Nobody really wins on tragic day at Daylesford Speedway

Public knowledge shows that a traumatic and tragic racing crash occurred on Saturday (February 11th) that has resulted in the death of popular Standard Saloon competitor Stephen ‘Dougo’ Douglas just a few hours after he earlier won a heat race on his way to qualifying for the Chivers Memorial feature race.

This is the hardest media release the media representative and Daylesford Drivers Association have had to do.

All the competitors, the fans, the officials and volunteers and Daylesford Drivers Association members send their deepest condolences with a heavy heart to all of Stephen’s family and close friends, especially to his loving devoted wife, Sandra. Hundreds of people that have been in the company and interaction with ‘Dougo’, will miss him so very much.

Nobody should have to bear witness to what we all saw on Saturday. The Daylesford Speedway committee encourages anybody present that feels they have a need for support should contact Headspace, Beyond Blue, any other support organisation or even just a friend.

The Daylesford Drivers Association would like to acknowledge the efforts of our volunteers, paramedics, officials, and the attending emergency services teams during the tragic circumstances before them as well as the people attending that had to witness the tragic incident.

With regards to the racing, there were some winners so for the record, we acknowledge the winners of Saturday’s racing with no celebration.

Victorian Speedway Council Junior 1200cc Sedans were won by Arthur Hutchinson from Braiden Webster, Billy McBride, Ella Sheedy, and Riley Taylor as the competitors got their last racing laps in at Daylesford before their scheduled Victorian title at the next race meeting.

Richelle Warlond was deemed the winner in the Ladies with Vickie Alford second and no other finishers.

Arthur Hutchinson doubled up as he also won the more powerful Daylesford Junior Sedan class. Riley Taylor finished in second place ahead of Blaize Majok-Edwards, Ben Carrington, and Blair Botheras.

David Clark took the victory in the Street Stock class ahead of veteran club member Glen McCoubrie, Robert Smith, Jamie Angwin and Riley Noonan.

Daniel Carter once again won the Daylesford Modifieds defeating Brad Trainor, Ryan Daly, Brett Carrington, and Ian Bartlett.

With regards to the Chivers Memorial race in which Stephen lost his life tragically, the club has chosen to withhold the results at this time out of respect for Dougo. After consultation with the competitors, the final prize money has been donated to Dougo’s family on behalf of the drivers as well as some of the other prize money from the event.

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist