Plenderleith & McMinn take maiden rally win in Rosewood

Plenderleith & McMinn take maiden rally win in RosewoodBathurst’s Ian Plenderleith, teamed with co-driver Mel McMinn from the ACT have piloted their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo3 to a dramatic one second last-gasp victory at Round 2 of the Pipe King Southern Cross Rally Series.

Queenslander Tom Dermody, with Eoin Moynihan, set a cracking pace in his classic Ford Escort RS1800 only being caught at the eleventh-hour.

The Carabost Forest had not seen rally action for 23 years, and the organisers had left the toughest stage to last. Reminiscent of the infamous Pike Peak Hillclimb, Argyle was set as 12km of ridge top gravel roads in a forest that had recently been clear-felled. With huge drops on the outside of most bends, the stage was not for the faint of heart.

This was the first time that either crew had seen the stage, as the event was route-charted – not pacenoted. Adding to the drama both crews were managing minor issues, with Plenderleith out of brakes, and Dermody out of tyres!

With both crews on maximum attack, Ian Plenderleith and Mel McMinn claimed the 5 seconds they needed for victory – winning the stage by exactly 5 seconds. This was the first outright win for both crew members, and capped a solid 18 months of competition for the family-based team.

Tom Dermody and Eoin Moynihan had lit up the stages all day in what can only be described as a remarkable drive in the immaculately prepared Classic Ford Escort. To highlight their dominance, they claimed the Classic Category by over 11 minutes, the 2wd class by 7 minutes and were the fastest 2wd on every stage.

The Open Class placings were again close, with the Mitsubishi Lancers of Jody Mills/Daniel Ragen, both from Narrandera and Chris Jaques/Hugh Taylor both from Sydney separated by only 3 seconds to the favour of Mills.
Tallong’s Peter Ewing/Anna Ritson from Yass took Open 2wd honours with 7th Outright in their Volvo, with Jindabyne’s Peter Vlandis/Tony Jordan from Goulburn making it two Volvo’s in the top ten. Sydney’s Peter Thompson/Ken Hind were 3rd Classic in their Toyota Celica.

Top seed Tim Joass (Evo2) didn’t start the event due to work commitments. Adrian Turnbull (WRX) struck mechanical trouble early in the event and was forced to retire. Classic contender PJ O’Keefe also retired his Ford Escort from the event with mechanical issues.

The Series heads to the iconic Bega Valley Rally for Round 3 in June. Competitor and spectator details can be found at

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist