Super Rods and Street Stocks to headline Mid-Western Speedway on Sunday

This Sunday Mid-Western Speedway in Darlington will hold their second race meeting of the current Speedway season with two huge feature events to keep fans enthralled and on the edge of their seats. The annual Col Grist Memorial for Super Rods and the Hanno Memorial for Street Stocks are the two main events of the day with supports from Speedway Drivers Association Hot Rods, Standard Saloons, Daylesford Street Stocks, and Speedway Sedans Victoria Juniors.

Amongst the competition in the Super Rod Col Grist Memorial are members of the family and some of the strongest competitors in the class. Jamie May, Daniel Grist, Billy Grist, Jason Kavanagh, Neville Gange, Stan Marco Jnr, Jacob Pitcher, Grant Stansfield, and Dane Court included.

It is anybody’s guess as to who might win the race in honour of Col Grist.

For the Hanno Memorial for Street Stocks honouring former racer Brendan Hannabury who was a racer in the class and a member of Mortlake Speedway Club who operate the Mid-Western Speedway, some of the competitors include Dean Jenkins, Morris Ahearn, Ricky Throckmorton, Dylan Campton, and Chris Hay. Winning the event means a lot to many from the South West and those that raced against Brendan and miss his wonderful personality.

The Speedway Drivers Association of Victoria Hot Rods field includes their Victorian champion Shannon Meakins along with Colac locals Eddie Ivermee and Stuart Robinson whilst Phil Jenkins and Kali Hovey are also in the field.

Gates for competitors open at 9am and to the public at 10am Racing begins at Midday with a 4 to 5pm finish planned. No Eftpos on facility, Cash only, No BYO Alcohol and No fires to be lit around the track. Canteen open from 10am.

For general enquiries about the Speedway contact Paul on 0400 565 014

Admission will cost adults 15years and over $20 and aged and disabled pensioners $20, A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 15 or a Junior driver competing on the night aged 16, costs $45 dollars. Children between the age of 10 to 15 or a Junior competing driver are $10, Children Under the age of ten are free.

Mortlake Speedway Club would like to thank the following for their support.
Brooklyn Car Sales – Wendouree
Mortlake Roadhouse
Camperdown Truck & Ag
Gilberts Truck & Tractor Service – Camperdown
O’Leary Ag Contracting, Camperdown
PWS Fabrications – Geelong
The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool
West Vic Tyres – Mortlake
Olsson Timing Services
Camperdown Auto Pro
Barkley Waste Collections – Colac

Jamie Ackland – Hamilton 7
Jamie May – Warrnambool 8
Luke Cole – Mortlake 14
Daniel Grist – Hamilton 15
Billy Grist – Hamilton 23
West Makin – Warrnambool 25
Jason Poustie – Simpson 48
Jason Kavanagh – Warrnambool 55
Neville Gange – Laang 56
Daniel Hookway – Warrnambool 57
George Woolstencroft – Simpson 66
Stan Marco Snr – Avalon 75
Stan Marco Jnr – Avalon 77
Bailey Pitcher – Avalon 82
Jacob Pitcher – Avalon 83
Grant Stansfield – Warrnambool 88
Dane Court – Hamilton 96

Dean Jenkins – Redline 4
Morris Ahearn – Mildura 4
Ricky Throckmorton – Nyora 4
Kimberley Tebble – Mortlake 12
Michael Smith – Ballarat 13
Ben Warren – Laang 14
Ashley Fox – Geelong 29
Chris Hay – Warrnambool 42
Jacob Kelly – Geelong 51
Troy Hose – Hamilton 57
David Chivers – Ballarat 79
Dylan Campton – Ballarat 81
Stephen Brook – Redline 99

Shannon Meakins – 1
Phil Jenkins – 3
Eddie Ivermee – 6
Kali Hovey – 22
Stuey Robinson – 36
Tony Green – 34
Neil Sixtus – 93

Nathan Hutchins – Portland 25
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Robin Rundell – Portland 61
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Lachlan Chivers – Ballarat 79
Tim Hutchinson – Daylesford 88
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97

Michael Smith – Daylesford 13
Riley Noonan – Daylesford 27
Chris Hay – Daylesford 42
Des Robinson – Daylesford 63
Glen McCoubrie – Daylesford 66
Belinda Taylor – Daylesford 80
Anthony Bull – Daylesford 88
Jamie Angwin – Daylesford 92

Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7 New Star
Blake Glynn – Avalon 8 Top Star
Clare Hose – Hamilton 22 New Star
Tayla Whatmore – Ballarat 42 New Star
Isabella Thornton – Avalon 45 New Star
Zammy Noseda – Simpson 52 New Star
Miller Throckmorton – Colac 81 Top Star

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Speedcafe TV

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist