Good ole’ Holden v Ford battle at Alexandra this Saturday night

$5000 – has attracted the Street Stocks to Alexandra Speedway for this upcoming Saturday night when Holden does battle against Ford for bragging rights with local club member and current Australia number two driver Lenny Bates keen to pick up an overall race win in his FG Ford and a dozen racers with Holden’s to steer, keen to make sure he doesn’t.

There is prize money up for grabs for each manufacturer with the Ford’s trying to out run each other and the same for the Holden’s. Bates will need to overcome Darryl Atkinson, Jason Degoldi, Corey Sandow and Warrick Howie all looking to knock him off amongst others whilst Brad McClure a legend of the category will be up against West Australian Evan Wakefield, Steve Watts, Queensland champion Darren Giacometti, Mick Dann and Darren Forrest on the Holden side of the nominations.

Records have been broken in Alexandra’s first two meetings so expect records to fall again this Saturday night. Bring your Holden and Ford flags and marquees and wear your caps and get right behind your favourite make.

Supporting the Street Stocks is the visiting Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association running Modified Engines with radial tyres to keep the V6 Cars competitive with the V8s. Drivers are coming from Corowa and Leeton to compete. Ross Maclean has been the benchmark competitor in this category for a number of seasons, however Frank Gordon has picked up last season’s championship winning car and is keen to hustle Maclean, David Walton is another proven competitor to keep an eye on.

Junior Sedan action is on the cards with the nationally sanctioned SSA A and B Grade Junior Sedans and the Victorian Speedway Council sanctioned Junior Sedans. With some racers heading to a state series round for the SSA Juniors Tim Gorski moves to favouritism over Courtney Meakins and Connor Donegan in the A Grade class whilst in the B Grade Rhys Meakins, Chloe Sheerman and Sharlotte McPherson become drivers to watch.

In the VSC Juniors Connor Donegan and Courtney Meakins along with Nick Cherry all competing in both classes of Juniors become the drivers to watch. In Standard Saloon racing the car owned by Trevor Kuhne is a winner when its Aaron Meakins turn to drive, watch for his wife Sarah and visiting Wangaratta racers Trev Goldsworthy and Liam Powell to challenge him.

David Donegan who won Sports Sedans at the October race meeting is back to try and win another night and currently has tough competition from Andrew Jordan, Matt Stampfli and Steve Kershaw to beat.

Racing begins Saturday at 5pm and with $20 the price of an adult entry and $10 for children aged 10 to 16 and aged and invalid pensioners. Children under 10 years of age enter for free. Anybody who requires information can contact 0408 121 253

Alexandra Speedway Club is very thankful for the support provided by all these businesses:
360 Diffs & Gearboxes
Air Anywhere
Alexandra & Yea Pre Mix
Australian Racing Products
Blackburn Trailers
Burco’s Metal Fabrications
Campton’s Graphics
DIY Auto Parts Broadmeadows
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Fallon’s Bus Services
FSM Recycling
GB Racecars
GYB Civil
Healesville Directional Drilling
Inaction Photos
Kilmore Towing & Transport
Lake Eildon Houseboat Sales
Lincoln’s Earthmoving
Linley Estate Receptions
LS Quarry
Metro Tow
Murrindindi Kitchens
Onsite Response
Quality Fire Protection
Revegetation Victorian
Smooth Suspension
Trax Racewear
Tyrepower Alexandra
Vern and Jackie Parker DVD’s and Photos
Waverley Exhaust & Brake Centre
Weeks Radio

Brad McClure – Redline 24
Darren Forrest – Rosedale 41
Luke Dingley – Alexandra 66
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Evan Wakefield – Alexandra 41 (Via Western Australia)
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Mick Dann – Redline 0
Robert Smith – Ballarat 14
Eugene Bennett- Alexandra 19
Jayden Edwards – South Australia 87
Steven Watts – Warrnambool 5
Darren Giacometti – Redline 12

Dylan Campton – Alexandra 81
Collin Tate – Heartland 16
Lenny Bates – Alexandra 74
Jason Degoldi – Redline 27
Matt Glab – Redline 57
Rob Lock – Bendigo 42
Corey Sandow – Mildura 22
Chris Stewart – Rosedale 29
Lee Beach – Alexandra 98
Jayden Blomeley – Ballarat 62
Shaun Henry – Ballarat 23
Darryl Atkinson – Redline 37
Warrick Howie – Leeton, NSW 11
Troy Polley – Avalon 75

Courtney Meakins – Alexandra 84
Ally Morrison – Nyora 13
Tim Gorski – Alexandra 23
Jeremy Gorski – Alexandra 24
Nick Cherry – Alexandra 14
Connor Donegan – Alexandra 12
Callum Potter – Alexandra 63
Sharlotte McPherson – Alexandra 97
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 85
Chloe Sheerman – Alexandra 11
Sam Cherry – Alexandra 14
Kiarna Barton – Nyora 51
Tenayah Barton – Nyora 19
Seth Sloane – Alexandra 92
Kelsey Lincoln – Alexandra 5
Natalie O’Donnell – Nyora 96

Cory Horter – Alexandra 73
Aaron Meakins/Trevor Kuhne – Alexandra 17
Sarah Meakins – Alexandra 83
Amanda Burrows – Nyora 79
Debbie Jones – Alexandra 36
Carl Orme – Alexandra 90
Trev Goldworthy – Wangaratta 38
Liam Powell – Wangaratta 45
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Daniel Dalgliesh – Rosedale 7

Steve Akil – Alexandra 8
Dale Morrison – Alexandra 13
David Donegan – Alexandra 75
Caleb Lincoln – Alexandra 9
Danny Eastham – Alexandra 74
Andrew Jordan – Alexandra 89
Matt Stampfli – Alexandra 5
Steve Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Bailey Perkins – Bairnsdale 22
Gemma Laidlaw – Rosedale 26
Peter Eastham – Alexandra 39
Liam Powell – Wangaratta 45
Corey McDonald – Mount Beauty 7
Tommy McDonald – Wangaratta 6
Steve McIntyre – Redline 23

Nick Cherry – Alexandra 14
Connor Donegan – Alexandra 36
Mac Donegan/Jake Rosser – Alexandra 79
Harry Orme – Alexandra 90
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 85
Courtney Meakins – Alexandra 83

Frank Gordon – Leeton 92
Mark Gordon – Leeton 91
Jamie Atkin – Leeton 12
Justin Granger – Leeton 29
Liam Powell – Wangaratta 45
James Powell – Wangaratta 44
Ross Maclean – Corowa 27
David Walton – Corowa 42

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist