Daylesford Speedway returns at Mid Western Speedway Darlington

Daylesford Speedway Association returns to action this Sunday for the first time after the tragic last event at Daylesford Speedway in Daylesford with the club being offered a racetrack to see out this season at Darlington by the Mortlake Speedway Club. Members, Officials and Volunteers are thrilled to be able to continue the season with three events at the Mid-Western Speedway starting this Sunday.

With the Mortlake and Daylesford executive committees coming to terms on how the offer could benefit both clubs, Daylesford club classes plus the Standard Saloons and Junior 1200 Sedans are back in action this weekend.

Daylesford Modified Sedans continue their point’s battle for the season class champion with Daniel Carter so far this season proving to be the benchmark of the class. Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, Graham Smith, and Steven Warlond will all be trying to increase their points whilst keeping the pressure on Carter. A victory could catapult somebody right up close to or even ahead of Carter.

Glenn McCoubrie, David Clark, and Anthony Bull have continued to hit the track this season in Daylesford Street Stocks, and they all have increasing their points on their mind also. Last season’s class champion Chris Hay returns for competition on a track he is familiar with and could just sneak away with the victory. Rhys Meakins a recent winner in state series competition in his Sports Sedan class, will be another driver to watch in this battle. Ashley Fox returns after a recent roll at Daylesford track. Competition will be tough on Sunday in the Street Stocks.

A small field of Daylesford Junior Sedans have nominated this weekend with numbers affected by drivers stepping up into senior class racing at the end of last season. Blaize and Peyton Edwards will compete with Blair Botheras and Noah Basten on Sunday.

Ladies Sedan action will again be competitive with Richelle Warlond coming up against Shelby Higginbottom, Charmaine Bryans, Marlena Argent, and Vicky Alford this weekend. Richelle is looking to go back-to-back with victories; although any of the Ladies this weekend are capable of a victory.

Standard Saloon racing as always will be extremely competitive with the likes of Nathan Hutchins, Greg Hutchins, Dean Pederson, Aaron Meakins, Jacob Head a winner five weeks ago at Redline and Rick Stowe all in the line-up. Meakins in the best credentialed of the field consistently winning qualifying races against the states strongest racers. A class to keep a close eye on this Sunday.

Junior 1200 Sedans have a competing event the night before in Wangaratta and on the same day in Drouin this weekend, however the Daylesford club are immensely proud to have a line-up with every nomination a Daylesford member. Arthur Hutchinson is the number one driver in the state now and Riley Taylor looks to be his strongest competition this weekend with Holly Hutchinson also gaining confidence and speed in recent race meetings another to watch.

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday.

General enquiries on 0408 5439 694 or 0449 107 863

Entry for all adults for is $20 to enter, Life members & aged pensioners are $15. Children 10 to 17 are $5 each and ten and under are free, $45 family ticket.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Daylesford Speedway facebook page.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30.

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Brad Trainor – Daylesford 12
Graham Smith – Daylesford 15
Brad Cadzow – Daylesford 22
Derek Higginbottom – Daylesford 26
Ryan Daly – Daylesford 33
Ian Bartlett – Daylesford 34
Graham Hutchinson – Daylesford 35
Wade Justice – Daylesford 63
Daniel Carter – Daylesford 73
Steven Warlond – Daylesford 87

Riley Noonan – Daylesford 27
Ashley Fox – Geelong 29
David Clark – Daylesford 36
Chris Hay – Daylesford 42W
Glenn McCoubrie – Daylesford 66
Rhys Meakins – Daylesford 85
Anthony Bull – Daylesford 88
Jamie Angwin – Daylesford 92

Blair Botheras – Daylesford 18
Blaize Majok-Edwards – Daylesford 33
Peyton Edwards-Daly – Daylesford 35
Noah Basten – Daylesford 92

Marlena Argent – Daylesford 12
Shelby Higginbottom – Daylesford 26
Charmaine Bryans – Daylesford 33
Vicky Alford – Daylesford 35
Richelle Warlond – Daylesford 87

Matthew Keiller – Portland 9
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Greg Hutchins – Hamilton 41
Sean Oakes-Rogers – Ballarat 56
Patrick Walsh – Daylesford 68
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Ian Walsh – Ballarat 86
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97
Hayley Walker – Daylesford 97

Libby Ahearn – GVAC 4
Bella Hartup – Daylesford 18
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 22
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Eliza Taylor – Daylesford 52
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 58
Amiley Botheras – Daylesford 77
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist