Double podium for Crankt Protein Honda Racing at Port Macquarie

pic: Marc Jones Photography

It was a stellar day for Crankt Protein Honda Racing at Port Macquarie’s eighth round of the 2017 MX Nationals in New South Wales, as Todd Waters and Luke Clout both landed on the podium in second and third respectively.

Clout qualified for Super Pole, lodging the fourth quickest time of 1m47.379s, while Waters narrowly missed the session with the sixth fastest lap time.

In moto one, Queensland’s Waters maintained a consistent race to pilot his CRF450R to fourth, narrowly missing the top three by half a second.

MX1 rookie Clout finished one position behind in fifth, trailing Waters as he fended off round seven victor Kirk Gibbs for much of the 30-minute plus one lap moto.

Race two saw Waters soar to second after putting in a highly-impressive outing. The number 47 was challenged in the late stages of the moto, however he maintained his composure to hang onto the runner-up position, crediting him second overall.

Clout shot out of the gates to yet another hole-shot, leading the field for the opening lap before being relegated out of the top spot. The youthful rookie hung onto the lead pack for some time, crossing the line in fourth to award him his maiden premier class podium overall.

Waters maintains fourth in the championship standings, while Clout has elevated himself to sixth position and leading MX1 class newcomer with two rounds remaining.

The next round of the MX Nationals is scheduled for 13 August, at Toowoomba in Queensland, marking the penultimate round of the series.

2017 MX Nationals Rd8 Port Macquarie results:

1. Dean Ferris 70
2. Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 60
3. Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 54
4. Brett Metcalfe 53
5. Nathan Crawford 53
6. Kade Mosig 53
7. Kirk Gibbs 51
8. Luke Styke 49
9. Kyle Peters 44
10. Dylan Long 43

2017 MX Nationals championship standings:

1. Dean Ferris 562
2. Kirk Gibbs 487
3. Kade Mosig 436
4. Todd Waters (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 421
5. Luke Styke 408
6. Luke Clout (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) 378
7. Kyle Peters 371
8. Brett Metcalfe 350
9. Nathan Crawford 304
10. Joel Green 267

To stay up-to-date with the Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team, visit the team’s official website at or follow @teamhondaracing on social media.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist