Triple Crown opener to Isaacs

Drivers were eager to take to the track at Tamworth’s Oakburn Park Speedway last Saturday night as the opening round of the Wide Open Promotions Microsprints Triple Crown Series got underway, and it was Mitch Isaacs who put his best foot forward to claim the first of the three round victories on offer. Triple Crown Opener to Isaacs

While the 20-lap feature race was almost a whitewash by the Isaacs clan, with Mitch’s two sons Jackson and Lachlan also coming home inside the top four, pole-sitter Les Nelson managed to hold on to claim the second podium place, after falling victim to the eventual winner in the opening round.

Getting the edge over his brother, Jackson Isaacs greeted the chequered flag in third place to join his dad on the podium, with Lachlan Isaacs putting in a solid performance to come away with a fourth-place result after starting seventh.

Ernie Havas was the next to cross the finish line to round out the top five, followed by Queenslander Andrew Carrick, who improved significantly after starting out of position 11, earning the Concept Paints Hard Charger award as a result and also picking up a right-rear tyre thanks to Hoosier Tire Australia.

Completing the feature-race finishers were Peter Challen, Jason Summers and Darron Holstein.

Unable to record a lap, Kierah Hawkins’ night was brought to a premature end, while Jason Glynn (Qld) and Andrew Baker were also unable to start the feature race.

Earlier in the night, Nelson was dominant in the heat races, winning two of the three races to earn the pole position start for the feature race, while Mitch Isaacs claimed the other.

Earning the Joel Engineering Quick Time Award with a 17.466 second lap during the feature race was Nelson, with the Nepean Hydraulics Hard Luck Award being given to Baker. The lucky winner of the Rite Price Tyres door prize was Havas.

With an extended break following the opening Wide Open Promotions Microsprints Triple Crown Series round, drivers will return to the track in 2020 to contest round two at Gunnedah Speedway on February 8, following by the third and final round at Grafton Speedway on March 7.

NSW Microsprints would like to thank the following Triple Crown Series sponsors:
Wide Open Promotions
Hoosier Tires Australia
Concept Paints
Nepean Hydraulics
Racks N Tracks
Joel Engineering
Mr Filter
A.T.E Race Engines
Generators Australia
Carburettor & EFI Services
Hire a Hubby Property Maintenance
Clinical Sports Hypnosis
Mini School of Driving
Rite Price Tyres
Coastal Driveline Specialist
Weller Motorsport
C&A Mobile Sound Communications
Two Wheel Obsession
Sketchy Graphix

Thanks also to the Triple Crown Series prize sponsors:
Hoosier Tires Australia
Racks N Tracks
Lethal Race Wings
Powerplus Racing Fuels
Pass Powder Coating
Ian Boettcher Race Parts
Uni Filter Australia

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist