Sprintcars, Sports Sedan and a Demolition Derby to rock Wangaratta City Raceway this Saturday night

This Saturday night the Wangaratta City Raceway is set for a huge opening night of the season

This Saturday night the Wangaratta City Raceway is set for a huge opening night of the season with the Sprintcars coming from all around Victoria to do battle in Round 1of the season after numerous disruptions down south to starting their season due to weather.

The night will end with a Demolition Derby, which is sure to send fans home with smiles.

The Sprintcars will also be joined by 30-plus Sports Sedan’s starting their state series along with a blue-ribbon feature event for the Mini-Lightning Sprints and Junior Sedans.

Our Sprintcar line-up includes well-known and popular competitors amongst the topflight division of the class with the likes of Tim Hutchins a winner last season at Wangaratta, Matthew Reed, Grant Anderson from Albury, Jordyn Charge, and Brett Milburn.

Over twenty things with wings will thrill the crowd with noise, passes, crashes, and fast races.

The Victorian Sports Sedan series has attracted thirty-five cars from all over Victoria also with a strong local representation being joined by many of Victoria’s best.

Lucas Conder, Zac Swanson, Dale Smith last seasons series champion, Felicity Roycroft our own Wangaratta Club champion, Josh Service, and Andrew Jordan are some of the top competitors in the class competing this weekend.

For the first time in a little while, the Mini-Lightning Sprints are back at Wangaratta.

Some changes to the class structure since we last hosted them, now results in New South Wales, Queensland and Victorian cars being able to compete together as a national class.

The Australian champion AJ McTaggart is in town to compete with Sydney’s Danny Stone, Lismore’s Harley Graham, and the likes of Andrew Burleigh from Melbourne, Jack Selmes of Sydney, Jason Lynn, and Ally Moore.

Just as the Sports Sedans are, the Mini-Lightning Sprints are competing for a huge cash prize share.

Rounding out the racing line-up is the Junior Open Sedans class with fifteen-plus competitors.

Riley Balins, Jacob Tinworth, Connor Claridge, Anthony Hanson, Marcus Maclean, and Hunter Carey are just some of the fast kids to keep an eye on, they are our future champions.

Closing the show will be the Demolition Derby. Competitors are keen after having events cancelled last season due to weather and some cars have been waiting right through the off-season for the chance to tear other cars apart.

The entry fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.

Wangaratta Speedway Club wishes to acknowledge and thank their supporters including
A1 Tyre Service
Aerodrome Automotive
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Services
Grimshaw Signs
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Toil and Soil
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda

Tim Hutchins – Tasmania 7
Paul Solomon – Victoria 7
Matthew Reed – Northern Territory 7
Bobby Daly – Victoria 8
Jordan Rae – Victoria 9
David Dennison – Victoria 15
Andrew Hughes – Victoria 28
Terry Rankin – VA 29
Stephen Spark – Victoria 32
Brett Clarke – VA 33
Ashley Cook – VA 36
Eddie Lumbar – New South Wales 36
Grant Anderson – Victoria 37
Jordyn Charge – Victoria 60
Kevin Reeves – Victoria 63
David Aldersley – Victoria 64
Brett Milburn – Victoria 68
Mitchell Smith – Victoria 75
Brayden Parr – Victoria 77
Chris Solomon – Victoria 83

Numbers and Clubs Not Provided
Bradin Claridge
Paul Blake
James Woods
Corey Lincoln
Caleb Lincoln
Lucas Conder
Kasey Ferguson
Tommy McDonald
Zac Swanson
Lachlan Hamilton
Anthony Knight
Brandon Lovell
Jason Berger
Matt Sgroi
Bailey Kakoschke
Reece Kakoschke
Marcus Hams
Matthew Ismail
Mick Mannix
Russell Smith
Zoey Salau
Nathan Shortis
Danny Cox
Dale Smith
James Guppy
Katie Meyer
Jamie Thomsen
Felicity Roycroft
Garry Gapes
Josh Service
Bianca Ballantyne
Michael Sayers
Andrew Jordan
Daniel Knight

A1 AJ McTaggart – Australia 1 / NSW
N3 Vic McTaggart – New South Wales 3
Toby Perrett – Victoria 7
Andrew Burleigh – Victoria 17
Jack Selmes – New South Wales 19
Jason Lynn – Victoria 24
Ally Moore – Victoria 26
Harley Graham – Queensland 27
Maureen Sell – Victoria 27
Luke Graham – Queensland 37
Danny Stone – New South Wales 47
Jason Alie – Victoria 50
Matt Mason – Victoria 72

Cooper Lack – Wangaratta 4
Tyiren Bailey – Corowa 4
Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 5
Levi Blake – Ballarat 6
Jacob Tinworth – Wangaratta 7
Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Anthony Hanson – Bendigo 19
Riley Balins – Wangaratta 21
Connor Lovell – Corowa 21
Cobie McGraw – Corowa 39
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51
Jordan Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Mia Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Macca Bunt – Corowa 85
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95
Zoe Hunt – DS 95 (Drouin)

Written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist