Fast night at the track at Alexandra Speedway

Saturday night at Alexandra Speedway was a record-breaking night with no less than eight new track records set during a furious night of action resulting in wins to Healesville’s Linken Paterson, Pakenham’s Damien Miller, Darren Nelson, James Oliver and visiting Wingless Sprint race driver Daryl Logue from Morwell.

Wingless Sprints were back at Alexandra for the first time since 2014 and on a track much different to when they were last at the venue, they soon wiped the previous records. In the AIO Cup Daryl Logue claimed new one lap and eight lap records during qualifying for a twenty-lap final race of the evening. In qualifying, former Alexandra Junior Sedan racer Jessie Garlick claimed one of the six heat wins with brothers Wayne and Daryl Logue, Travis Evans, Luke Schneider and visiting New South Wales racer Coby Elliott all amongst the wins.

Initially Elliott took charge of the final race leading the first five laps before Daryl Logue took control of the lead on one of the biggest tracks the class races on, if not the biggest and fastest. Logue went on to claim the win from Elliott, his brother Wayne Logue, Schneider, and Scott Irons.

On his way to a Sports Sedans feature race win Damien Miller smashed the one lap record previously held by his younger brother by half a second whilst his nearest rival on race night Lee Beach broke the previous eight lap record during qualifying. Miller won the fifteen-lap final from Beach, Dale Smith, his father Russell Smith, and Robert Garlick.

Unlimited Sedan’s returned to Alexandra and Darren Nelson broke the single lap record and the fifteen-lap record during the evening. Adam Monti was the driver that looked good for a potential win after claiming to heat race wins in the lead up to the final race before Nelson smashed his opposition with a huge victory in the final from Lennie Bonnici, Monti, Stan Brown, and Anthony McKean.

Jayden Bryant, Linken Paterson and Dylan Barrow shared wins in the Top Star Junior Sedan racing with Barrow breaking Todd Moule’s previous one lap record, in a race he did not win. Paterson was never headed over ten laps in the final as he beat Barrow, Bryant, Rhys Meakins and Luke Cornfoot.

James Oliver was the only driver to win two out of the six qualifying races in New Star Junior Sedans with his sister Christine winning one along with Riley Lawrence, Billy McBride, and Maddy Capon. James Oliver went on to claim back-to-back victories at Alexandra Speedway defeating Lawrence, Capon, Christine Oliver, and Jack Kershaw.

The next race meeting at Alexandra Speedway is Easter Friday and Saturday when the Victorian Street Stock Champion will be decided with forty cars or more in that category anticipated along with club racing support.

Records broken on race night were;
Ssa Junior Sedans
1 Lap – Dylan Barrow – Alexandra – 22.342 – March 2021
10 Laps – Linken Paterson – Alexandra – 3:56.672 – March 2021

Vsc Sports Sedans
1 Lap – Damien Miller – Alexandra – 19:936 – March 2021
8 Laps – Lee Beach – Alexandra – 2:43.062 – March 2021

Wingless Sprints
1 Lap – Daryl Logue – 18:284 – March 2021
8 Laps – Daryl Logue – 2:43.125 – March 2021

Unlimited Sedans
1 Lap – Darren Nelson – Drouin– 18.959 – March 2021
15laps – Darren Nelson – Drouin – 6:26.203 – March 2021

Alexandra & District Speedway Club thanks their wonderful supporters
Alexandra & Yea Pre Mix
Barca Trailers
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
Campton Graphics
Donnaz Undergrounds
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Endeavour Alexandra
Fallon’s Bus Service
Foodworks Alexandra
Healesville Directional Drilling
Highline Racewear
LS Quarry
Outer Eastern Steel
Raslarr Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
S & N Builders
Smooth Suspension
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Wandin Heavy Haulage
Waverley Exhaust
Yenckens Timber & Hardware
Yea BP

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist