Hewat Wins, Amoroso Extends Lead in Winton Super Truck Thriller

Beau Hewat claimed his second-consecutive Super Truck round win at Winton
Beau Hewat claimed his second-consecutive Super Truck round win at Winton

Beau Hewat has taken his second Hi Tec Oils Australian Super Truck Championship round win for 2014 at Winton Motor Raceway on the weekend, winning three of the four driver’s championship races.

Meanwhile, Frank Amoroso overcame some difficulties in qualifying to leave the event with an increased points buffer leading into the final round at Wakefield Park in November.

Hewat qualified on pole position ahead of reigning Champion Steve Zammit, with South Australian John Bomberle third. Amoroso qualified well down the order in 10th, only completing two laps in the session due to some fuel pressure problems.

Hewat led Zammit and Bomberle to the line in Race 1, while Amoroso came home 10th after a costly off-track excursion on the first lap.

Zammit turned the tables on Hewat in Race 2, making an opportunistic pass in Turn 2 to snatch the lead before driving to victory. Amoroso worked his way up to eighth while the major action happened on the last lap, when Paul Reyntjes speared off the circuit with a delaminated tyre.

Race 3 featured a reverse-grid based on the Race 2 finishing order. Frank Amoroso rapidly worked his way to the lead with a strong start, and then defended ferociously from a queue of faster trucks including Hewat, Shane Gray, Bomberle and Reyntjes.

Eventually Hewat overtook Amoroso, who held on for second ahead of Shane Gray.

Race 4, the 10 lap Super Prix, also featured a reverse-grid format and again Amoroso led early, before he was passed by Hewat and Zammit and relegated to third.

Hewat won the round ahead of Zammit and Bomberle, while Amoroso’s lead has been extended to 13 points ahead of Zammit and Reyntjes, who are equal second in the standings.

The trucks also held a pair of team’s championship races on Saturday, which were won by the Isuzu light trucks of Mitch Quirk and Craig Yardy.

The Vic V8s, which held their final round of 2014 at Winton, produced a mixture of Holden and Ford victories. Graeme Meer won the first two races in his VH Commodore, but engine problems forced him out of Races 3 and 4, handing the victories to Albury driver Greg Jones (Ford EF Falcon) and Allan Argento (Ford XB Falcon Coupe).

Jones won the round from Argento and Glenn Bethune, while the consistent Mark Kakouri won the championship by finishing fourth overall.

In a freshly-built car, Keven Stoopman was unstoppable in the V.E.K. Tools Pulsar Challenge races, winning all four races despite starting the final from the rear of the grid. Defending champion Max Healy was second overall ahead of Matt Thewlis, who gained places with strong starts in each race.

Peter Green Jnr, who had won the previous three rounds of the series, struggled for engine performance and finished a lowly sixth for the meeting.

The father-and-son duo of Steve and Michael Coulter controlled the V8 Stock Car races in their Chevrolet Oz Trucks, although Ford Performance Racing V8 Supercar team co-owner Rusty French interrupted their stranglehold by winning Race 2 in his Chev Monte Carlo.

The Coulters bounced back in Races 3 and 4, Michael twice breaking the lap record that had been held by Andrew Miedecke since 2001.

The Super TT race wins were shared between Greg Jones and Corey Gooch but the overall round victory went to Stephen Harrison, ahead of Ethan Wilson and Robert Hart, who finished all three races.

Jarrod Tonks won the Victorian Excel Series round after an intense battle with Nathan Blight and Adam Bywater. Blight retired from the final race, handing second for the round to Bywater and third to Bronson Mercieca.

2012 Valvoline Winton 300 winner Chad Cotton won all four Miniature Race Car heats, taking the round from Bruce Duckworth and Jase Collins.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist