Mid-Western Speedway to close its season with big midday matinee this Saturday

From Midday this coming Saturday, Mid-Western Speedway will deliver another exciting race day for the final event of the season with the annual Brendan Hannabury tribute race known as the ‘Hanno’ for the late Mortlake race driver being held for Street Stocks along with the ‘Stoney Point 500’ for Wingless Sprints headlining a day that includes Super Rods, Limited Sportsman and Vintage classes.

A great field of Street Stocks has put their hands up to compete this Saturday in the co-feature event of the day with Victorian based Queensland Champion Matt Nelson at the top of the line-up. Nelson will resume battle with Morris Ahearn a Mortlake member driver and a driver he has recently competed closely with, such as the King of the Mount event at Mount Buninyong. The two drivers are likely to be in front of the pack this Saturday along with the likes of Ricky Throckmorton from Panmure, Paul Domburg from Ballarat, Brad Warren a Mortlake member and Steven Watts from Warrnambool. Terrific action with Holden vs Ford, racing door to door.

The annual Stoney Point 500 feature for Wingless Sprints has attracted a handy list of open wheel outlaws with Robert Whiteside, Thomas McDonald, Jeremy Pearson, John Egan from New South Wales, Steven Hateley, Aron Lawrence, and Clint McLaren just some of the competitors to keep an eye on. The Holden powered six-cylinder wingless Sprintcars are spectacular, especially when they are wheel to wheel and should produce another ripper feature event.

Super Rods, a class that is recognised as the most popular club class in the South West of Victoria are also on the programme with Paul Verhoeven, Jamie May, Jacob Pitcher, Neville Gange, Michael Coad, Stanley Marco, and Dane Court just some of the race drivers to watch. The eight-cylinder powered class with their unique back em’ in style is always entertaining.

Limited Sportsman make a return to the Darlington bull ring with South Australian champion Troy Curran coming to town from Horsham. Curran leads a line-up that includes Bowen Donkers from Portland, and Craig Ansell from Hamilton amongst others in another grass roots open wheel class.

Vintage Sedans along with Hot Rods are also on the programme for some spirited demonstrations as owners and drivers show off cars that fans used to pack dirt tracks around the nation to see.

Gates for competitors open at 9am and to the public at 10am Racing begins at Midday with a 4 to 5pm finish planned. No Eftpos on facility, Cash only, No BYO Alcohol and No fires to be lit around the track.

Admission will cost adults 15years and over $20 and aged and disabled pensioners $15, A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 15 or a Junior driver competing on the night aged 16, costs $45 dollars. Children between the age of 10 to 15 or a Junior competing driver are $10, Children Under the age of ten are free.

Mortlake Speedway Club would like to thank the following for their support.
Brooklyn Car Sales – Wendouree
Mortlake Roadhouse
Camperdown Truck & Ag
Gilberts Truck & Tractor Service – Camperdown
O’Leary Ag Contracting, Camperdown
PWS Fabrications – Geelong
The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool
West Vic Tyres – Mortlake
Olsson Timing Services
Camperdown Auto Pro
Barkley Waste Collections – Colac

Matt Nelson – Queensland 1
Morris Ahearn – Mortlake 4
Ricky Throckmorton – Redline 4
Shane Ardley – Laang 11
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Robert Smith – Ballarat 14
Ellen Vagg – Redline 21
Paul Domburg – Nyora 21
Jordan Ellifson – Portland 22
Dylan Wilkinson – South Australia 24
Mitch Viney – Redline 24
Chris Hay – Warrnambool – 42
Luke Jenkins – Redline 49
Jacque Whatmore – Ballarat 52
Brad Warren – Alexandra 55
Steven Watts – Warrnambool 55
Troy Hose – Hamilton 57
David Chivers – Ballarat 79
Graham Price – Warrnambool 87
Stefan Clark – Portland 89
Wade Fell – Mildura 97

Robert Whiteside – VX2
Greg Bishop – VX15
Thomas McDonald – VX20
Gary McCallum – VX25
Kerry Bright – Queensland 26
Chris Ansell – VX32
Jeremy Pearson – VX40
Glen Harris – VX44
John Egan – NX47
Jeremy Beddison – V54
Steven Hateley – V60
Kasey Garlick – VX62
Aron Lawrence – V70
Gavin Fitzpatrick – V73
Alex Thomson – V77
Clint McLaren – V79

Paul Verhoeven – Warrnambool 5
Jamie May – Warrnambool 8
Sam Patterson – Hamilton 15
Billy Grist – Hamilton 23
Jacob Pitcher – Avalon 26
David Leonard – Swan Hill 34
Neville Gange – Victoria 1/Laang 56
Daniel Hookway – Laang 57
Michael Coad – Simpson 59
Tommy Marco -Avalon 67
Raedyn Marco – Avalon 75
Stanley Marco – Avalon 77
Dane Court – Hamilton 96
Daniel Mills – Simpson 97

Troy Curran – South Australia 1
Bowen Donkers – Victoria 3
Nathan Buckley – Horsham 9
Daryl Carpenter – Hamilton 13
Joshua Aston – South Australia 21
Bayley Wilson – Hamilton 21
Craig Ansell – Hamilton 26
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 93

Dean Weston – 4
Tom Grist – 7
Michael Grist – 8
John McIntosh – 19
Alex Miller – 25
Alan Howden – 33
John Coghlan – 53
Connor Mott – 66
Geoff Long – 78
Austin Corcoran – 90

Noel Sharrock – 6
Jamie Juri – 26
Phil Williams – 54
Rod Hetherington – 76
Mark Cowin – 77
Darren Hetherington – 96
Ron Taylor – 97

Ends Release.

Latest from Torquecafe

Latest Podcasts

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Create New Account!

Fill the forms below to register

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist