Come for a smashing good time at Daylesford this weekend

This Saturday and Sunday is a double-header weekend at Daylesford Speedway with action on both days for all club classes and the visiting Crash and Bash co-headlining when they appear on Sunday with the Roz Moynihan Memorial for Daylesford Ladies Sedans across the whole weekend, whilst also during the weekend will be a classic and Hot Rod car display as car owners are encouraged to bring their pride and joy Sunday drivers.

On Sunday the Crash and Bash Association return to Daylesford after some time away from the venue with drivers eager to get a big win in both Open Crash and Bash and Ladies. Open Sedan competitors to keep an eye on include Zac Leeson, Ryan Brown, Ben Lambrick, David Barrie, Brad Warren, Jay Miles, Kev Hughes, Daniel Williams, Alan George, Dinky Parker and Daylesfords own members Leon Argent, Daniel Litten and Jackson Basten.

In the Ladies Crash and Bash field Clare Lynch, Karley King, Kellie Latham, Erin Brown and Marlena Argent all know the strategy well and they will be keen to show some newer drivers who is boss.

What to expect Crash and Bash is a little bit of survival during the heats where some competitors will play nice with each other despite still trying to spin each other out of contention and themselves into the race lead. Once they get to the final though, all niceties are out the window as everybody chases the weekend’s big trophy.

The biggest club event of the weekend is the Ladies Roz Moynihan Memorial with Rickylee Basten the standout racer in the class. Jane Laidler, Rachel Robinson, Ebony Trainor and Marlena Argent in her second category across the weekend, will all try to serve it up to Basten to end the weekend with the honour of Roz Moynihan Memorial winner for experienced and novice Lady racers.

Daylesford Speedway will also host the first ever Victorian Speedway Council 1200cc Junior Sedan event with six entrants nominated for Saturdays racing. Daylesford’s Arthur Hutchinson and Jemma Woods are ready to do battle with Connor and Ty Claridge, Sam Cherry and Riley Taylor for the honour of being the first class winner ever under VSC governance. Hutchinson and Connor Claridge and Sam Cherry are tipped to be vying for the win, however it is a great opportunity here for all to compete with cars with the same engine capacity.

Across the weekend some drivers will attend one of the two days and with that in mind Sunday should be a great day for Street Stocks as Brad McClure and Chris Hay return to battle the current top two club members of the class Des Robinson and Glenn McCoubrie. McClure took the win two weeks ago and had such a great time feeling the love of Daylesford fans; he has decided to come back again. Hay performing strongly in club points and he returns for a third race meeting to try and see if he can stick with Robinson and McCoubrie.

The Daylesford Modifieds will again be great racing with Jaidyn Dredge and Jayden Humphrey both winners this season back to do battle, this time they have last season’s dominant driver Jackson Basten back to contend with.

The Kakoschke boys are back to battle each other with Reece and Bailey expected to be at the front of the field with Jhett Cruize once again. Last time Reece took the final event win, whose it going to be this weekend?

Also Junior Quarter Midgets will be on track for the early birds from around 10am and the Ace of Spades Club of vintage race Hot Rods will be on track once again.

The Classic and Hot Rod car display should also please many with some priceless cars from the past parked up the top end of the venue for people to get close to and have a look at all the love on some terrific machines.

Head to Basin Road Daylesford to watch, general enquiries on 0408 541 873 or 0402 534 711

All adults are $15 to enter, whilst any nominated race driver, Life members & aged pensioners are $10. Children 13 to 17 are $5 each and 12 and under are free, no family ticket at these prices.

If you enter on day one and advise the ticket staff that you are coming for both race days the pricing is $25 for adults, whilst any nominated race driver, Life members & aged pensioners are $15. Children 13 to 17 are $5 each and 12 and under are free, no family ticket at these prices.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Interactive Mobile app.

The venue has catering Coffee van on site, some food providers and a canteen for cold drinks.

Junior Quarter Midget racing starts between 9.30am and 10am, Sedan Racing begins at Midday and the, gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.30 and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 11

Daylesford Speedway Drivers Association thank their supporters
O’Toole Signs Daylesford
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Complete Maintenance Services 4×4 Specialists, Bacchus Marsh
Red Ginger Thai Restaurant – Daylesford
Centre State Asphalting
Dean Miller Photography
KAK Signs
Dirt Track Solutions
Decci Racing
Rhetts Auto’s and Towing

Grant Attewell – 5
Anthony Sgroi – 8
Leon Argent – 11
Zac Leeson – 14
Grant Reynolds – 15
Ryan Brown 82
Brad Warren – 84
Jay Miles – 94
Ben Lambrick – 97
Jackson Basten – 117
Kev Hughes – 126
Andrew Miles – 134
David Barrie – 183
Daniel Williams – 217
Bradley Trainer – 222
Michael Smith – 227
Murray Lewis – 289
Dinky Parker – 721
Daniel Litten – 747
Alan George – 911

Marlena Argent – 11
Erin Brown – 82
Kellie Latham – 84
Dette Miles – 94
Karley King – 97
Rickylee Basten 117
Stephy Grace – 126
Clare Lynch – 721

Marlena Argent – 12
Renah Pollard – 13
Shari McDonell – 26
Kate Daly – 35
Pauline Fell – 56
Rachel Robinson – 63
Chloe Graham – 73
Ebony Trainor – 77
Shelly White – 83
Jane Laidler – 85
Richelle Jenner – 87
Rickylee Basten – 92

Lean Argent – 12
Jaidyn Dredge – 13
Jayden Humphrey – 24
Derek Higginbottom – 26
Ryan Daly – 35
Daniel East – 38
Dale Spinner – 56
Steven Warlond – 87
Jackson Basten – 92
Bradley Trainer – 222
Daniel Litten – 747

Shakiah – Humphrey – 24
Blair Botheras – 27
Bailey Kakoschke – 30
Reece Kakoschke – 31
Blaize Majok – Edwards – 35
Harry Dunn – 43
Jhett Cruize – 85

Brad McClure – 24 (Sunday)
Travis Wilkons – 33
Chris Hay – 42 (Sunday)
Glen McCoubrie – 66
Des Robinson – 63
Stephen Brook – 99 (Sunday)

Tyler Claridge – Swan Hill 6
Connor Claridge – Swan Hill 7
Sam Cherry – Alexandra 14
Riley Taylor – Nyora 25
Jemma Wood – Daylesford 45
Arthur Hutchinson – Daylesford 82

# 6 – Lana O’Neill
#8 – Bob Maloney
#11 – Denis Hocking
#11 – Denis Laidler
#17 – Paul Laidler
#17 – Glen Barnett
#37 – Darren Barnett
#37 – Ian Watson
#66 – Bill O’Neill
#79 – Lucas Chesterfield

NOVICE 120cc
Will Orders – 28
Jayden Curtis – 77

Stuart Hutchinson – 50

OPEN 120cc
Cruz Farrell – 2
Eliza Taylor – 52
Holly Hutchinson – 80

OPEN 160cc
Matilda Farrell – 20
Riley Taylor – 25
Jemma Woods – 45
Arthur Hutchinson – 82

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist