Daylesford Speedway set to go this Sunday

The Daylesford Speedway season is set to start this Sunday. Picture: Dean Miller Photography

The Daylesford Speedway season is set to start this Sunday.

A huge amount of nominations are keen to skid after a terrific amount of venue maintenance in recent weekends took care of some of the damage weather created.

The spirit of the Daylesford club members seen many pitch in on a recent working bee and now all is set for this Sunday’s racing with all club classes and Standard Saloons and Junior 1200 Sedans in action.

Daylesford Modified Sedan competition will see reigning Daylesford Junior champion Bailey Kakoschke competing with Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, Reece Kakoschke and Steven Warlond amongst others for this weekends victory.

Club Street Stock champion Chris Hay seeks to get this season’s defence underway against the likes of Rhys Meakins, Tim Hutchinson, Glenn McCoubrie, and Anthony Bull. Hay won the club championship in his second year of competing as a Daylesford member and knows all to well that this season will be tough with Hutchinson and Meakins in the mix.

Jhett Cruise leads the Daylesford Junior field nominations against Blaize Majok-Edwards and Peyton Edwards-Daly whilst Blair Botheras looks to continue his improvement behind the wheel and Tia Threlfall has her race debut.

Richelle Jenner and Jane Laidler lead the nominations in the Ladies Sedans with Samantha Cormack, Sammii Paterson and Jess Threlfall all looking for a podium spot on Sunday.

Standard Saloon competition at Daylesford has been strong through last season and the entry list shows once again that the Standard Saloons well and truly enjoy competing in the Basin.

Aaron Meakins, Rick Stowe, Bailey Sinclair, Dean Pederson, Patrick Walsh, and Lachie Chivers are just some of the entrants to keep a keen eye on. Meakins the best credentialled of entrants understands that it will be a tough day’s racing.

Victorian Speedway Council Junior Open Sedans and Junior 1200 Sedans are both competing, and Connor Claridge backs up this weekend after a second-placed result last Saturday in Wangaratta. Hunter Carey, Jack Randall, and Jordyn Tewkesbury should provide stiff competition in the Junior Open Sedans.

Arthur Hutchinson in the Junior 1200 Sedans is the favourite heading into Sunday’s racing whilst Riley Taylor, and Bryce Leek are likely to give Hutchinson a run for it. Every lap is a bonus for these kids with their Victorian title at the venue this season.

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday. Daylesford Speedway has an onsite bar, no BYO allowed. $4 beers $6 Spirits.

Head to Basin Road Daylesford to watch, general enquiries on 0408 5439 694 or 0449 107 863

Entry for all adults for is $15 to enter, Life members & aged pensioners are $10. Children 10 to 17 are $5 each and ten and under are free, no family ticket.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Interactive Mobile app.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Bailey Kakoschke – 1
Graham Smith – 15
Ryan Daly – 33
Ian Bartlett – 34
Reece Kakoschke – 31
Travis Fernandes – 36
Wade Justice – 63
Steven Warlond – 87

David Clark – 36
Chris Hay – 42W
Paul Threlfall – 45
Glenn McCoubrie – 66
Rick Vosper – 76
Rhys Meakins – 84
Tim Hutchinson – 88D
Anthony Bull – 88DDA
Jamie Angwin – 92

Blair Botheras – 18
Blaize Majok – Edwards – 33
Peyton Edwards – Daly – 35
Tia Threlfall – 45
Jhett Cruise – 85

Samantha Cormack – 19B
Sammii Paterson – 31B
Jess Threlfall – 45
Jane Laidler – 85
Richelle Jenner – 87

Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Sean Oakes – Rogers – Ballarat 56
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97
Brad Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 5
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51
Jordyn Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Kalani Garlick – Alexandra 63
Macca Bunt – Corowa 85
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Bella Hartup – Daylesford 18
Riley Taylor – Daylesford 22
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Bryce Leek – Drouin 29
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 58
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist