Wahgunyah Speedway offer a great family fun day this Saturday, come along

This Saturday Wahgunyah Speedway will provide another great day of entertainment out at the reserve with the Ladies taking centre stage for an annual feature as co-main event with the Col Young Memorial for the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association.

Also featuring on this race day supported by Rapid Hydraulics and Rapid Performance are the Unlimited Sedans, Standard Saloons, Junior Sedans, Sports Sedans and the visiting Vintage Sprintcars providing a little something for everybody.

The Ladies ‘CR Racewear’ Apparel’ Queen of the Murray event has attracted a dozen race drivers with state Ladies Standard Saloon champion Jaimi Barber hopping into her Sports Sedan to do battle with Sports Sedan feature winner at Nyora last week Katie Meyer, Benalla woman Bianca Ballantyne, Wangaratta women Janie Patton, Tay Barnard and Leah Orgill other competitors vying for the title of ‘Queen’.

The Colin Young Memorial event is spread across two rounds with Wahgunyah and Rushworth Speedway hosts of a round each. Round one is this Saturday at Wahgunyah with competitors like Robbie Miller, Daniel McCarten, Rhys Collins, Billy O’Donoghue in the field.

Standard Saloon competition will see recent heat race winner at the state title Micheal Fleming – Robertson start amongst the favourites with Jaimi Barber also competing and despite being Ladies state champion, she is a heck of a racer capable of winning against the Lads. Warrick Howie is another in the field from Chiltern and the top pick in the race whilst other Corowa members in the field Rhyse Lavender, Tony Spale, Keith Cattermole, and Scott McAuliffe are all keen for action. Late news came across the desk to confirm that the Victorian champion for the class is also now an entrant.

Future champions of the sport will compete in the Junior Sedans with Connor Lovell, Jordyn Tewkesbury, Tyiren Bailey and Tom Little all representing the Corowa – Rutherglen club with visiting drivers from Wangaratta and Alexandra coming.

The big boys toys come out for action in Unlimited Sedans with the chassis cars with V8s and Turbo V6ers. Corey McDonald has the results on the board however our very own Wayne Eames is Victoria five after the recent state title and keen to impress at home on Saturday. Ashley Booker a open wheel race driver is jumping into Jason Meyers car and another couple of handy steerers in the mix could be Anthony McKean from Gippsland and Tim Williams from Geelong.

After winning the Sports Sedan final at Nyora on Saturday night this past weekend, Katie Meyer will be keen to challenge for another victory in the category on Saturday. Anthony Knight represents Corowa – Rutherglen and is very competitive whilst Matty Chiminello and Jackson Barneveld are two other competitors to possibly hit the finish line in first place.

Gates to the public open from 8am. Racing starts at 1pm. A full canteen operates on site with hot, cold food and drinks. Entry is $25 for adults whilst the club offers aged pensioners and Children aged 12 to 16 a $15 entry. Any child under 12 is free. Family tickets are $60 for 2 adults and 3 children in the 12 to 16 age bracket.

For enquiries you may contact Brendon Eames on 0400126487.

Max Maclean & Co Corowa
Dawsons Haulage
Corowa RSL
Maverick Boats
Upton Engineering
Milthorpe Transport
Cellebrations Wahgunyah
Quantum Printing
Corowa Meats
Corowa Upholstery
Dickens Engineering
Dunkley Panels Corowa
Hartnett Transport
Marshall Batteries
Rod Stones Automotive
Intersales Wodonga
Toyota Material Handling Wodonga
Hi Tec Oils Albury
Albury Truck & Trailer Parts
Border Bearings
Stevos Painting
Federation Steel Supplies
Jackie & Vern Parker
B.B Freight Corowa
Corowa Furnishings and Floors
Best Western Motel Corowa
Rapid Performance & Hydraulics Wodonga
Brocks Welding
Trewe Building & Construction
Billy’s Custom Spray Painting
Crowies Paints
Blue Shed Self Storage
Mobil Corowa

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Janie Patton – Wangaratta 17
Shelby Higginbottom – Daylesford 26
Leah Orgill – Wangaratta 27
Abbi Garlick – Alexandra 63
Bianca Brown – Alexandra 68
Tay Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Katie Meyer – Ballarat 76
Pauline Fell – Wangaratta 79
Richelle Warlond – Daylesford 87
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 88
Chelsea Hodge – Bendigo 95

Tom Schmetzer – Leeton 4
Ben Schmetzer – Leeton 5
Heath Mulavey – Corowa 5
Wade Little – Corowa 8
Robbie Miller – Corowa 18
Michael Poole – Wangaratta 21
Brandon Lovell – Corowa 21
Stu Balins – Corowa 24
Daniel McCarten – Corowa 25
Rhys Collins – Mount Beauty 27
Daniel & Darryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Billy O’Donoghue – Corowa 57
Scott McAuliffe – Corowa 80
Zara Bunt – Corowa 85
Justin Ewart & Chris Brockley – Corowa 88

Rhys Lansdown – Victoria 1
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 7
Warrick Howie – Mount Gambier 11
Tony Spale – Corowa 16
Keith Cattermole – Corowa 17
Micheal Fleming-Robertson – Corowa 18
Scott McAuliffe – Corowa 25

Tyiren Bailey – Corowa 4
Tom Little – Corowa 8
Connor Lovell – Corowa 21
Peyton Edwards-Daly – Nyora 26
Blaize Majok-Edwards – Daylesford 33
Chloe and Brayden Creek – Wangaratta 34
Jordyn Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Kalani Garlick – Alexandra 63

Ashley Booker – Corowa 6
Peter Schmetzer – Leeton 6
James Woods – Wangaratta 9
Corey McDonald – Mount Beauty 27
Tim Williams – Geelong 46
Wayne Eames – Corowa 51
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83

Jake Cottier – Wangaratta 11
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Aaron Field Wangaratta 17
Anthony Knight – Corowa 19
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Katie Meyer – Ballarat 76
Pauline Fell – Wangaratta 79
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 88
Matt Chiminello – Goulburn Valley 92

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist