F4 Round Preview: Queensland Raceway

Round three of the 2018 CAMS PAYCE Australian Formula 4 Championship will visit Queensland Raceway, supporting this weekend’s Ipswich SuperSprint as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship line-up.

The round will play host for many Queensland based crews, which include Cameron Shields, Ryan Suhle, Lochie Hughes, Zayd Tones, Jackson Walls, Ardie Jonic and the Patrizicorse team.

Cameron Shields, Team BRM, holds a slender one-point lead over AGI Sport’s Ryan Suhle, with Suhle’s teammate Jayden Ojeda only two points off the lead.

Fifth in the overall classification, CAMS Foundation Rising Star Lochie Hughes holds an eight-point lead over fellow Team BRM racer Zayd Tones in the Burson Auto Parts Rookie of the Year standings.

Ojeda was in sublime form at the previous round at Phillip Island, claiming a clean sweep across qualifying and all three races. Both Ojeda and Shields share Castrol Pole Position honours so far in 2018.

With almost a two-month gap since the Phillip Island round, some Formula 4 drivers took the opportunity to attend the CAMS Academy camp on the Gold Coast. The drivers acquired new skills across physical training, mental preparation and getting to know their fellow racers in a social setting.

Last year’s Queensland round was claimed by the season’s eventual champion Nick Rowe of AGI Sport, with Shields and Suhle joining him on the podium.

The first practice session will commence at 9:25am (AEST) this Friday, with remaining sessions to be televised live on Fox Sports (506).

2018 Statistics

Castrol Pole Positions:
Cameron Shields: Symmons Plains (1)
Jayden Ojeda: Phillip Island (1)

Race Winners:
Jayden Ojeda (3), Cameron Shields (2), Ryan Suhle (1)
AGI Sport (4), Team BRM (2)

Round Winners:
Cameron Shields: Symmons Plains (1)
Jayden Ojeda: Phillip Island (1)

Round Podiums (excl. round wins):
Ryan Suhle: Symmons Plains (2nd), Phillip Island (3rd) – (2)
Aaron Love: Symmons Plains (3rd), Phillip Island (2nd) – (2)

Race Podiums (excl. race wins)
Aaron Love: 5
Cameron Shields: 3
Ryan Suhle: 3
Jayden Ojeda: 1

Previous Winners – Queensland Raceway
Castrol Pole Position: Nick Rowe 1:12.1158 (2017), Harry Hayek 1:13.0853 (2016), Thomas Randle 1:11.2935 (2015)
Race Winners: Harry Hayek (2), Jordan Lloyd (2), Nick Rowe (2), Cameron Shields (1), Will Brown (1), Thomas Randle (1)
Round Winners: Nick Rowe (2017), Harry Hayek (2016), Jordan Lloyd (2015)
Race Lap Record: Thomas Randle (2015): 1:11.7807

Schedule (AEST)

Practice One: Friday 20 July, 9:35am (20 minutes)
Practice Two: Friday 20 July, 1:30pm (20 minutes)
Qualifying: Saturday 21 July, 10:15am (20 minutes)
Race One: Saturday 21 July, 12:50pm (13 Laps)
Race Two: Sunday 22 July, 11:25am (13 Laps)
Race Three: Sunday 22 July, 3:55pm (13 Laps)


Qualifying and all three races will be televised live on Fox Sports 506 as part of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship’s support coverage.

Follow @Formula4AU on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram and YouTube for on-the-ground coverage, including driver interviews throughout the weekend with the hashtag #F4AU.


Friday: Partly cloudy / Min: 6 / Max: 24
Saturday: Mostly sunny / Min: 3 / Max: 21
Sunday: Partly cloudy / Min: 3 / Max: 23

Championship Points

1. Cameron Shields: 104
2. Ryan Suhle: 103
3. Jayden Ojeda: 102
4. Aaron Love: 87
5. Lochie Hughes: 58
6. Zayd Tones: 50
7. Jackson Walls: 36
8. Thomas Smith: 26
9. Josh Smith; 18
10. Antonio Astuti: 17
11. Ardie Jonic: 4

Entry List

#5 Ryan Suhle – AGI Sport – Ray White/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#11 Jackson Walls – Patrizicorse – Objective Racing
#12 Josh Smith – Team BRM – Shamick Racing
#15 Lochie Hughes – Team BRM – TFH Hire/CAMS Foundation Rising Star
#16 Thomas Smith – Team BRM – SCT Logistics
#27 Zayd Tones – Team BRM – AlienTech Center
#31 Jayden Ojeda – AGI Sport – Engine Sensors Australia
#39 Antonio Astuti – Astuti Motorsport
#50 Ardie Jonic – AGI Sport – Jonic Group
#73 Cameron Shields – Team BRM – McDonald’s Australia
#78 Aaron Love – Team BRM – Coco’s

*Information correct at the time of distribution. Check formula4.com.au for rolling coverage across the weekend.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist