Formula 4 Round Three Preview: Barbagallo, Western Australia

Round Three of the 2017 CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will visit Western Australia this weekend for the first time in the Championship’s history.

Supporting the Supercars Perth SuperSprint at Barbagallo Raceway, the event will be the home round for West Australian racers Nick Rowe (AGI Sport) and Aaron Love (Team BRM).

Rowe, who was Sandown’s Round Two winner in April, will be looking to catch up on current points leader Liam Lawson (Team BRM). The New Zealander impressed on his Australian Formula 4 debut by claiming victory in Round One and second in Round Two at Sandown.

Zagame Autosport’s Ryan Suhle is the leading Burson Auto Parts Rookie and CAMS Foundation Rising Star driver in third place overall, ahead of fellow Rising Star Cameron Shields (Team BRM) in fourth.

Aaron Love is the next best placed Burson Auto Parts Rookie (sixth overall), with JRD’s Jordan Mazzaroli the third best (eighth overall).

The four CAMS Foundation Rising Stars – Simon Fallon, Cameron Shields, Zane Morse and Ryan Suhle – will regroup in Barbagallo, with Shields’ third place finish in Round Two the best result so far from the group.

The CAMS Jayco Australian Formula 4 Championship will explore its first laps around Barbagallo on Friday morning with two practice sessions to be held at 9:00am and 11:25am AWST.

The drivers will then qualify for pole position at 2:00pm Friday, with the fastest driver to be awarded with a $500 Virgin Australian flight credit prize.

Three races will be held across Saturday and Sunday, with all sessions to be broadcast live on Fox Sports 5 (506) and on Foxtel Play.

Video interviews and images from Barbagallo will be made available at, live text commentary at @Formula4AU on Twitter.

Schedule (AWST)
Practice One: 9:00am, Friday May 5
Practice Two: 11:25am, Friday May 5
Qualifying: 2:00pm, Friday May 5
Race One: 11:20am, Saturday May 6
Race Two: 9:50am, Sunday May 7
Race Three: 4:05pm, Sunday May 7

Weather Forecast
Friday May 5: Shower or two clearing – 15/24
Saturday May 6: Partly cloudy – 11/26
Sunday May 7: Sunny – 13/29

Entry List (13)
#5 – Ryan Suhle (QLD) (R) – Zagame Autosport – Ray White/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#7 – Tyler Everingham (NSW) – Zagame Autosport – JetGo
#11 – Zane Morse (ACT) (R) – Team BRM – Charman Earthmoving/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#21 – Harley Haber (NSW) – AGI Sport – CEJN
#27 – Simon Fallon (VIC) – Team BRM – CoolDrive/Fallon Developments/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#30 – Liam Lawson (NZ) – Team BRM –
#44 – Sage Murdoch (NSW) (R) – AGI Sport – Racesah
#61 – Jordan Mazzaroli (NSW) (R) – JRD – Real Equity Real Estate/Mr Moto
#73 – Cameron Shields (QLD) – Team BRM – McDonald’s Toowoomba/Dependable Sheds/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#76 – Zakkary Best (VIC) – AGI Sport – Best Leisure Industries
#78 – Aaron Love (WA) (R) – Team BRM – Coco’s
#91 – Josh Denton (SA) – Team BRM – Pink’s Mitre 10
#97 – Nick Rowe (WA) – AGI Sport – SCT Logistics
(R) = Rookie

Championship Standings
#1 – Liam Lawson: 122
#2 – Nick Rowe: 112
#3 – Ryan Suhle: 65
#4 – Cameron Shields: 61
#5 – Josh Denton: 57
#6 – Aaron Love: 38
#7 – Harley Haber: 34
#8 – Jordan Mazzaroli: 32
#9 – Zakkary Best: 26
#10 – Tyler Everingham: 23
#11 – Simon Fallon: 17
#12 – Zane Morse: 17
#13 – Sage Murdoch: 2

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist