Take three, Nyora is all go

All systems are go at Nyora Raceway for this Saturday night when for the third time Sports Sedan racers converge on the Nyora reserve to compete for the Victorian Sports Sedan title supported by ‘DTR’ Heavy Vehicle Repairs’. After Covid and weather has halted attempts previously, this weekend experts predict no interference from anything other than a couple of seagulls trying to pick up a few dropped hot chips.

As an extra race meeting put together by the Nyora club committee, some new support classes on race night had to be sourced. With the ‘Miles Mechanical’ supported Miles Cup still the big race for the Standard Saloons supporting the title event, Nyora have scheduled Junior Standard Saloons, Ladies Standard Saloons in a final hit out before the Victorian title the following Saturday night at Nyora on May the 8th and new to Nyora the stand alone Junior 1200cc Sedans.

The Victorian Sports Sedan title includes the defending champion Jamie Paull of the Nyora club, David Donegan the current number three driver is also in for a steer of his popular Holden eight-cylinder powered Ford Cortina. South East Melbourne’s Damien Miller a two-time Sports Sedan champion will fire up his LS Chevrolet powered Commodore and several other competitors to keep an eye on include Dale Morrison, Warrick Taylor, Shane Kruger, Ricky Cornwall, Lee Beach, Rhys Collins, Shane O’Brien, and Matt Nelson.

In the ‘Miles Mechanical’ supported Standard Saloon feature event named the Miles Cup, the best line-up for a few seasons yet has nominated. Daniel Stewart this seasons Victoria three driver leads, Wayne Sheerman, Brad Hill, Rhys Lansdown, Shane Stewart our state number one driver, Mark Miles, Scott Whittle a mere seven times former Victorian champion, Craig Templeton, Kacey Ingram, Hanna Domburg, Matt Domburg, Josh Kokshoorn, Matt Leek, Tracey Ingram and more into the race to honour local South Gippsland and Casey Shire family, the Miles.

Trish Dike leads the Ladies Standard Saloon nominations as she has one last hit out before she attempts to win the state title the following week for the third time in succession. She will have competition from Courtney Meakins who has shown pace this year in particular and recent winner Bec Glassborow along with club stalwart Allan Ardley and Sarah Price who has plenty of laps under her belt this season and is ready to fire.

The new class is a return to an old class when the now Victorian Speedway Council aligned 1200cc Junior Sedans compete. The class allows only up to 1200cc powered race cars to compete against each other providing opportunity for more competitive racing as opposed to other opportunities for the racers to compete. So far Arthur Hutchinson, Bryce Leek and Sam Cherry from this weeks nominated entrants have proved consistent in achieving podium results, whilst Nathan Miles has proven his ability in other forms of Junior Sedan racing this season and Riley Taylor in the past couple of weeks has found a new gear and is putting the pressure on at the front.

Rounding out the nights racing is the Junior Standard Saloons with Nyora’s Victorian Champion Damon Ingram competing against a tough local field of race drivers. Harry and Owen Cecil, Maddison Miles and Matt Shankland are just some of the drivers from Nyora in the list to keep an eye on whilst Blake Smith from Latrobe Valley is another driver to keep a close watch on.
All the action on Saturday starts at 4pm whilst the gate will be open for public from around Midday for entry will cost $20 for an adult, Kids 12 to 16 are $10 each whilst all other children are free and Pensioners are $10, Family ticket of 2 adults and two kids 12 to 16 is $50.

Nyora thank the Club sponsors for this season:
Shannon’s Insurance
Miles Mechanical Pakenham
Total Autos Pakenham
Rip it Up Earthworks Bittern
Burson’s Pakenham
PRO1 Race Parts
Outback Riders
Redde Detailing
Highline Racewear
Cut N’ Core
South East Paving
Tooradin Sports Club
ARP Earthworks
All Care Exhausts Pakenham
Bass Concreting
John Duff & CO – Shell
Mepstead Electrical
J Allcock Plumbing
ZT Carpentree
Ramsdale Wreckers
SS AG Services
Polly’s Auto Salvage
Sherlow’s Used Cars
Concept Trade Solutions
Metal Station Farming Products
Napier Photography
JW Bookkeeping
Sticky Biz Apparel
Cecil Excavations
Earth Link Electrical
Mornington Motors
ML Automotive
Peninsula District Towing
Somerville Motor Body Works
Ultimate Awards
BAM Inspect & Build
Pakenham Accident Repairs
BGN Auto Glass
Affordable Auto Salvage
Ripper Sticker
Taylor’d Fabrications
Russell Steel
Heartfelt Candles
Dandenong Pest Control
Pakenham Towing
Wise Steel Sales
Victorian Crane Trucks
EPH Group

Jamie Paull – Victoria 1
Wayne Alberni – Drouin 4
Bailey Perkins – Nyora 4
Dale Morrison – Alexandra 6 (Alex)
Damien Miller – Alexandra 6 (Ax)
Andre Meunier – Rosedale 6
Jeff Blencowe – Drouin 9
Jaidyn Dredge – Bendigo 13
Ricky Cornwall – Alexandra 15
Troy Glassborow – Nyora 16
Matt Nelson – Nagambie 19
Warrick Taylor – Nyora 22
Simon Bent – Nyora 24
Jayde Aarts – Nyora 25
Rhys Collins – Mount Beauty 27
Chris Aarts – Nyora 29 (NY)
Matthew Reddecliffe – Nyora 29 (Prefix N)
Mathew Sgroi – Nagambie 29
Shane Kruger – Alexandra 44
Gavin Dorain – Rosedale 49
Shane O’Brien – Nagambie 54
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Matt Brooks – Wangaratta 65
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Josh Beattie – Goulburn Valley 72
Justin McKeegan – Ballarat 72
Broderick Stray – Rosedale 72
Dave Donegan – Alexandra 75
Lee Beach – Alexandra 88
Andrew Jordan – Alexandra 89
Jacob Blencowe – Drouin 90
Harry Orme – Alexandra 99

Shane Stewart – Victoria 1
Daniel Stewart – Victoria 3
Andrew Miles – Nyora 4
Josh Kokshoorn – Bairnsdale 5
Aaron Price – Nyora 7
Mitch Blencowe – Drouin 10
Mark Miles – Nyora 12
Matt Domburg = Portland 14
Chris Miles – Nyora 18
Scott Angus – Nyora 19
Matt Leek – Nyora 19
Nick Hill – Nyora 21
Craig Templeton – Redline 27
Matt Saunders – Nyora 28
Scott Whittle – Nyora 29
Kane Gibson – Rosedale 31
Kacey Ingram – Nyora 43
Stephen Douglas – Nyora 44
Rhys Lansdown – Nyora 47
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Hanna Domburg – Portland 51
Wayne Sheerman – Alexandra 69
Tracey Ingram – Nyora 76
Brodie Ardley – Nyora 84
Anthony Sgroi – Nyora 88
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 92
Ash Dean – Nyora 95
Luke King – Nyora 96
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Braiden Webster – Alexandra 5
Sam Cherry – Alexandra 14
Ella Sheedy – Nyora 21
Riley Taylor – Nyora 25
Bryce Leek – Nyora 29
Jemma Woods – Daylesford 45
Nathan Miles – Nyora 57
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82

Trish Dike – Victoria 1
Sarah Price – Nyora 7
Zoe Young – Nyora 12
Bec Glassborow – Nyora 16
Imogene Drennan – Nyora 20
Hayley Hutchins – Nyora 23
Nicole Allman – Drouin 41
Allana Ardley – Nyora 66
Courtney Meakins – Alexandra 67
Jodie Donelly – Bairnsdale 92

Damon Ingram – Victoria 1
Harry Cecil – Victoria 3
Blake Smith – Moe 10
Kane Smith – Moe 11
Jack Braz – Bairnsdale 11
Maddison Miles – Nyora 18
Owen Cecil – Nyora 30
Matt Shankland – Nyora 28
Jake Shankland – Nyora 46
Chase Ingram – Nyora 67
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Ends Release.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist