Title season gets underway at Wangaratta, Goulburn Ovens Sedans up first

This Saturday night Wangaratta City Raceway swings into action once again with a huge show of racing with the evenings racing which will include the Goulburn Ovens Sedans Victorian title, Bob Bailey Memorial for Production Sedans, and Wangaratta Cup for Grand Prix Midgets along with support class action.

Goulburn Ovens Sedans competition has field of over twenty entrants with most of the fancied racers Northeast Victoria and Riverina based drivers. Peter Little the winner recently at Wangaratta, Wayne O’Keefe, Daniel McCarten, Rhys Collins, Justin Brockley, Nathan Shortis, and Robert Garlick are just some of the names to keep an eye on come race day. Shortis a Wangaratta club member has high hopes on securing the number one plate on behalf of the host club.

Production Sedans compete for the prestigious Bob Bailey Memorial in honour of a former state champion of the class Bob Bailey who was also a former Corowa -Rutherglen club President. More than half the field had met or raced against Bob until his passing and for the Mills family and Rodney Anderson in particular, the event means so very much to win, the Mills family have won six times so far.

Trevor Mills will be trying to win for a fifth time and his son Jacob for his third, whilst Wangaratta member and former national champion Chris Lack is trying for a second victory in the event. Scott Hawkins of Leeton, Danny Harrison of Leeton, Stephen Laidlaw of Gippsland, and Wangaratta’s Brendan Harper are other competitors to keep an eye on in the event.

Wangaratta members and New South Wales title podium finishers Shawn (First) and his son Jack (Third) Ward lead nominations for the annual Wangaratta Cup for Grand Prix Midgets who will dazzle as our open wheel feature class on Saturday night. Janelle Saville from Goulburn NSW and winner a week ago in Geelong, is the favourite based on recent results whilst the likes of Gary Bowyer from Sydney, Alex Myers from Shepparton, Chris Fowler, Ashley Booker, and Terry Brown from the Goulburn Valley are some others in the mix.

In other action on Saturday night Felicity Roycroft Wangaratta’s lead Sports Sedan driver last season and current Victorian state series leader heads nominations in their racing. She will need to beat Craig Cottier, Dennis Reid, Rhys Meakins, and Jaimi Barber amongst her competitors.

Standard Saloon racing will see Trevor Evans who won recently at Swan Hill resume battle with Aaron Meakins who finished second to him at that meeting resume their battle. This time in the mix will be Josh Delarue, Courtney Meakins and Steven and Alan Danks to make things a little tougher.

Ladies Open Sedan competition will see Jaimi Barber in action again and this time battling the likes of Belinda Nicolaisen, Felicity Roycroft the clubs Ladies champion, Sarah Meakins, and Lisa Chalcraft. Whilst Roycroft continues to win in this class on most occasions, the field represents the strongest line-up for a while showing how healthy Ladies competition is.

Recent Junior Sedan winner at Swan Hill Connor Claridge leads the nominations in the Junior racing this weekend. Marcus Maclean, Riley Balins, Jack Randall, Jordan Tewkesbury, and Hunter Carey will all be trying to take the ‘w’; ahead of him in another talented line-up.

Entry Fee to enjoy the racing is $25 per adult, $20 for Aged and Disabled Concession, $10 for Kids aged six through to sixteen, children under six free and a family ticket is $60 for two adults and three kids over the age of six.

The gates to the public open from 2pm and racing begins from 5pm.
Public enquiries can be made to 0458 889 974

On site canteen and bar facilities and strictly no BYO

SPONSOR RECOGNITION FOR Wangaratta Speedway Club
A1 Tyre Service
Aerodrome Automotive
Alpine Truss
Alpine Drilling
Burson’s Auto Parts
Cashiee Wangaratta
Country Concrete
Creative Designs
Edge FM
Fallon’s Bus Service
Grimshaw Sign
Jabek Transport
Jim Snowdon
Kore Concreting
Keam Fertiliser
Mundie Automotive
McDonald’s Wangaratta
McGregor Machinery
North East Fasteners
O’Loughlin Contractor’s
Robinson Truck Repairs
Rouse Transport
Solimo Towing
Snap on Albury
Vic Solimo
Tuff Tyres
Tailor Made Kitchens
Thomo’s Cash 4 Scrap
Toil and Soil
Ussher Plumbing and Contracting
Wangaratta Spring Works
Waw Credit Union
Wangaratta Club
Wangaratta Radiators
Wangaratta Brake and Clutch
Wangaratta Mazda
Wangaratta Offroad & Mechanical

Tommy Schmetzer – Leeton 4
Ben Schmetzer – Leeton 5
Wayde Little – Corowa 8
Peter Little – Corowa 9
Wayne O’Keefe – Leeton 15
Brendon Eames – Corowa 16
Robert Miller – Corowa 18
Brandan Lovell – Corowa 21
Stuart Balins – Corowa 22
Daniel McCarten – Corowa 25
Rhys Collins – Mount Beauty 27
Justin Brockley – Corowa 52
Nathan Shortis – Wangaratta 55
Billy O’Donoghue – Corowa 57
Robert Garlick – Alexandra 63
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Steven McDonald – Leeton 72
Rhys Lansdown – Corowa 85
Kenneth Mankey – Wangaratta 88
Justin Evert – Corowa 88
Steven Davey – Corowa 94
Michael Sayers – Wangaratta 96

Chris Lack – Wangaratta 4
Scott Hawkins – Leeton 5
Trevor Mills – Gilgandra 10
Jacob Mills – Nyora 12
Chris Fitzgerald – Wangaratta 14
Leighton Evans – Wangaratta 15
Rodney Anderson – Wagga 17
Jack Bear – Corowa 19
Danny Harrison – Leeton 24
Wayne Bourke – Leeton 27
Steven Laidlaw – Rosedale 30
Sean Alessi – ACT 37
Brett Norman – Wagga 45
Brendan Harper – Wangaratta 58
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 65
Tom Barnard – Wangaratta 69
Kenneth Mankey – Wangaratta 88

Janelle Saville – NSW 2
Jack Ward – NSW 3 / Vic 4
Matt Kamolins – Victoria 5
Gary Bowyer – NSW 5
Alex Myers – Victoria 11
Chris Fowler – Victoria 13
David Bacon – Victoria 36
Shawn Ward – NSW 1 / Vic 44
Ashley Booker – Victoria 50
Adam Buckley – NSW 67
Travis Florrimell – Victoria 81
Terry Brown – Victoria 88

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Marc Hanson – Bendigo 19
Chris Aarts – Nyora 29
Travis Thorne – Nagambie,30
Craig Cottier – Wangaratta 34
Daryl Joosten – Corowa 46
Dennis Reid – Alexandra 54
Heath McCashney – Alexandra 55
James or kelvin Guppy – Wangaratta 66
Rhys Meakins – Alexandra 84
Garry Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Leigh Mitchell – Rosedale 87

Josh Delarue – Wangaratta 5
Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 8
Aaron Meakins – Alexandra 17
Scott McAuliffe – Corowa 25
Trevor Evans – Wangaratta 67
Courtney Meakins – Alexandra 84
Steven Danks – Rosedale 96
Alan Danks – Rosedale 97

Jaimi Barber – Wangaratta 12
Belinda Nicolaisen – Wangaratta 15
Janie Patton – Wangaratta 17
Tanisha Robinson – Nagambie 30
Felicity Roycroft – Wangaratta 82
Nicole Gapes – Goulburn Valley 84
Zara Bunt – Corowa 85
Sarah Meakins – Alexandra 85
Bianca Ballantyne – Wangaratta 88
Lisa Chalcraft – Goulburn Valley 97

Tyiren Bailey – Corowa 4
Cooper Lack – Wangaratta 4
Connor Claridge – Goulburn Valley 6
Marcus Maclean – Corowa 7
Anthony Hanson – Bendigo 19
Connor Lovell – Corowa 21
Riley Balins – Wangaratta 21
Jasmine Kettles – Nagambie 49
Jack Randall – Alexandra 51
Jordan Tewkesbury – Corowa 53
Brody McCarten – Corowa 63
Kalani Garlick – Alexandra 63
Mia Lamb – Goulburn Valley 77
Macca Bunt – Corowa 85
Hunter Carey – Drouin 95

Ends Release.

Written Media by DMT Sports Media – Dean Thompson

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist