Ladies racing headlines start to Alexandra Speedway season

The Alexandra & District Speedway Club begins it’s new season this coming Saturday night with the Ladies the headline event of the night as they compete in the Queen of the Valley for Open Ladies Sedans with some of Victoria’s best in the field including Gemma Laidlaw, Leeanne Young and Katie Meyer. LADIES RACING HEADLINES START TO ALEXANDRA SPEEDWAY SEASON

All of Alexandra’s club classes will also be on the programme with great numbers in Sports Sedans and New Star Junior competition.The Queen of the Valley is being run for the first time with some great work from the drivers themselves to organise the event, Ally Morrison & Gemma Laidlaw.

Laidlaw is one young lady of a few capable of winning this event. She will need to keep an eye out for Leeanne Young who has multiple state titles to her name racing her Crash and Bash cars, she knows how to win, Sonia Nelson who has been the lead female race driver at Alexandra for some time, Felicity Roycroft who competes nationally amongst tough competition, Sarah Meakins a multiple time Victorian champion also in her Standard Saloon and Katie Meyer after her best season last year finishing well in the Sports Sedan series in Ballarat.

Organisers of the Queen of the Valley would like to thank the following for contributing to the event with awards and prizes.

Bramleigh Estate for their continued support of Ladies competition in Speedway and contributing to the event with naming rights contribution.

Michaela Bowers Photography, Total Autos and Ramsdale Wreckers for supporting prize money in the heat racing and Simmo’s Fibreglass if required.

Campton Graphics for the hard charger, Mallee Pet Supplies supporting first Ford at the finish and Steerpower for the fastest lap through the night. Mental Racerwear for supporting the best presented car, SS AG Services for offering money to the driver whose car cops the most damage, CG Racewear & Apparel for giving up a race suit to the person with the most worn out suit, Ramsdale Wreckers contributing to the biggest tip in, First Holden a Soy Candle and Melt pack by Kayla, Smooth Suspension supporting the hard luck award, Threadworx Custom Embroidery supporting the oldest driver to finish, Highline Racewear supporting the youngest driver to finish and the furthest travelled competitor, Napier Photography supporting last placed racer, G & B Scanlon Photography taking care of the first driver to reture from the night unable to continue, Ferguson Plarre Bakery for providing cakes for podium placegetters and CR Racewear Apparel offering an award for the person who moves forward the most spots in the pole shuffle.

Thank you all!

Sports Sedan racing will see two times state champion Jamie Paull at Alexandra for the first time in a long time. He will be up against Matt Nelson, Steve Kershaw, Dale Smith, Lee Beach, Josh Service, Ricky Cornwall and Matt Stampfli amongst a list of entrants that will make things tough all the way for whomever comes out with the win. Beach recently won the Enduro race at Alexandra and has a tonne of confidence right now.

In the Junior Sedan racing the state governing body Victorian Speedway Council version will see some new names in the line-up. Rhys Meakins will compete against Linken Paterson and Dillon Taylor in this class, they didn’t compete in the class last season. Meakins won the point score for this class and is keen to defend.

The National governing body supported Speedway Sedans Australia Top Star Juniors will see Chloe Sheerman, Bree Simpson and Rhys Meakins competing against Jayden Bryant and Linken Paterson. Just who wins the category is a tough question as it is in the New Stars class where Dylan Barrow, Seth Sloane and River Paterson will compete against a number of second year and first year competitors. Barrows has a few wins under his belt last season, and is the strongest credentialed on paper.

The Standard Saloons will also hit the track with Aaron Meakins and Gary Evans the likely front of the field competitors.
Racing starts from 4pm.

$50 for a family of 2 adults and 3 children between the ages of 10 to 16, $20 per adult and $10 for children aged 10 to 16 and aged and invalid pensioners.
Children under 10 years of age enter for free

Anybody who requires information can contact 0438 700 124

Alexandra Speedway Club is very thankful for the support provided by all these businesses in the 19/20 season:
Alexandra Quality Meats
Auscon Projects
Beach Earthmoving
Bendigo Bank Ringwood East
Blackburn Trailers
Campton’s Graphics
Capital Waste
Donnaz Underground
Eastern Suburbs Locksmiths
Endeavour Petroleum
Exhaust Fix Lilydale
Fallon’s Bus Services
Foodwork’s Alexandra
GYB Civil
Healesville Directional Drilling
Highline Racewear
Lincoln’s Earthmoving
LS Quarry
Metro Tow
Onsite Medical Response
Outer Eastern Steel
Quality Fire Protection
Raslaar Engineering
Revegetation Victoria
Smooth Suspension
S & N Builders
Town & Country Tennis Courts
Tyrepower Alexandra
Vern and Jackie Parker DVD’s and Photos

Jaimi Barber – Corowa 8
Lea Judd – Nyora 25
Gemma Laidlaw – Bairnsdale 26
Stella Paterson – Alexandra 44
Ash Wilson – Nyora 44
Sonia Nelson – Alexandra 61
Kayla Knox – Redline 68
Leanne Young – Nyora 73
Katie Meyer – Ballarat 76
Sarah Meakins – Alexandra 82
Felicity Roycroft – Goulburn Valley 82
Courtney Meakins – Alexandra 84

Jamie Paull – Nyora/Victoria 1
Matt Stampfli – Alexandra 5
Steve Akil – Alexandra 8
Ricky Cornwall – Alexandra 15
Jayde Aarts – Nyora 25
Gemma Laidlaw – Bairnsdale 26
Peter Eastham – Alexandra 39
Alan Kruger – Alexandra 44
Steve Kershaw – Alexandra 52
Matt Nelson – Alexandra 61
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Dale Smith – Alexandra 64
Jackson Barneveld – Alexandra 68
Danny Eastham – Alexandra 74
Josh Service – Alexandra 84
Lee Beach – Alexandra 88
Harry Orme – Alexandra 99

Trevor Kuhne/Emily Porter – Alexandra 17
Corey Attard – Alexandra 15
Mark Borkowski – Drouin 17
Stephen Douglas – Nyora 44
Gary Evans – Wangaratta 62
Aaron Meakins – Alexandra 82
Hayden Glare – Swan Hill 99

Dillon Taylor – Alexandra 4
Lockhlan Glare – Swan Hill 11
Abbi Garlick – Alexandra 63
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 82
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 84

Bree Simpson – Alexandra 10
Chloe Sheerman – Alexandra 11
Linken Paterson – Alexandra 48
Jayden Bryant – Alexandra 49
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 85

Braiden Webster – Alexandra 5 (Rookie)
Rye Orme – Alexandra 9
Dylan Barrow – Alexandra 18
Tamika Simpson – Alexandra 23 (Rookie)
Toby Parks – Alexandra 43
River Paterson – Alexandra 47
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51 (Rookie)
James & Christine Oliver – Alexandra 62 (Rookie)
Maddy Capon – Alexandra 66
Will Fallon – Alexandra 77
Seth Sloane – Alexandra 92

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist