin’s top three last season.

A small field of Junior Standard Saloon racers will compete with a big event being held elsewhere whilst the Aces of Spades Vintage club will provide spirited demonstrations once again.

Gates open from 9:30am. Racing from 1pm

Entry will cost $20 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $15 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 will cost $50.

Track is at 140 Main Jindivick Road, Jindivick.

General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133.

Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters.
Alberni Engineering
Baw Baw Shire
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Tyre Service
Elite Cranes & Transport
Keena Fencing
Kennards Pakenham
Latrobe Waste & Recycling
Leigh & Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Mighty Doors
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Nar Goon Automotive
Old School Super Store
Railway Hotel Bunyip
Random Panda Photography
STR8 Bricklaying
TJE Fabrication
TNT Autos
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

Jackson Basten – Victoria 2
Matt Sgroi – 7
Steve Young – 9
Zac Leeson – 14
Jordan Smith – 20
William Leeson – 41
Anthony Sharam – 57
Mark Taylor – 74
Matt Williams – 83
Rob Bushell – 88
Chris Leeson – 141
Nathan Taylor – 144
Jayden Taylor – 145
Jason Judd – 187
Daniel Williams – 217
Clint Robinson – 311
David Parker – 721
Alan George – 999

Leanne Young – 9
Marlena Argent – 11
Danni Marshall – 44
Jess McConchie – 145
Lea Judd – 187
Romney Stirling – 311
Clare Lynch – 721
Erin Brown – 878
Simone Rawlins – 999

Stacey Sheedy – Drouin 4
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Zac Leeson – Drouin 16
Luke King – Nyora 16
Ben Doherty – Rosedale 18
Matt Leek – Drouin 19
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Aaron Evans – Drouin 31
Tyson Bretherton – Bairnsdale 33
Justin Cadman – Nyora 39
Kane Gibson – Drouin 41
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Shane Ardley – Drouin 74
Stuart Barkway – Bairnsdale 83

Ella Sheedy – Drouin 4
Bryce Leek – Drouin 19
Charli Perkins – Bairnsdale 22
Cooper Joynson – Drouin 99

Andrew Pridham – 1
Matt Burgher – 10
Roger Morrow – 35
Dennis Hocking – 11
Bob Maloney – 8
Roger Brockway – 34

Ends release.

Media written by DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist