Victorian Mini – Lightning Sprints Season is officially underway

The new Speedway season is here, and Nagambie Speedway hosted the Victorian Mini-Lightning Sprints season opener on Saturday with Lismore New South Wales based Queensland and Victoria club member Harley Graham picking up the victory after a great day of racing for all.

On a new racetrack for the current club members, everybody was on an even playing field at the big Nagambie track. Each driver had three heats scheduled to qualify for the final.

The action started in heat race number one with Sydney racer Danny Stone cracking his race car against the wall early in the race noting he knew the wall was there, but not that close, he continued racing. Luke Graham another from Lismore had a spin in turn one on lap six and continued also.

Harley Graham snatched the win from Ally Moore a Victorian with a terrific result in second, Moore led at the white flag before Harley Graham took the win on the last lap. Third was Stone, then came Luke Graham, Jason Alie, Scott Burchett, Maureen Sell, and rookie competitor Toby Perrett.

With a bit of water placed down on the track prior to the second heat, it was a little wet, and drivers had to adjust their driving styles to the conditions. Both the Graham lads did not start due to mechanical issues they were suffering and Burchett and Alie started at the front of the field. They led for the first lap however Stone worked through the field and went on to win from Moore, Alie, Burchett, Sell and Perrett.

Harley Graham didn’t start the third heat race either, still working out what mechanically was causing his race car some issues. Moore led from the start of the race, and she went on to win. In the midfield Burchett and Stone had a great battle with Stone taking some time to get past Burchett. Moore defeated Stone, Luke Graham, Burchett, Alie, Sell and Perrett.

All competitors made the start for the final with Harley Graham out from of the pack blazing a trail, when the white flag dropped in front of him he thought he would try and crack the track record and nearly lost control he hit an infield tyre on the turn four corner however held on and managed to win from Moore, Stone, Luke Graham, Alie and Burchett. Moore, Stone, and Luke Graham were nose to tail right the way through.

The Victorian Mini-Lightning Sprints club loved the Nagambie Speedway track and atmosphere and cannot wait to organise to go back. Perrett on debut had an awesome day having never been in a race car and now has the racing bug.

Attention is now on this weekend’s new feature event the ‘Skillys Tyre and Auto’ Highway Challenge at Wangaratta City Raceway. This will see the Victorian drivers against interstate race drivers once again, including the current Australian champion, AJ McTaggart.

There is a large amount of prize money up for grabs and tow money on offer as the club continues to capitalise on the success of the Australian title last season as it looks to encourage competitors to join the class and enjoy the fun up and down the eastern states of Australia to compete with Queenslanders and New South Welshmen.

Everybody this weekend should walk away with something for their performance which will add to the fun and friendly pit environment during racing.

McTaggart who won the national title at Nyora Raceway in February leads Vic McTaggart, Danny Stone, and Jack Selmes from New South Wales for this coming Saturday’s show. Whilst Harley and Luke Graham from Lismore New South Wales and Queensland registered, are also coming back to compete.

Victorian competitors include Andrew Burleigh in his first start for the season and last weekend’s best performed Victorian Ally Moore. Jason Lynn a veteran of the class returns, plus Maureen Sell, Jason Alie and another brand-new driver in Matt Mason will compete.

Committee officers and club members are excited at the interest in competitors at competing in the class in Victoria, with the advantage of going on a racing holiday in New South Wales and Queensland if you purchase a Mini-Lightning Sprint and take off north.

AJ McTaggart – New South Wales / Australia 1
Vic McTaggart – New South Wales 3
Andrew Burleigh – Victoria 17
Jack Selmes – New South Wales 19
Jason Lynn – Victoria 24
Ally Moore – Victoria 26
Maureen Sell – Victoria 27
Harley Graham – Queensland 27
Luke Graham – Queensland 37
Danny Stone – New South Wales 47
Jason Alie – Victoria 50
Matt Mason – Victoria 72 (Debut)

Thank you to these businesses who in one way or another are supporting us;
Skillys Tyre and Auto
Ultimate Awards
DMT Sports Media
Moore Pics

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist