Rushworth to host Hot Rod Victorian title this Saturday night

This Saturday at Rushworth Speedway the SDAV Hot Rod club will be the headline event at Rushworth Speedway with their Victorian Speedway Council state title to be run and won and along with the ‘The McIvor Restaurant and Bar Bendigo’ supported Goulburn Valley Junior Sedan feature race and the visiting Compact Speedcars they lead a great nights racing that includes all local club classes.

The Hot Rods have attracted a great field that includes Shannon Meakins who of late has been winning all of the major events.

Challenging Meakins will be a great field that includes Michael Coad, keen to win his first SDAV Hot Rod title, Stan Marco Snr who is finding the podium with regularity this season, Jamie May, former champion Dean West who recently returned to the track after missing much of the season and a host of others chasing a podium result.

The attractive cars the racers present make them a fan favourite and along with their V8 engines they provide music to a motoring enthusiasts ears. It will be a great night at the track and it is anybodies race with a winner hard to pick.

The Goulburn Valley Junior Sedans will compete for a feature with Lachie Fitzpatrick and Tristan McGraw the on paper favourites. The Cecil Boys, Jordan Simmonds and Daniel Smith will be keen to knock of the two proven competitors and when there is a feature at stake, anything can happen and usually does.

Compact Speedcars return to Rushworth with a final chance to check some set ups before their upcoming Australian title at the same venue in May. Again this will be another race where any result is possible, however Justin Paull leads the nominations with the likes of the Hutchinson’s Butch and Mark, Louis Rodriguez, Chris Curren and Keith Astrella in the field to give him a hard time.

Entry numbers are fantastic in the Goulburn Valley Production Sedans with sixteen competitors set to compete. Geoff Lee is yet to notch a victory and if he can do so this weekend it will be a huge one. The Hutchins Boys are in, so is Leigh Jeffery, a few of the dual registered 3 Litre Sedan boys and big Rahmon Rivero won’t be in charge of the pit gate this weekend as he jumps behind the wheel to join the fray.
Whoever wins this Saturday is going to have to be impressive, what a great field it is.

Completing the show is the Open Saloons and Ladies Saloons.
Racing begins from 4pm on Saturday with entry costs $25 per adult, aged pensioners are $15, kids 12 to 16 are $12.50 each and under the age of 12 is FREE, whilst a family of 2 adults and 2 kids 12 to 16 is $60

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
WG Panels – Rochester
Provac Poultry Services – Bendigo
Bourke Fencing – Bendigo
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Kyabram Bearings – Kyabram
Autobarn Shepparton
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Michel Signs – Shepparton
Sonaray Lighting – Melbourne
The McIvor – Bendigo
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura

Phil Jenkins – 3
Dean West – 4
Stan Marco Snr – 5
Jamie May – 8
Stan Marco Jnr – 11
Vaughn Matthey – 12
Chris Wilkes – 13
Kali Hovey – 22
Mick Lee – 23
Russell Hovey – 25
Tommy Marco – 27
Michael Coad – 55
Shannon Meakins – 83
Glenn Lawless – 99

Butch Hutchinson – 2
Mark Hutchinson – 6
Allan Pitcher- 7
Matthew Brown – 8
Louis Rodriguez – 11
Justin Paull – 12
Tania Hallett – 15
Scott Thomson – 16
Chris Curren – 23
Craig McKimmie – 24
Keith Astrella – 27
Glen Wiles – 32

Lachie Fitzpatrick – 1
Josh Cecil – 6
Luke Cecil – 7
Jordan Simmonds – 20
Tristan McGraw – 38
Daniel Smith – 58

Mark Bergmann – 31
Peter Welch – 32
Braiden Simmonds – 36
Scott O’Keefe – 37
Brad Simmonds – 39
Thomas Conboy – 56
Paul Lamb – 73
Garry Gapes – 84

Geoff Lee – 5
Shane Hutchins – `10
Bevan Hutchins – 18
Leigh Jeffery – 29
Troy Britton – 41
Rahmon Rivero – 47
Chris Woeltjes – 54
Aaron Bacon – 57
Scott Smith – 58
Tyler Gahan – 60
Teejay Pollard – 65
Matthew Brooks – 67
Reece Manning – 69
Matthew Callanan – 78
Paul Wikinson – 90
Noel Lacey – 155

Chloe Lamb – 2
Belinda Chalcraft – 15
Maddie Naismith – 35
Kelly Lamb – 77
Nicole Gapes – 84
Chelsea Hodge – 95
Pauline Martin – 155
Felicity Roycroft – 165

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist