Australia's defending IndyCar Series champion Will Power has received a $25,000 fine for improper conduct after crashing out of the Fontana race last weekend.
Power pushed a safety official after crashing out following contact from Takuma Sato with nine laps remaining in the wild 250-lap affair.
IndyCar has placed Power on probation for the remainder of the season after contravening Rule 9.3.1 that deals with using improper, profane or disparaging language or gestures in reference to any official.
Power was prompt to offer a personal and public apology to the official immediately after the MAVTV 500.
“I want to apologise to the safety guy,” Power Tweeted.
“I shouldn't have pushed him and I'm sorry for that. I was extremely upset, but I know that's no excuse.
“I also apologised to him in person.”
The race winning Rahal Letterman Lanigan squad was hit with a $10,000 fine after a pit violation when it released Graham Rahal back into the action with the fuel hose still attached to his #15 car.