Smith wins big on Redlines opening show

The first night of Redline Raceway’s season is in the books with a great night for family to sit back and enjoy motorsport in the Ballarat region and just forget about the worlds struggles for a few hours. An important feature event for Sports Sedan’s headlined the show with Dale Smith winning the Sports Sedan Masters whilst other wins were claimed by Scott Whittle, Jason Degoldi, Carter Metcalfe, and Jacob Tinworth.

Eighteen competitors signed in for the Sports Sedan Masters feature night with Corey Knox a leader for some time against a tough field of runners from Melbourne’s east and local Ballarat racer Zac Swanson. Mechanical breakdown for the machine of Knox put him out of the running with Dale Smith going on to take over the race on his way to a big win. Smith defeated Josh Service, Swanson, Tristan McGraw, and rookie driver from Ballarat Paul Blake.

Scott Whittle the Victorian champion in Standard Saloons did not lose a race all night, his two heat races and then the Standard Saloon final painted ominous signs for the upcoming 2020/21 state title on Labour Day Weekend. Behind him good friend Craig Templeton and Matthew Domburg battled for second and third whilst Whittle maintained the front running spot. Whittle over fifteen laps was too good for Domburg, Templeton, Aaron Marshall, and his very own employee Mark Seller.

Club Champion Street Stock driver Jason Degoldi qualified front position for the final with Dean Jenkins, Aaron White, Scott Secombe, Karen Ferguson, and Shaun Jenkins lined up to chase. In a race of attrition where several incidents and attempted restarts messed with momentum, Degoldi won from Dean Jenkins, Secombe, White and Jamie Crutchley.

In the racing for the future stars of the sport in their up to 1500cc Junior Sedans Carter Metcalfe from Mildura took the feature race win in the Top Stars category. Metcalfe led all the way to secure victory over Linken Paterson a recent Avalon Raceway winner, Luke Cornfoot, Bailey Rumler from Ballarat, and River Paterson.

From lap two in the New Starts category, Jacob Tinworth moved into the lead on lap two of ten to go on to beat Christina Oliver by almost five seconds with Maddy Capon, James Oliver, and Tamika Simpson. Tinworth locked in a new twelve lap record as he won the final.

Redline Raceway will be back on March the 13th for the Victorian Modified Sedan state Title with support from the Street Stocks, AMCA’s and Standard Saloons.

Belmont Speedway Drivers Club is proudly supported by;
Duo Mobile
IPTA Fibreglass
Steve Forte Metal Fabrication
DMT Sports Media
Startech Windows
United Forklift & Access Solutions
Norman Street Automotive
Mobile Sandblasting & Painting Services
UBC Web Design
PP Designs & Signs
Bulleen Towing
Dean Miller Photography
Rock Solid Productions
Crowies Paints
Power FM
Bitu-Mill Landscapes

Ends Release.

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist