Rushworth Speedway season concludes, rain curtails final night

With some potentially classic feature race events set up during the qualifying racing, Rushworth Speedway had to declare race winners on qualifying points after rain intervened to close down the night. Janelle Saville was declared the Ironbark Classic winner whilst Goulburn Valleys Louis Rodriguez won the visiting Compact Speedcar final.RUSHWORTH SPEEDWAY SEASON CONCLUDES, RAIN CURTAILS FINAL NIGHT

Janelle Saville from Goulburn in New South Wales was the top point scorer after heat races and declared the event winner when the rain intervened, whilst Chris Fowler from Geelong was crowned the Ballistic Performance Parts Masters Series winner having done enough to hold the series lead after the heat races were finished.

Speedway legend of Compact Speedcars and Grand Prix Midgets Danny Stainer retired from racing on this night and had hoped to come away with the win, it was not to be as Stainer from Benalla, will be forever remembered for his racing achievements with multiple national and state title victories. Saville won two of her three heat races on her way to a victory for the night with Stainer and Perry who both won heats taking second and third whilst just four points separated Chris Fowler from Travis Florrimell in the Grand Prix Midget series points by the time the night was done, Fowler became a first time winner of the series.

Despite not setting the fastest laps on track, Louis Rodriguez won both races in the Compact Speedcars and took the overall win ahead of a joint second place to Butch Hutchinson and Tania Hallett with Jack Day third, Mark Hutchinson and Brad Day rounded out the top five.

Last time Rushworth seen Lachie Fitzpatrick and Tristan McGraw they were both in the Goulburn Valley Auto Club’s Junior Sedan class, they returned from campaigning around Victoria’s North East and Murrindindi Shire race venues to compete as men, in the Open Saloon class with tough competition from Adam Box ahead of them.

McGraw started the day superbly with a win in heat one ahead of Fitzpatrick and Phil Lamb the club champion from last season, the margin just .469 of a second. Box then defeated Jay Nicolaisen by a similar margin in the second heat before Nicolaisen won the third by less than a second, Fitzpatrick second across the line again. Box then won heat four, Garry Gapes heat five and Fitzpatrick the final heat in front of Box with Box taking out the overall by eight points ahead of Fitzpatrick, Nicolaisen, Gapes and McGraw.

After two wins in a row from Mark Cecil, Leigh Jeffery decided enough was enough and he returned to the top of the list after securing wins in heat one and two in front of Ian Wilson and a second in the third heat behind Troy Britton to claim honours in the Production Sedans for the final night. Britton finished second with Wilson third, Geoff Lee and Leigh Hammond rounding out the top five.

In the Ladies Saloons a victory that was on the cars in recent weeks as Chloe Lamb was challenged by her competitors, was secured by Belinda Chalcraft who was the most consistent on the night. Chalcraft took a win in the first heat leading all the way, before Chloe Lamb won the second heat, the real battle in this one was between Felicity Roycroft and Chalcraft who changed places in second and third numerous times before Lamb took the win from Roycroft and Chalcraft. Roycroft then won the final heat race with all three of them, decided by less than a second in the closest racing all night.

Chalcraft topped the points by just six, to defeat Chloe Lamb, Roycroft, Kelly Lamb and Leeanne Hodge.

Wrapping up all the results, Daniel Smith went back to back with Junior Sedan victories having won two weeks ago. Smith was too good for Bradin Claridge, Luke Cecil, Josh Cecil and Keiden Britton with a non finish in heat two costing Josh Cecil the overall.

With the season over for the Goulburn Valley Auto Club attention now is on the upcoming presentation night and annual general meeting as club committee sets its sights on the next season starting from October.

The Goulburn Valley Auto Club would like to thank the following supporters:
Super Balance Automotive –Shepparton
Mota Care Auto Service Centre – East Bendigo
WG Panels – Rochester
Kyabram Motor Wreckers – Kyabram
The Rushworth Hotel – Rushworth
Autobarn Shepparton
Aerodrome Automotive – Kialla
Marty Turpin Mechanical – Tatura
Ipta Fibreglass – Geelong
Ross Adams Cartage Contractor – Rochester
Rushworth Bakery – Rushworth
Maxam Printing – Shepparton
Pearce Concrete – Golden Square
Superior Concrete & Construction – Bendigo
A1 Water Supplies – Tatura
McKellars Freight Services – Bendigo
Grime 2 Shine Auto Detailing – Bendigo
Bendigo Specialists Brake & Clutch

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist