Season closing memorial day for Daylesford Drivers Association this Sunday

This Sunday Daylesford Drivers Association will be back at their much-appreciated home at Darlington’s Mid-Western Speedway to close out their season. The race day schedule is packed with the Balshaw Memorial for the Daylesford Modifieds and the Roz Moynihan Memorial for Daylesford Ladies Sedans the two feature events with the Junior 1200cc Sedan New Stars Cup a Ladies Novice race and Mechanics race other highlights of the day’s racing.

Honouring Ken Balshaw will be the Daylesford Modifieds, the Balshaw story is one of being a racer right across Victoria before stopping to raise a family. Balshaw continued to frequent Daylesford Speedway meetings year after year before passing on. The Balshaw family see the memorial event as a way to bring the shine and focus on the competitors rather than themselves, whilst still honouring Ken and continue to contribute and participate in the event.

Ballarat man Daniel Carter has been Daylesford’s most dominant Modified racer this season and is on paper, the favourite for this Sunday’s Balshaw Memorial. Young racer Bailey Kakoschke has developed quickly racing in the Victorian Speedway Council Sports Sedan class racing around Victoria and could well be a threat to Carter. Graham Smith, Ryan Daly, Ian Bartlett, and Steven Warlond are other fierce competitors in this Sunday’s race.

A great field of Street Stocks include Jack Jordan, Ash Fox, Chris Hay, Des Robinson, Glenn McCoubrie, and Tim Hutchinson. They will battle for podium and possibly victory placings. Hutchinson is the star of the field whilst Chris Hay is the defending club champion for the class and Des Robinson and Glenn McCoubrie are popular veterans that are always in the mix.

Daylesford Junior Sedan competitors include Blaize Majok-Edwards, his sister Peyton Edwards-Daly and Noah Basten, they are all improving each and every time they hit the racetrack and are sure to generate very spirited racing.

Competing in the Roz Moynihan Memorial who started her association with Daylesford Drivers Association in 1992 after having a race in a Mechanics race. She was a role model and an inspiration for women in the Daylesford community and was recognised officially as such, whilst at Daylesford Speedway, she was a role model for everybody. The Daylesford Ladies Sedan racers each season compete for a memorial victory in her honour whilst Daylesford also hold a Ladies novice race to encourage new Ladies to get behind the wheel and find that bug, just like Roz did.

Ellen Vagg a fierce competitor from the nearby south west area, Sarah Gartner who recently won at a Daylesford event, Charmaine Bryans, and Richelle Warlond are just some of the Ladies to watch in the Roz Moynihan Memorial for our experienced drivers whilst in the Ladies novice, the beauty of it all is we are not sure of who will be the front running competitors, as they are novices.

Austin Chivers, Joel McInnes, Luke King, Arron Cormack, Patrick Walsh, Dean Pedersen, Aaron Meakins, Jacob Head, Lachie Chivers, Rick Stowe, and Bailey Sinclair are some of the Standard Saloon racers to keep an eye on. Some of the competitors will race the day before in a Mortlake feature whilst Meakins will come in fresh on Sunday to compete. Austin Chivers is looking to back up after his victory four weeks ago whilst Walsh would like to claim that top spot after finishing second. There is more than one serious contender in this Sunday’s race.

The Junior 1200cc Sedans will compete for the New Stars Cup for some of the newer drivers in the class. Dayne Murdoch finished fifth at Swan Hill three weeks ago, Holly Hutchinson fourth at the same meeting, they are all developing strongly and look to be the front runners on Sunday whilst Eliza Taylor will relish the opportunity for more racing laps as she continues to get used to Sedan racing. Rebecca Johnstone from the Wimmera and Toby Cook from the South-West are also keen to continue their development and perhaps have a breakout moment.

Daylesford’s Mechanics race has attracted some competitors that have experience and may not have raced much or raced for a while, Gary Kakoschke and Gary Vagg are a couple competitors fans will enjoy seeing on the track again.

For this Sunday’s event the Daylesford Drivers Association wish to make special mention of the support from;
– The Balshaw family
– Turbo Racing 87
– Baynd Mayhem Racing

The Canteen and some terrific vendors at the club will be operational Sunday.

General enquiries on 0408 5439 694 or 0449 107 863

Entry for anybody 15 years of age and over $20 to enter, this includes Disabled and aged pensioners. Children 10 to 15 or a competing Junior racer are $10 each and ten and under are free, $45 for a family ticket of two adults and two children under the age of 15 or a Junior competing on race day under the age of 16. There is no Eftpos at the venue, Cash only to enter and BYO alcohol is not permitted. There is a canteen on site with some breakfast from 10am.

Follow the Daylesford Speedway Club website and Daylesford Speedway Facebook page.

Racing begins at 11.30am and the gates open early from 8am with competitors due at the track by 10.00am and pit gates shut to racing entrants by 10.30.

Daylesford Drivers Association trading as Daylesford Speedway would like to thank the following supporters:

Major Sponsors
Rusty Cars Downunder
Brooklyn Car Sales – Ballarat
J Tow

O’Toole Signs – Daylesford
Howe Automotive – Daylesford
Complete Maintenance Services 4 x 4
Dean Miller Photography
Decci Racing
Ballarat Rednecks 4 x 4
Bearcat Tyres – Laverton
Hutchinson Towing
Rhett’s Auto’s and Towing
Courtot & Co Automotive
G.B Fasteners – Ballarat
Kilmore Towing & Transport
The Royal Hotel Bacchus Marsh

Nominations below
Bailey Kakoschke – 1
Graham Smith – 15
Derek Higginbottom – 26
Ryan Daly – 33
Ian Bartlett – 34
Wade Justice – 63
Dan Carter – 73
Steven Warlond – 87

Jack Jordan – 4SH
Ashley Fox – 29G
David Clark – 36
Chris Hay – 42W
Des Robinson – 63
Glenn McCoubrie – 66
Rick Vosper – 76
Tim Hutchinson – 88D
Anthony Bull – 88DDA

Blaize Majok Edwards – 33
Peyton Edwards Daly – 35
Noah Basten – 92

Ellen Vagg – 12S
Sarah Gartner – 16N
Shelby Higginbottom – 26
Charmaine Bryans – 26NY
Vicky Alford – 35
Richalle Warlond – 87
Hayley Walker – 97

Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Joel McInnes – Colac 14
Luke King – Nyora 16
Austin Chivers – Ballarat 19
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Charmaine Bryans – Nyora 26
Zac Barwise – Colac 32
Josh Cormack – Bairnsdale 66
Patrick Walsh – Ballarat 68
Dean Pederson – Daylesford 73
Lachie Chivers – Ballarat 79
Aaron Meakins – Daylesford 82
Jacob Head – Ballarat 95
Bayley Sinclair – Ballarat 96
Rick Stowe – Ballarat 97

Rebecca Johnstone – Horsham 7
Dayne Murdoch – Alexandra 22
Eliza Taylor – Daylesford 52
Holly Hutchinson – Daylesford 80
Toby Cook – Laang 95

DDA1 Reece/Gary Kakoschke – 1
Gary Vagg – 12S
Bobby Barker – 14C
TBC – 26N
TBC – Daylesford 33
TBC – Daylesford 35
Sean Webb – Daylesford 76
Luke Head – 95B
Daniel Walker – Daylesford 97

Riki Vagg – 12S
Annette Bryans – 26N
Shantel Singleton – 33
TBC – Daylesford 35
Kerry Graham – 73DDA
Donna Stowe – 97

Ends Release.

Media written by Speedcafe contributor DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist