Sunday fun day at Drouin Speedway features Ramp Racing and Demolition Derby

A fun day of racing is scheduled for this Sunday at Drouin Speedway and dare we say it the weather bureau says nothing involving water, is going to interfere with a terrific program that includes the Ladies feature re-scheduled from the last show, the Stand Still Start Standard Saloon race and the Ramp Racers and Demolition Derby from entertaining us all.

Also scheduled are the Junior Standard Saloon and Junior 1200cc Sedan competitors, and the Aces of Spades Vintage Club which packs a terrific program for fans with a little bit of something for most.

Competitors in the Stand Still Start Standard Saloons are some of the states best drivers with Jeff Blencowe, Mitch his son, Leigh Gooding, Mark Miles, Luke King, Chris Miles, Matt Leek, Andrew Miles, Kacey Ingram, and Darwyn Lee all listed to compete with Blencowe and Gooding known for their bumper-on-bumper battles over several years whilst the Miles brothers have supported Drouin’s racing this year in a big way and have added extra spice to the racing. Picking a winner is not easy this Sunday, at all.

Junior Standard Saloon competitors have had their state title rained out twice in recent weeks and three times for the season, putting it back to the end of June. Tired of saving their cars and waiting a healthy field is nominated for Sunday that includes Drouin members Cooper Joynson, Dylcan Sweet, Bryce Leek and Zoe Hunt. Whilst drivers with results on the board as far as victories and podiums such as Beau Stuchbery, Nathan Miles, Tom Braz, and Jack Braz are all in the line-up and keen to notch up another top step result.

Drouin gets to acknowledge it’s latest state champion Bryce Leek on Sunday as he competes for the first time as Victorian champion in the 1200cc Sedan class. Leek and Ella Sheedy are representing the host club and will have stiff competition from the likes of Braidan Webster, Chase Doherty, Xander Baxter and Holly Hutchinson on race day. There is every chance this little class will set fastest laps of all classes on race day as they have previously, keep an eye on the times on Race Monitor.

Ladies will compete in the annual Ladies Standard Saloon feature event with Stacey Sheedy, Tasharni Murray and Kate Otimi flying the Drouin club’s flag. The girls will have a strong line-up to compete against that includes Joanne Richardson, Michelle George, Maddison Miles, Sharlene Laidlaw, Bronwyn Miles, and Caroline Allen amongst a few of the names vying for the victory.

Those magnificent men in their flying machines are back on track, the Ramp Racers. Drivers circulate and then on the back and front straight must hit the ramp every time to count as legitimate laps. The cars depending on their speed and their courage, may get significant air off the ground with all four wheels sending them flying ten metres or more before they hit the ground again. The crazies’ giving it a go this weekend include Wayne Gibson, Brendan Sheedy, Andrew Miles, and Beau Evans.

Aces of Spades Club members will give spirited demonstrations in their vintage Sedans with Dennis Hocking a favourite always presenting an immaculate machine.

Rounding out the day will be a small but entertaining Demolition Derby. In years gone by the Demolition Derby’s were huge and characters like Andrew Miles, Luke Milburn, Darwyn Lee, Lindsay Marslen and Alan George would very much love to elevate the interest in such events again. The drivers will stop at nothing to win the winners cash, even if it means taking their good mates out of the running by destroying their car.

Gates open from 8:00am. Racing from 11am

Entry will cost $20 for an adult, aged and invalid Pensioner and Children 12 to 16yrs is $15 and Children under 12 years of age are free. A family ticket for two adults and two children aged 12 to 16 will cost $50.

Track is at 140 Main Jindivick Road, Jindivick.

General enquiries can be made to 0422 289 133.

Drouin Speedway Club acknowledge and thank these wonderful supporters.
Alberni Engineering
Baw Baw Shire
Bowens Pakenham
Bunyip Bakery
Bunyip Motors
Bunyip Tyre Service
Drouin Tyre and Battery Service
Elite Cranes and Transport
Image Worx Photography
Keena Fencing
Latrobe Waste and Recycling
Leigh and Anne Gooding
Mepstead Lawyers
Miles Mechanical
Melbourne IT Support
Norstar Steel Recyclers
Napier Photography
Old School Super Store
Pakenham Radiators
QuickTime Automotive
Railway Hotel
Random Panda Photography
Scott Irons
STR8 Bricklaying
TJE Fabrication
TNT Autos
Total Autos Pakenham
Visual Signage Solutions
Wilkar Constructions

Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Mitchell Blencowe – Drouin 10
Leigh Gooding – Rosedale 11
Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Justin Prins – Nyora 15
Luke King – Nyora 16
Kevin Hays/Allen Sell – Rosedale 17
Chris Miles – Nyora 18
Matt Leek – Drouin 19
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Andrew Miles – Nyora 34
Ben Grey – Drouin 37
Justin Cadman – Nyora 39
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Darwyn Lee – Drouin 45
Allan Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76

Cooper Joynson – Drouin 6
Beau Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 9
Nathan Miles – Nyora 12
Tom Braz – Rosedale 14
Bryce Leek – Drouin 19
Brodie Robertson – Nyora 23
Noah Greaves – Bairnsdale 24
Maddie Logue – Rosedale 24
Jack Braz – Rosedale 42
Dylcan Sweet – Drouin 81
Zoe Hunt – Drouin 95

Bryce Leek – Victoria 1
Braidan Webster – Alexandra 5
Blake Beach – Alexandra 18
Ella Sheedy – Drouin 21
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Chase Doherty – Nyora 31
Eliza Taylor – Daylesford 52
Xander Baxter – Nagambie 69
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80
Maddy Beach – Alexandra 88
Jess O’Donnell – Nyora 96

Stacey Sheedy – Drouin 4 or Nyora 8
Joanne Richardson – Bairnsdale 12
Airielle Wollmer – Nyora 15
Michelle George – Nyora 17
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Sharlene Laidlaw – Rosedale 23
Bronwyn Miles – Nyora 34
Tasharni Murray – Drouin 48
Melissa van Strien – Nyora N55
Caroline Allen – Nyora NY55
Alyssa Preer – Bairnsdale 83
Kate Otimi – Drouin 94

Andrew Pridham – 1
Matt Burgher – 10
Dennis Hocking – 11
Simon Wilshire – 93

Wayne Gibson – 5
Brendan Sheedy – 13
Andrew Miles – 77
Beau Evans – 203

Andrew Miles – 3
Luke Milburn – 17
Darywn Lee – 45
Lindsay Marslen – 98
Alan George – 911

Ends Release.

Media by Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist