Final show of Mid-Western Speedways season ready to go

Following an aborted attempt to get the last show of Mortlake Speedway Club’s season two weekend’s ago, the club is hoping for better luck this Saturday as the fields are locked in for competition in the Hanno Tribute race, in which competitors race in recognition of the late Street Stock competition and Mortlake resident Brendan Hannabury. Also on the program is Super Rod competition honouring Col Grist of the well-known Grist family of Skipton and track championship for Standard Saloons plus those flying Formula 500s.

Street Stock entries for the Hanno Tribute race have been received from some of Victoria’s best drivers including Dean Jenkins, Morris Ahearn, Ricky Throckmorton from Colac, Peter Kinnear, Chris Hay, Troy Hose, Jayden Blomeley, Brad Warren representing the Mortlake club, Adrian Lawrence, and Jenson Wilson. A number of entrants would be a popular winner of the event due to being from the South-West or through association to Brendan prior to his passing. Warren is Mortlake’s sole representative in the race, if he win’s the Terang Pub’s might need more beer.

A terrific Super Rod line-up includes Victorian champion Jacob Pitcher, Jamie May, Allan Pitcher, Neville Gange, Stan Marco Jnr, and Dane Court are all in the field for what will be a terrific battle for the prestigious Col Grist Memorial. Jacob Pitcher is representing his number one status well however through family connections, expect Court and Gange to get up and boogie around the elbow’s up bull ring that is Mid-Western Speedway.

In Standard Saloon action following up from the Gold Helmet feature two weeks ago, Coby McCabe from the Portland club is back to chase the Track Championship prize also. He will have tough competition from Aaron Cormack, Nathan Hutchins, Dean Pedersen, and Bailey Sinclair are just some of the drivers that McCabe will need to hold back if he is to take back-to-back victories.

A small yet competitive field of Formula 500’s have nominated to compete with some great competitors from Warrnambool across to Geelong in the field. Grant Stansfield and Liam Russell are a couple drivers to watch in the adult aged racing on Saturday, Stansfield has raced Sprintcars much of the season and will enjoy a skid in the pint sized pocket rockets. In the Junior category of the class Aston Rodrigues, Rusty Ponting and Hugo Chivell stand out as front runners for their racing.

Gates for competitors open at 8am and to the public at 10am Racing begins at 11:30 with a 4 to 5pm finish planned. No Eftpos on facility, Cash only, No BYO Alcohol and No fires to be lit around the track. Canteen open from 10am.

For general enquiries about the Speedway contact Paul on 0400 565 014

Admission will cost adults 15years and over $20 and aged and disabled pensioners $20, A family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 15 or a Junior driver competing on the night aged 16, costs $45 dollars. Children between the age of 10 to 15 or a Junior competing driver are $10, Children Under the age of ten are free.

Mortlake Speedway Club would like to thank the following for their support.
Brooklyn Car Sales – Wendouree
Mortlake Roadhouse
Camperdown Truck & Ag
Gilberts Truck & Tractor Service – Camperdown
O’Leary Ag Contracting, Camperdown
PWS Fabrications – Geelong
The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool
West Vic Tyres – Mortlake
Olsson Timing Services
Camperdown Auto Pro
Barkley Waste Collections – Colac

Jack Jordan – Swan Hill 4
Dean Jenkins – Redline 4
Morris Ahearn – Nyora 4
Rachel Fox – Redline 5
Ricky Throckmorton – Colac 18
Dylan Wilkinson – Laang 24
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Ash Fox – Geelong 29
Peter Kinnear – Warrnambool 35
Chris Hay – Warrnambool 42
Shaun Jenkins – Redline 49
AJ Lawrence – Alexandra 55
Troy Hose – Laang 57
Jayden Blomeley – Ballarat 62
Brad Warren – Mortlake 84
Jenson Wilson – Colac 88

Jacob Pitcher – Victoria 1
Tim Ackland – Hamilton 7
Jamie May – Warrnambool 8
Allan Pitcher – Avalon 10
Jamie Ackland – Hamilton 11
Adrian Rieck – Avalon 12
Troy Kelly – Warrnambool 27
Jason Poustie – Simpson 48
Peter Duynhoven – Simpson 53
Neville Gange – Laang 56
Sally Woolstencroft – Simpson 66
Stan Marco Snr – Avalon 75
Stan Marco Jnr – Avalon 77
Bailey Pitcher – Avalon 82
Dane Court – Hamilton 96

Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Aaron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Sammy Rundell – Portland 24
Nathan Hutchins – Hamilton 25
Coby McCabe – Portland 39
Greg Hutchins – Hamilton 41
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dean Pedersen – Daylesford 73
Ian Walsh – Ballarat 86
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bailey Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Brad Sheppard – Ballarat 99

Dylan Anton – Queensland 20
Lauren Bowen – Victoria 21
Jack Nolan – Victoria 27
Daniel Burleigh – Victoria 36
Tom Moulden – Victoria 53
Liam Russell – Victoria 55
Grant Stansfield – Victoria 56

Hugo Chivell – Victoria 7
Rusty Ponting – Victoria 20
Aston Rodrigues – Victoria 30
Zac Stevens – Victoria 53
Evie Bell – Victoria 69

Ends Release.

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist