Speedway returns to East Gippsland this Saturday night at Bairnsdale

Bairnsdale Speedway. Picture: Napier Photography

This Saturday night, the Bairnsdale Speedway Association are scheduled to get their season underway with the first show of a terrific season ahead.

Motorsport fans and families looking for a great night of entertainment need look no further this weekend to spend their hard-earned dollars.

Sprintcars headline the evening with Wingless Sprints in round two of their Gippsland Series, Standard Saloons, Junior Standard Saloons, and Division 2 Hot Rod’s all programmed.

The Sprintcars line-up are all keen to get their season started in the season-long point score.

Competitors from down towards the eastern suburbs of Melbourne and two from West of Melton will join East Gippsland, Latrobe, and West Gippsland competitors in full flight.

The Victorian champion Steve Horton from Bacchus Marsh and hard charger Sam Wren from Ballarat are coming to do battle, whilst multiple times state champion Latrobe Valley racer Dennis Jones and his teammate Justin Barton are keen.

Watch the likes of Bairnsdale racers Michael Evans, Adam Greenwood, David Dennison, Nigel Laity, Alistair Bastian, Shane Steenholdt, and Southeast Melbourne’s Todd Hobson on the charge also.

Round 2 of the Wingless Sprint Gippsland Series will see round one winner Traralgon’s Ricky Mills look to increase his points lead after a career first win at Drouin Speedway two weekends ago.

Thomas McDonald, Wayne Logue, Adin Robertson, Kim Gosling, Aron Lawrence, Ben Hodge, Dillon Siely, Christopher Temby, and Peter Logue are all in the show also for another great battle ahead.

The Junior Standard Saloons are in round one of the Bairnsdale Junior Standard Saloon series with Beau Stuchbery the favourite after a win at Drouin two weeks ago and the Smith Boys some of his challengers this weekend, whilst the Standard Saloons 600 is also part of the show with Shane Stewart, Leigh Gooding, Jack Yeoman’s and Josh Thomas some of the drivers competing.

In Division 2 Hot Rod action, there are a number of strong competitors in the line-up with Trent Wilson a Bairnsdale man, up against Mel Tatterson, Rob Tatterson, Bobby Devine, Jordan Haley, Troy Hutchison and AJ Lawrence.

Racing this Saturday starts at 17:30 AEDT and the Speedway can be found at 120 Deptford Road, Granite Rock.

Gates are open prior to racing for entry at approximately 13:00 AEDT.

The Consumption of Alcohol is Prohibited at the Bairnsdale Speedway.

Enquiries on the day of racing only, can be made to 0458 617 910, all other enquiries can be made via the club’s website at www.bairnsdalespeedway.com.au

Entry for this Saturday night and right through the season is $25 per adult ticket, $20 for adult club membership holders. $20 for aged pensioners, children aged 12 to 16 $8 or a family ticket $60 for two adults and two children 12 to 16, all children under twelve are free to enter. Eftpos is available at the ticket box and canteen.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association would like to thank these wonderful supporting partners;
A1 Trailers
Active Sound Systems
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
Aussie Septic Solutions
Bairnsdale Autobarn
Bairnsdale Automotive
Bairnsdale Bearings & Industrial
Bairnsdale RSL
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Service Centre Bairnsdale
Buchan Towing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roof Restorations
East Gippsland Locks and Keys
East Gippsland Plumbing and Drainage
East Vic Hydraulics
Eastern Signs & Designs
Egee Printers
Eye Care Plus
EZ Print
Gillicks Busline
Gippsland Treated Pine
Gippsland Truck Centre
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Kennedy Trailers
Logue’s Autowreckers
M&S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations Pty Ltd
Napier Photography
Patties Food
Phaselink Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Automotive
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull
Todd Plumbing Supplies
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gasfitting
Westpoint Motors
WGI Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

Steve Horton – 8
David Dennison – 15
Jack Van Bremen – 16
Dennis Jones – 17
Sam Wren – 19
Koby Noonan – 26
Michael Evans – 28
Brett Pope – 33
Adam Greenwood – 35
Roddy Dennison – 51
Nigel Laity – 53
Alastair Bastian – 55
Peter Laity – 66
Justin Barton – 86
Trent Nielsen – 90
Todd Hobson – 96
Shane Steenholdt – 98

John Rotheram – Victoria 3
Wayne Logue – Victoria 16
Thomas McDonald – Victoria 20
Blaine Densley – VX20
Ricky Mills – VX21
Bree Robertson – VX27
Adin Robertson – VX34
Michael Loxton – Victoria 40
Aaron Kennett – VX41
Stuart McDonald – Victoria 48
Scott Irons – Victoria 52
Tyler O’Leary – VX65
Kim-Loong Gosling – VX68
Aron Lawrence – Victoria 70
Ben Hodge – VX74
David Anderson – Victoria 78
Dillon Siely – Victoria 87
Christopher Temby – VX89
Scott Cole – VX93
Peter Logue – Victoria 98

Jack Stewart – Rosedale 6
Blake Smith – Moe 10
Kaine Smith – Moe 11
Nikolas Pritchett- Rosedale 17
Charlie Perkins – Bairnsdale 22
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 24
Bree Walker – Rosedale 50
Taleisha Barkway – Bairnsdale 83

Shane Stewart – Rosedale 6
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 9
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Jack Yeomans – Rosedale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Nick Harnett – Rosedale 29
Alex Seppings – Bairnsdale 36
Tahlia Campbell – Rosedale 44
Adam Wharton – Bairnsdale 45
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 50
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Deon Fyfe – Bairnsdale 69
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Justin Smith – Moe 93
Don Fyfe – Bairnsdale 96

Bobby Devine – Rosedale 10
Jason Seymour – Moe 10
Rob Geisler – Moe 18
Kevin Hays – Rosedale 19
Mel Tatterson – Rosedale 21
Rob Tatterson – Moe 21
Troy Wilson – Bairnsdale 34
AJ Lawrence – Rosedale 55
Jordan Haley – Rosedale 65
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74

Ends Release.

Written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist