Tight Battles In Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series

The racing just keeps getting better and better in the Nexen Tyre NZ Mazda Racing Series.

The third round of the series’ National and North Island Championship played out at Taupo International Motorsport Park at the weekend with a superb entry of 38 cars and after three superb races it was Rex Edwards of Tauranga who won the round from Prebbleton driver Chris White Jnr and Simon Baker of Wellington.

However, Edwards did not venture south for the opening two rounds of the National Championship so while he maintained his lead in the North Island Championship points it was the two main protagonists in the National Championship, Baker and White Jnr, who are set for a massive battle at the final national round at Hampton Downs Motorsport Park in April. Baker leads White Jnr by just 7 points with three races to run.

It was Leo Bult of Auckland who drew first blood at Taupo as he qualified fastest on Saturday morning and in doing so won the $500 Premier Insulation Pole Award. Edwards qualified alongside with Baker and White Jnr on the second row. It was Edwards who took the opening race however, from Bult, Baker and Sam Dashfield of Auckland with White Jnr fifth.

The following morning, Flynn Mullany of Auckland scored a popular win in the 10-lap, top ten reverse grid race after being helped onto the grid thanks to the camaraderie within the series after mechanical problems at the last round. Mullany led the way home from White Jnr, Edwards and Baker. White Jnr set a blistering pace, quickly climbing into second place, setting a new lap record of 1 minute 42.673 seconds in the process, meaning every national round this season has produced a new lap record.

The entire weekend featured great racing and the finale was a cracker with the top six cars covered by just six car lengths as they crossed the line. White Jnr took the win to make it three different race winners across the weekend followed home by Edwards, Baker and Mullany.

While others have a mathematical chance of winning the national title it is Baker and White Jnr who will be hot favourites as they head to Hampton Downs.

Meanwhile Edwards maintains his lead in the North Island Championship from Baker. Before the final round the South Island competitors have the last round of their championship, which White Jnr leads, at Teretonga Park in Invercargill over the weekend of 18/19 March while the North Island Championship features a round at Pukekohe Park Raceway over the weekend of 25/26 March, the final weekend of motor racing at the historic South Auckland circuit.

Spokesperson for the series, Lindsay Dodd said “this was our first weekend working alongside Motorsport NZ Championship promoters, Super Sprint NZ and we enjoyed being a part of a well organised, well-run event.”


Lindsay Beer
On behalf of the Nexen Tyre NZ Mazda Racing Series
021 351 499

For further information – Lindsay Dodd – 0274 383 997

Photograph – Rex Edwards of Tauranga leads Leo Bult of Auckland in the opening race of Round 3 of the Nexen Tyre Mazda Racing Series National Championship at Taupo International Motorsport Park. Edwards went on to win the round: Please credit Geoff Ridder.

New Zealand Championship Points (after Round 3):
1: Simon Baker (Wellington) 350
2: Chris White Jnr (Prebbleton) 343
3: Leo Bult (Auckland) 250
4: Matt Horne (Masterton) 238
5: Flynn Mullany (Auckland) 236
6=: Sam Dashfield (Auckland 231
6=: Matt Dodd (Christchurch) 231
8: Dalan Price (Rangiora) 230
9: Warren Crowther (Auckland) 229
10: Elton Wichman (Auckland) 203
11: Steve Brown (Auckland) 199
12: Steven Spear (Auckland) 184
13: Phil Clemas (Auckland) 175
14: Anthony Tork (Auckland) 167
15=: Karl Gaines (Auckland) 151
15=: Shane Paget (Rangiora) 151
17: Alex Canty (Auckland) 132
18: Rex Edwards (Tauranga)121
19: Terry Edwards (Waihi) 92
20: Lance Gerlach (Auckland) 68
21: Nigel Edger (Hamilton) 66
22: Steve Fistonich (Auckland) 53
23: Jared Leith (Hamilton) 51
24=: James Parker (Auckland) 50
24=: Brent (Bones) Collins (Timaru) 50
26: Scott Davies (Rotorua) 41
27: David Atkins (Auckland) 40
28: Paul Leith (Hamilton) 25
29: Mark Stockton (Auckland) 20
1: Ken Thompson (Dunedin)

1: Rex Edwards (Tauranga) 339
2: Simon Baker (Wellington) 307
3=: Flynn Mullany (Auckland) 297
3=: Matt Horne (Masterton) 297
5: Leo Bult (Auckland) 294
6: Terry Edwards (Waihi) 288

1: Chris White Jnr (Prebbleton) 333
2: Matthew Dodd (Christchurch) 277
3: Shane Paget (Rangiora) 269
4=: Matt Horne (Masterton) 267
4=: Dalan Price (Rangiora) 267
6: Simon Baker (Wellington) 242

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist