Queenslander wins Victorian title at Nyora Raceway

At Nyora Raceway on Saturday night (Jan 14th) more than thirty Junior Sedan competitors from around Australia including Western Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, and Tasmania arrived to do battle with Victorian racers as they set about trying to win the Speedway Sedans Victoria Junior title and at the end of the evening it would be Australian champion and Queensland racer Aidan Rigby who would come out the victor after just securing his national championship the previous weekend.

Also, on the program Bradley Hill from Drouin went on to take the win in the Miles Cup for Standard Saloon’s whilst Michael Conway won the Compact Speedcars, and Lismore New South Wales racer Harley Graham won the Mini & Lightning Sprints Gold Cup series round also.

In Junior Sedan action, twelve heat races prior to the feature event determined where racers would start in the title race final. Kiarna Barton from Bittern won the first race of the evening with Hunter Downs from Western Australia the next race in the fastest heat race time of the evening of three minutes twenty-five seconds. Aidan Rigby started well with a win as did Jaiden Santin from New South Wales.

Logan Mair from Melbourne’s Southeast started round two as the first winner followed by Kurtis Peall another from Queensland and Rigby again whilst Linken Paterson closed out round two as a winner also. Jackson Kunny from Western Australia picked up a win in round three with River Paterson winning the closest finishing race by just .189 of a second. Billy McDonald from Queensland and Donny Davis from Western Australia were also winners. Poowong racer Harry Cecil won the last chance qualifier to get a state title start and AJ McDonald from Queensland, Blake Glynn and Maddi Capon also qualified for the title race.

As the green flag sent the ten- to sixteen-year-old boys and girls on their way it would be Rigby taking command at the front of the field from Davis early in the race whilst Linken Paterson moved from eighth to fourth by lap two. At the ten-lap mark, Rigby was leading Davis, Linken Paterson, Santin and Kunny and between their and lap twenty Santin moved in front of Paterson. In the final portion of the race River Paterson entered the top five as he got past Kunny whilst Santin passed Linken Paterson and then Davis to move into second. Rigby greeted the chequered flag for the win whilst Santin< Davis, Linken Paterson and younger brother River Paterson rounded out the top five. Rigby set the fastest one lap time of the night for the Junior’s with a 17.541.

In Compact Speedcar racing for the evening Trevor Perry, Justin Paull the Australian champion and Michael Conway all took heat race wins before Michael Conway won his second feature in succession following up a win at Swan Hill a few weeks ago as he defeated Perry, Mitch Whiting from the South-East of Melbourne, Tania Hallett, and Chris Curren.

The Victorian Mini & Lightning Sprints Club competed in round one of their Gold Cup Series which will compete in three rounds this season around Victoria. Harley Graham from Lismore in New South Wales proved to strong as he defeated his cousin Luke Graham and Heathcote race driver Ally Moore in the final.

The prestigious Miles Cup for Standard Saloons supported by Miles Mechanical in Pakenham, which was also a round of the Victorian state series for the class was another big event on the evening with Drouin based racer Bradley Hill going back-to-back following last season’s victory in the race by defeating a stellar line-up that included reigning series champion Wayne Sheerman.

Across six heat qualifiers to determine the feature event field, Sheerman and Mark Miles from Catani who is a member of the family that the race represents in honour of their contribution to the Nyora club over many years, won first round heat races. Hill and Warragul racer Kacey Ingram won in round two and then in the final round Andrew Miles from Pakenham and Matt Leek won.

In another terrific Standard Saloon feature event, Nyora club members would fill four of the top five placings again proving that on club strength, it is hard to look past Nyora in the Standard Saloon class. Hill taking his second Miles Cup in succession was a popular victor with Sheerman second, Mark Miles third, Shane Ardley in fourth and Kacey Ingram in fifth spot.

Nyora Raceway returns on February the 11th with the 360ci engine powered All-Star Sprintcar series and feature events for the Formula 500s senior and Junior categories and support form the Mini & Lightning Sprints.

Nyora would like to thank this season’s business partners;
B & B Retainer Walls
Burson Autoparts
Cecil Cartage
Earthlink Electrical
EZ Print
Highline Racewear
John Duff & Co – Shell
Magnet Towing
Membrey’s Transport
Miles Mechanical
ML Automotive
Mornington Motors
Napier Photography
Ramsdale Wreckers
Redde Race Parts
Rip It Up Earthworks
Ripper Sticker
Russell Steel
Shannon’s Insurance
Victory Lane Racegear

Ends release.

Media written by DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist