Open wheel extravaganza for Archerfield

pic: Chris Metcalf

Race fans will be served a feast of speedway action this Saturday night (February 24) at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway, with more than 100 competitors to hit the track in a huge open wheel program that includes round eleven of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship, round six of the Polar Ice Midget Track Championship and round eight of the KRE Formula 500 Championship Series. Also on the card is another big field of Compact Speedcars, along with Formula 500 Juniors, Microsprints and the Sprintcar Development Series.

The fact that Luke Oldfield, Andrew Scheurele and Mitchell Gee shared the podium at the last round of the of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship probably comes as no surprise given they have been the three standout performers throughout the season thus far and currently occupy the top three spots in the championship standings. The challenge now lies with the other 27 drivers in the field in finding a way to upstage the trio and stake their claim as a serious contender for Queensland’s most prestigious Sprintcar series. Drivers such as Allan Woods, Callum Walker, Peter Lack and Brent Kratzmann have enjoyed moments in the spotlight with wins and/or top-three feature race results at selected rounds, but none have been able to summon such results with the consistency needed to stake a claim for series honours.

At the moment, Oldfield possesses a 33-point lead over Scheuerle, with Gee sitting 38 points adrift in third spot and just 8 points clear of quiet achiever Ben Hilder, who has been a model of consistency each week. Lack, Walker and Kratzmann are next in line ahead of Mark Pholi, who rode out a wicked wreck at the previous round and whose first priority will no doubt be getting through the night unscathed. David Whell and Brad Ayers round out the top ten at the moment but, with Ayers not amongst the entries this week, Nelson Reddacliff can climb into the top ten in what would be a worthy reward for his tenacity. Potential spoilers amongst the nominations include former track champion Bryan Mann and California’s Geoff Ensign, who finished seventh at the previous round on a night interrupted by inclement weather but will no doubt be confident of better result with more laps on the Archerfield track.

The mighty Midgets have gathered one of their best fields of the season for the recommencement of the Polar Ice Championship with 20 drivers nominated, including series leader Scott Farmer. Despite his relative lack of experience, Farmer has enjoyed a fabulous season thus far and heads into the weekend as a firm favourite following his top-five finish in the Australian Championship just two weekends ago. No doubt Darren Vine disagrees with such an assessment and he will be out to make amends for the points he surrendered in the previous round when an engine problem forced his withdrawal from the feature event. Having hardly fired a shot so far this season, defending series champion Rusty Whittaker is looking to salvage some credibility in his championship defence, while Brock Dean, Mark George, Reid Mackay and Brendan Palmer, who is making only his second appearance for the season, should also feature in the thick of the action.

With KRE Championship points on offer, Formula 500 drivers have plenty to race for over and above their mission to defeat Australian champion Liam Williams, who has been totally dominant all season at Archerfield and elsewhere. There is plenty of talent in the field though with Kristin Brown, Ryan Skennar, Charlie Brown, James Kennedy, Australian Lightning Sprint champion Kurt Wilson and a couple of talented young guns in Nick Hodges and Ryan McNamara amongst the 19 entries.

Doing double duty on the night to make what will be only his second appearance in Compact Speedcar competition this season, national champ Darren Vine will face off against long-time rival Wayne Corbett and another 20 challengers, including category newcomers such as Riki Harrison, Richard Treanor and Tim Farrell, all of whom have proven more than a match for their more experienced rivals on numerous occasions already this season.

With Formula 500 Juniors and Microsprints also on the huge program, early racing gets underway from 5.00pm. Sprintcar time trials are scheduled for 5.30pm and the main program will kick off at 6.00pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round eleven nominations: Allan Woods, Andrew Corbet, Andrew Marks, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Ben Hilder, Brent Kratzmann, Bryan Mann, Callum Walker, Cody Maroske, Dan Murray, Darren Jensen, David Whell, Geoff Ensign, Jayden Peacock, Karl Hoffmans, Kris Jennings, Kristy Bonsey, Luke Oldfield, Mark Pholi, Mick Sauer, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Nelson Reddacliff, Peter Lack, Randy Morgan, Scott Genrich, Steve Greer, Stewart Craig, Tony Wynne

Polar Ice Midget Track Championship round six nominations: Audi Malt, Barry Gibbes, Brad Dawson, Brad Young, Brad Harrison, Brendan Palmer, Brock Dean, Cal Whatmore, Dallas Sharp, Darren Dillon, Darren Vine, Lance Towns, Mark George, Michael Harders, Mitchell Rooke, Reid Mackay, Robbie Stewart, Rusty Whittaker, Scott Farmer, Shane Malt

KRE Formula 500 Series round eight nominations: Adrian Farrell, Brady Argles, Bryn Upshall, Cameron Bertuch, Charlie Brown, Ethan Eyears, James Kennedy, Kristin Brown, Kurt Wilson, Liam Williams, Marshall Lewis, Mitchell Whittaker, Nick Hodges, Royce Harvey, Ryan McNamara, Ryan Skennar, Tomas Partington, Tony Bailey, Tristan Johnson

Compact Speedcar nominations: Bernie Clarke, Cory Stothard, Darren Vine, Dave Collins, Dave Swan, Emma Harris, Glenn Prowse, Glenn Wright, Graeme Flynn, James Barton, Jayden O’Toole, Jim Kennedy, Mark Maczek, Matt Jurczak, Matt O’Neill, Nick Gannon, Richard Rooke, Richard Treanor, Riki Harrison, Tim Farrell, Trent Usher, Wayne Corbett

Sprintcar Development Series nominations: Aleesha Woods, Andrew Baumber, David Kenway, Jason King, Liam Atkinson, Libby Ellis, Peter Campbell, Tim Ford

Formula 500 Junior nominations: Boyd Chaffey, Jy Corbet, Nic Whell, Tarhlea Apelt, Taylor Morgan

Microsprint nominations: Adrian Wren, Connor McCullough, Eddie Schwehla, Jason Glynn, John Lawson, Jonathon Gunn, Julian Olley, Shane Munro

For event updates and information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist