Dramatic win for Fillmore/Reid in Three Hour South Island Endurance race at Teretonga

South Island Endurance Series

A second win for Sam Fillmore and Johnny Reid (Audi R8 LMS Evo GT3) in the 2022 Three-Hour Carter’s Tyre Service South Island Endurance Series has shown that they are the team to beat this season after a dramatic win at the second round held at Teretonga Park in Invercargill on Saturday.

Second home was the hard-charging Andrew Fawcett/Daniel Gaunt (McLaren 720S GT3) who coasted over the line with low fuel.

Third went to the very quick Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 of Lance Hughes/Chris van der Drift with Hayden Knighton/Kane Lawson (Mercedes Benz AMG GT30) in fourth and first in the Michelin Am Cup competition.

Fawcett/Gaunt held the lead for most of the race with a thrilling conclusion set to take place with Reid catching Gaunt in the dying moments of the race.

Unfortunately for Gaunt, he went wide at the Loop allowing Reid through to the lead with less than two minutes remaining.

As Reid took the chequered flag, Gaunt was already slowing with low fuel and needed to cross the finish line to claim second.

This he did after taking to the grass and ‘short-cutting’ the final corner.

A protest over this result was thrown out as it was deemed that no advantage was gained as they were three laps ahead of third place.

Fifth was Glenn Smith/John DeVeth (McLaren 650s GT3) ahead of the first Class 2 (GT Type) car home of Steve Brooks/Bill Riding (Porsche 992 Cup). Seventh and first in Class 3 (3501cc and over, including FIA GT4 spec cars) was Marco Giltrap/Simon Evans (Porsche 718 GT4 Clubsport).

The Class 4 (2001-3500cc) winner was Barry Moore/James Paterson (Audi R8 LMS 2.0T) in 11th overall while Grant Moore/Matt Moore (Toyota Altezza 2.0) home first in Class 5 (0-2000cc) and 14th overall.

Fillmore and Reid have a narrow 10-point advantage over Fawcett/Gaunt for the overall Three-Hour title with Smith/DeVeth 22-points further back in third.

With none of the class or overall titles decided, the battle will be on at the final round in Timaru on October 15, 2022.

Overall Points (Top 10)
1/ S Fillmore/J Reid Audi R8 LMS GT3 190
2/ A Fawcett/D Gaunt McLaren 720S GT3 180
3/ G Smith/J DeVeth McLaren 650S GT3 158
4/ H Knighton/K Lawson Mercedes AMG GT3 158
5/ H Malmezac/ J Lester Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup MR 140
6/ S Brooks/B Riding Porsche 992 Cup 134
7/ M Giltrap/S Evans Porsche 718 Clubsport GT4 133
8/ A Pedersen/P Pedersen Mercedes AMG GT3 106
9/ M Moore/G Moore Toyota Altezza 106
10/ L Hughes /C van der Drift Nissan GT-R Nismo GT3 106

Race Results – Three Hour (Place, Driver 1/Driver 2, Class, Car)
1/ Sam Fillmore/Johnny Reid, 1 Audi R8 LMS Evo GT3
2/ Andrew Fawcett/Daniel Gaunt 1 McLaren 720S GT3
3/ Lance Hughes/Chris Ven Der Drift 1 Nissan GTR Nismo GT3
4/ Hayden Knighton/Kane Lawson 1 Mercedes Benz AMG GT3
5/ Glenn Smith/John DeVeth 1 McLaren 650s GT3
6/ Steve Brooks/Bill Riding, 2 Porsche 992 Cup
7/ Marco Giltrap/Simon Evans 3 Porsche 718 GT4 Clubsport
8/ Darryl Barrett/Hamish Frew 2 Ford Falcon FG V8ST
9/ Heremana Malmezac/Jono Lester 2 Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup MR
10/ David Cremer/Jason Liefting, 3 McLaren 570S GT4
11/ Barry Moore/James Paterson 4 Audi R8 LMS 2.0T
12/ David Rogers/Brian Green 2 McLaren 570 GT4
13/ Grant Moore/Matt Moore 5 Toyota Altezza 2.0
14/ Andrew Kitching/Will Kitching 5 Toyota GT86 2.0
DNF Grant Askew/Cole Askew 4 VW Golf Gti TCR
DNF Paul Pedersen/Anthony 1 Mercedes Benz AMG GT3
DNF Dwayne Carter/Matt Carter 1 Brabham BT62
DNF Francois Beziac/Tom Alexander 2 Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup MR
DNF Paul Rickerby/Graeme Rhodes 2 Marc II Mustang
DNF Mike Hall/Clark Scott 4 VW Golf GTi TCR
DNF Ben Silcock/Andre Simon 5 Honda CRX 2.0
DNF Terence Phillips/Darryl Phillips 5 Honda Civic 2.0

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist