Top Gun taking aim at Titman

Racing action returns to Ausdeck Archerfield Speedway this weekend when one of Australia’s most accomplished Sprintcar competitors will take on the local stars in round two of the East Coast Logistics Track Championship. South Australian hotshoe Steven Lines will have opening round winner Kevin Titman in his sights when he hits Brisbane on Saturday night (October 19). With several regulars making their first appearance for the season, along with the addition of several new competitors and others returning after an extended absence, Lines will face off against a stacked field in his bid to secure feature race success for Queensland-based car owner Dave Horrall. Another strong line-up of AMCA Nationals will provide solid support in round two of their Shock Absorber Therapy Track Championship, with Compact Speedcars, RSA Sedans, Open Sedans and Formula 500 Juniors hitting the track for the first time to complete another packed program at Queensland’s premier speedway.Top Gun Taking Aim at Titman

So impressive in the opening round, Titman must now carry the weight of expectation into battle against Lines, who is one of only three drivers to have won both the Grand Annual Sprintcar Classic and the World Series Sprintcar Championship on more than one occasion. In fact, Lines returns to Archerfield as the current WSS titleholder and will prove a considerable hurdle for his rivals to overcome should they hope to make a visit to victory lane. No doubt determined to disprove any suggestion that his opening round win was a flash-in-the-pan performance, Titman should relish the opportunity to upstage Lines and extend his lead in the championship standings. Despite finishing third in the series opener, former track champion and state titleholder Luke Oldfield is unlikely to be satisfied with that result and will be looking to give his legion of loyal fans the ultimate reward for their support with a return to the top step of the podium.

Mitchell Gee enjoyed an impressive debut aboard his new mount in the opening round, bringing the AEB Services Triple X home in fifth spot, a result that should instil plenty of confidence in the team, while former track champion Bryan Mann endured contrasting fortunes, riding out a wild wreck in the feature race. So, while Gee will be looking to consolidate and improve upon his strong start to the season, Mann will be determined to cast aside his hard luck and redeem himself in the best possible way by steering the #16 Driven Racing Oil Eagle to a feature race win. Meanwhile, Brent Kratzmann is another regular podium contender who will be looking to bounce back big time after a horror opening round in which he inexplicably failed to secure a start in the feature race.

North Queensland’s Brent Aprile makes his first visit for the season and he is another that will prove a potential spoiler for the locals, while the return of Callum Walker is also an exciting development given the form he displayed prior to an extended lay-off as a result of injury. Contesting a few Midget shows last season, Walker was impressive and is now tasked with re-establishing his Sprintcar credentials. Adam Butler and Kristy Bonsey impressed on opening night without securing results that best reflected their efforts and both drivers will line up again this weekend, with a couple of young guns in Randy Morgan and Aaron Kelly also looming as potential threats to their more experienced rivals. .

In the wake of his dominant display in the opening round, Queensland champion Tony Blanch looks almost impossible to beat in round two of the Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship. Despite starting near the back of his heats after failing to nominate, Blanch was in a class of his own in the opening round, winning one heat and finishing second in the other to secure a front row start for the feature race. Blanch subsequently led every lap to defeat Nathan Durston, Australian champ Matt Hardy, Nathan Tomkins and Thomas Vickery, all of whom will take up the challenge again this Saturday but will need to find something extra if they intend besting Blanch. Both Steve Price and Steve Potts are prolific race winners who can be also expected to feature prominently in the results and, with a field that includes drivers from New South Wales and the Northern Territory, the AMCA brigade look set to deliver another action-packed exhibition.

Lacking a little in numbers following the move of several competitors into the Midget ranks, Compact Speedcars hit the track for the first time this season with category stalwart Robbie Stewart shaping as the clear favourite. Of the rest, Bodie Smith, Trent Usher and Mark Maczek seem the most likely threats, although former Lightning Sprint standout Kirsty Kelly looked sharp in practice and certainly shouldn’t be underestimated on debut.

RSA Sedans will very much be a family affair with no less than four of the Taylor clan amongst the entries, two of whom in Michael and the Monza-mounted Daniel are usually amongst the front runners, while in the Open Sedan ranks it is the Super Sedan-spec cars of Glenn Willmot and Ron Hornbuckle who are expected to lead the charge.

Gates open at 4.00pm, with early racing from 4.45pm and Sprintcar time trial qualifying scheduled for 5.30pm. The main program, which also features the future stars of the Formula 500 Juniors, gets underway at 6.00pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round two nominations: Aaron Kelly, Adam Butler, Andrew Baumber, Brendon Claridge, Brent Aprile, Brent Kratzmann, Brett Minett, Bryan Mann, Callum Walker, Cody Reynolds, Dan Murray, Erin Vanderreyden, Geoff Davey, Jason King, Justin Snellman, Karl Hoffmans, Kevin Titman, Kristy Bonsey, Libby Ellis, Luke Oldfield, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Randy Morgan, Ron Hendrickson, Ryan McNamara, Scott Genrich, Sean Rose, Steven Lines, Tim Farrell

Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship round two nominations: Ben Anderson, Brett Robotham, Chris Wilson, Darren Miller, Graeme Holland, Jacob Belcher, Jay Allan, Matt Hardy, Michael Denning, Nathan Durston, Nathan Tomkins, Robert Kynaston, Steve Potts, Steve Price, Stuart Jefferies, Thomas Vickery, Tony Blanch, Troy Price

Compact Speedcar nominations: Andrew Parkes, Bodie Smith, Christian Pidgeon, Connor McCullogh, Dave Collins, Kirsty Kelly, Mark Maczek, Regan Payne, Richard Rooke, Rob Stewart, Trent Usher

RSA Sedan nominations: Aaron Buchanan, Adrian Browne, Daniel Taylor, Glen Lesslie, Greg Trezise, Hans Van Der Ryken, Karen Taylor, Lachlan Smith, Michael Laver, Michael Taylor, Neil Lorenz, Peter Van Lissum, Russell Davis, Scott Taylor, Shannon Knight, Wade Baker, Wayne Kirkman

Open Sedan nominations: Alan Robertson, Brad Hill, Ron Hornbuckle, Glenn Willmott, Greg Town, Joel Gilson, John Woolf, Keith Craft, Les Eisenmenger, Mark Anderson, Merv Price, Ricky Price, Thomas Hunter

Formula 500 Junior nominations: Jy Corbet, Kacy Lee Black, Kinser Claridge, Kyle Price, Ryan Newton, Taylor Morgan

Ausdeck Archerfield Speedway is proudly supported by:

Ausdeck Group
East Coast Logistics
Performance Wholesale
Queensland Speedway Spares

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist