Penrite ProMX Championship to take off this Sunday with round one at Wonthaggi

The gates will drop on season 2023 of the Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores this Sunday, March 5, at Wonthaggi in Victoria
The gates will drop on season 2023 of the Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores this Sunday, March 5, at Wonthaggi in Victoria

The gates will drop on season 2023 of the Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores this Sunday, March 5, at Wonthaggi in Victoria, when reigning champions Aaron Tanti (Thor MX1), Wilson Todd (Pirelli MX2) and Charli Cannon (EZILIFT MXW) open their title defences, while it’s all to play for in the MAXXIS MX3 development category.

Thor MX1
For CDR Yamaha Monster Energy Team rider Aaron Tanti, entering the eight-round series with the elusive number one plate in the Thor MX1 class marks a significant milestone in his career, but he will be just one of five former premier class title winners in the field this season.

Alongside Tanti at Craig Dack Racing is once again 2021 champion and last year’s opening round winner, Luke Clout, while three-time champion Dean Ferris – who captured his titles between 2016, 2017 and 2018 – will be a high-profile addition to the bLUcRU, also onboard the new generation YZ450F in a privately-operated program.

KTM Racing Team will be led by the returning 2015 champion Kirk Gibbs, as 2019 champion Todd Waters will line up in his striking new Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing Team. All five of those riders are both motivated and capable of challenging for the trophy again in the 2023 season. Also KTM-mounted will be South Australian mainstay Brett Metcalfe, ready and willing to do battle against the factory might.

Boost Mobile Honda Racing has brought home Jed Beaton from the MXGP World Championship to join Kyle Webster – both former MX2 national champions – plus look to GASGAS Racing Team to find inspiring Western Australian Regan Duffy, who won at Wonthaggi in 2021 and makes a welcome return to competition this year.

Pirelli MX2
Pirelli MX2 will be led by triple champion Wilson Todd as he is back for more with Honda Racing, but the challengers will come thick and fast this time around including teammate Brodie Connolly. At Serco Yamaha, there is new signing Rhys Budd alongside Jesse Dobson, while in turn at Yamalube Yamaha Racing watch for Alex Larwood and Jayce Cosford, with Ryder Kingsford at WBR Bulk Nutrients Yamaha.

After winning the final two rounds of last season, Nathan Crawford has re-signed at KTM Racing Team and will have a firm target placed upon Todd’s back, as an expanded KTM team now also has last year’s MX3 title-winner Kayden Minear in the mix at just 15 years of age. Over at GASGAS, Noah Ferguson is staying put this time for the series duration, and Blake Fox has moved across to Raceline Husqvarna Berry Sweet Racing.

Empire Kawasaki has set its focus on the MX2 ranks with the returning Haruki Yokoyama, however, it will be experienced New Zealander Cody Cooper joining him following a recent injury to team regular Jai Constantinou. All of the riders above, combined with the nation’s top-level privateer competitors will make for immense depth within full fields to open the new season in style.

The action extends to MAXXIS MX3, where a wide range of hungry, young teenagers will be eager to make their mark on the sport as the likes of previous winners Minear (2022), Fox (2021) and Duffy (2019) – to name a few – have before them.

In the EZILIFT MXW division, we will see number one plate-holder Charli Cannon on track with Yamalube Yamaha Racing and aiming for a second-straight crown, with manufacturer involvement continuing to build and near 20 highly-capable women racers in the contest.

Round one will see a traditional two-moto format across each of the competing categories, beginning with practice/qualifying from 7:45am local time and the official opening of the 2023 Penrite ProMX Championship, presented by AMX Superstores taking place directly before moto one is scheduled for 10:00am.

Watch ProMX this Sunday

Sunday TX 1.00pm – 4.00pm AESDT

SBS Sport
Stan Sport
Sky Sports NZ

Sunday TX 9.50am – 12.30pm

ProMX Website
ProMX Facebook
MotorsportsTV Youtube

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist