Lots of racing at Rushworth as speedway returns in the Goulburn Valley

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club hosts a huge Speedway event this Saturday with club class action supporting the visiting Hot Rods, Grand Prix Midgets, and Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association racers. Big events on the programme include the Ironbark Classic for the Grand Prix Midgets and the Col Young Memorial honouring a fine supporter of Goulburn Valley racing the late Col Young in which members of the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association are all trying to win.

Justin Brockley once again the last winner in Goulburn Ovens Sedan racing is the guy to beat. He has put Ross Maclean to the test this season and is keen to continue his winning ways however Maclean would like to reverse his fortunes. Mal Bassett, Wayde Little, Stuart Balins, the returning Mitch Watts, and Mal Bassett are just some of the competitors to watch in the battle for the Col Young Memorial trophy.

Grand Prix Midget racing returns with the Goulburn Valley area represented by the likes of Jack Ward, Alex Myers-Hudson, Shawn Perry, and Terry Brown. Ash Booker and Chris Fowler from out of town are the two-gun drivers in Victoria currently and everybody else will have exceptionally well to take the win and bragging rights over the two top guns.

Speedway Drivers Association of Victoria Hot Rod drivers return to Rushworth having just competed for two days last weekend in Bairnsdale. Shannon Meakins and Phil Jenkins both took wins last weekend and are keen for more, whilst Dean West, Eddie Ivermee and Kali Hovey will also be pressing for victory. Jade Ewart from Swan Hill gives fans somebody to cheer for that lives north of the Melbourne Western suburbs.

Almost twenty Sports Sedans will compete in club racing for that class. Bradin Claridge Lucas Conder, Jaidyn Dredge, Jay Nicolaisen, Rob Lock, Corey Knox, Felicity Roycroft, Kayla Knox, and David Barrie are some drivers to keep your eye on. The class should produce terrific action for the fans.

For local club classes Bevan Hutchins is keen to take the win this weekend in the Goulburn Valley Open Saloons. He will have to get around the track faster than Keith Simmonds, Mark Bergman, Scott, Daniel and Matt Smith and Marc Hanson amongst others. Tyler Gahan returns to the seat as does Aaron Bacon whose been racing open wheelers in recent months.

The Ladies racing this weekend will include some tough competitors including, Renah Pollard, Casey and Rhiannon Alexander, Kelly Lamb, and Nicole Gapes. Some newer names in the list will hopefully see some more local racers on a regular basis in the Ladies.

Shane Hutchins, Geoff Lee, Jack Houlahan, and Warren Alexander are just some the competitors to watch in the local Production Sedan class. Lee returned to racing this year and Houlahan is on the improve as he continues to develop. Hutchins has long been in the top end of the Production Sedan field results.

Rounding out all the classes this weekend is the Junior Sedans. Connor and Ty Claridge race locally once again up against Anthony Hanson, Keiden Britton, and Caleb Simmonds. Picking a winner this weekend is a difficult task.

All the action begins at 4pm on and enquiries can be made to 0491 680 977.

Spectator admission costs are Adults $20, Aged Pensioners $15, Kids ages 12 to 16 $10 each whilst children under the age of twelve are free. A family of two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 is $50 on a family ticket.

Goulburn Valley Auto Club is proudly supported by,
Automotive Super Balance – Shepparton
1 Stop Construction Group P/L – Kyabram
Be Seen Signs
Claridge House Removalists
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Midland Contactors (Earthmoving) – Bendigo
RDI Mobile Mechanical Services
Rod Wild Auto Electric Services – Shepparton
Rushworth Criterion Hotel
Rushworth Rural Services
Ward Bros – Rochester
WG Panels – Rochester

Wayde Little – Corowa 9
David Walton – Corowa 15
Robbie Miller – Corowa 18
Stuart Balins – Corowa 22
Ross Maclean – Corowa 27
Mitch Watts – Corowa 34
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Justin Brockley – Corowa 52
Mal Bassett – Corowa 66
Steve McDonald – Leeton 72
Sid Davey – Corowa 94

Jack Ward – Victoria 4
Daniel Meredith – Victoria 8
Mark Blackeby – Victoria 10
Alex Myers-Hudson – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 22
Alex Gouveia – Victoria 32
Paul Perry – Victoria 33
Shawn Ward – Victoria 44
Ashley Booker – Victoria 50
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Shannon Meakins – 1
Phil Jenkins – 3
Dean West – 4
Eddie Ivermee – 6
Jade Ewart – 15
Kali Hovey – 22
Tony Green – 34
Stuey Robinson – 36

Bradin Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Lucas Conder – Ballarat 9
Kasey Ferguson – Laang 11
Jaidyn Dredge – Bendigo 13
Malcolm Knight – Nagambie 18
Michael Knight – Nagambie 20
Jay Nicolaisen – Wangaratta 34
Warren Alexander – Nagambie 37
Rob Lock – Bendigo 42
Kevin Apps – Daylesford 46
Kayla Knox – Redline 68
Shaqkira Blake – Ballarat 66
Corey Knox – Goulburn Valley 67
Matt Callanan – Goulburn Valley 78
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
David Barrie – Colac 83
Chelsea Hodge – Bendigo 95
Pauline/Albert Fell – Daylesford 97

Bevan Hutchins – Goulburn Valley 18
Stewart Knight – Goulburn Valley 23
Mark Bergman – Goulburn Valley 31
Keith Simmonds – Goulburn Valley 38
Justin Hampton – Goulburn Valley 44
Aaron Bacon – Goulburn Valley 54
Scott Smith – Goulburn Valley 58
Daniel Smith – Goulburn Valley 59
Tyler Gahan – Goulburn Valley 60
Matt Smith – Goulburn Valley 61
Greg Knight – Goulburn Valley 112
Marc Hanson – Goulburn Valley 119

Bree Claridge – Goulburn Valley 5
Renah Pollard – Goulburn Valley 13
Natalie Anderson – Goulburn Valley 48
Casey Alexander – Goulburn Valley 64
Sarah Knox – Goulburn Valley 69
Kelly Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Nicole Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Rhiannon Alexander – Goulburn Valley 137

Connor Claridge – Goulburn Valley 5
Ty Claridge – Goulburn Valley 8
Anthony Hanson – Goulburn Valley 19
Leah/Caleb Simmonds – Goulburn Valley 38
Carley Smith – Goulburn Valley 58
Keiden Britton – Goulburn Valley 141

Geoff Lee – Goulburn Valley 5
Jordan Tambyn – Goulburn Valley 9
Shane Hutchins – Goulburn Valley 10
Jye Sanders – Goulburn Valley 37
Warren Alexander – Goulburn Valley 64
Jack Houlahan – Goulburn Valley 96

Ends Release

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist