Queensland Formula Forders Ready to Shine on Home Turf

The second half of the 2017 Australian Formula Ford Series swings into action this weekend when the series heads to Queensland Raceway for Round 4, and a number of local drivers will be aiming to upstage the championship front-runners.

So far this season, the races have been dominated by the Victorian-based Sonic Motor Racing and Borland Racing Developments teams, with Max Vidau and Hunter McElrea (Sonic) and Jayden Ojeda (Borland) all winning races. The other race winner has been Aaron Cameron, another Victorian.

However, this weekend the BF Racing trio of Cameron Shields, Harrison Jones and Nathan Herne will be aiming to send some glory Queensland’s way.

Of the three, Shields is the one who has come closest to a race victory, chalking up a second-place finish at Wakefield Park. Team owner Brett Francis has vast experience in Formula Ford at QR, as both a driver and a race engineer, so Queensland success is certainly not to be discounted this weekend.

It’s a better story for the Sunshine State in the Formula Ford 1600 Series (for cars powered by the older Kent motors), Queenslander Mitch Maddren winning Round 1 of the series at Winton. Maddren will be even tougher to beat on home soil, although Anglo Motorsport driver Kane Coleman will certainly mount a challenge.

This weekend’s Formula Ford round will be live streamed via the Queensland Raceway live streaming service.

Did You Know?

Queensland Raceway has hosted a round of the national Formula Ford series every year since 1999 – this weekend will be the 19th-consecutive year a round has been held at the venue.

The most successful Formula Ford driver at QR has been Steve Owen, with four race wins and two round wins. Owen went on to win two Supercars Development Series titles, finished runner-up in the 2010 Bathurst 1000, and is currently an endurance driver for Prodrive Racing Australia.

This weekend’s Formula Ford round will held as part of the Queensland Racing Drivers Championship race meeting, and as per QRDC regulations, each race will commence with a rolling start.

Australian Formula Ford Series

Top 10 Points (after Round 3 of 6)

1. Max Vidau – 132
2. Jayden Ojeda – 103
3. Cooper Murray – 75
4. Hunter McElrea – 69
5. Liam McLellan –60
6. Jordan Boys – 55.5
7. Cameron Shields – 55
8. Aaron Cameron – 50
9. Nathan Herne – 44.5
10. Zac Soutar – 40.5

Australian Formula Ford 1600 Series

Top 10 Points (after Round 1 of 3)

1. Mitch Maddren – 36
=2. Kane Coleman – 30
=2. Tim Hamilton – 30
4. James Corbett – 24
=5. Daniel Holihan – 23
=5. Simon Hodges – 23

Australian Formula Ford Series – Queensland Raceway Round Winners

1999 – Steve Owen
2000 – Rick Kelly
2001 – Will Davison
2002 – Marcus Marshall
2003 – Glen Hastings
2004 – Steve Owen
2005 – Shannon O’Brien
2006 – Tim Slade
2007 – Ashley Walsh
2008 – Nick Percat
2009 – Mitch Evans
2010 – Nick Foster
2011 – Cameron Waters
2012 – Mathew Hart
2013 – Macauley Jones
2014 – Hamish Hardeman
2015 – Cameron Hill
2016 – Will Brown

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist