AORC 2017 Championship Battle for the Ages

pic: John Pearson Media

The final round of the 2017 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) concluded today in fine style in the township of Omeo. After Daniel Milner and Wil Ruprecht took their respective championship titles yesterday, there was plenty of interest to see who would the titles for extremely tight E3 and EJ classes. The format for today’s race would be an extremely fast Sprint Race consisting of five laps, the riders with the fastest accumulated times won the races. Riders who rose to the top and claimed wins included; Simpson, Milner, Snodgrass and Tomlinson.

The highlight of the day was the crowning of new champions Lyndon Snodgrass (E3) and Michael Driscoll (EJ). With both championships in such tight points proximity both riders were relieved to get the titles!


It was a day to remember for KTM rider Jack ‘Simmering’ Simpson, as he snatched the victory from Scott Keegan of the Snap Fitness Yamaha Team. Simpson was a rider possessed today and won by a convincing 43 seconds. Simpson was fastest from the very first test and it was clear that it would be his day from the ‘get go’. Scott Keegan improved on his position from yesterday to finish in second position. Despite missing out on the E1 title this year, Keegan can be resolute in the fact that he sowed up second in the standings after a very successful year. Mainstay Brad Hardaker on his Yamaha put in yet another impressive ride to finish third. Podium placer Hardaker took 43:48.329 to complete all the tests and finished close to 18 seconds behind Keegan. Recent title winner Wil Ruprecht of the Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team, finished just off the podium in fourth.

Championship Positions

1. Wil Ruprecht – 232
2. Scott Keegan – 198
3. Jack Simpson – 178


Daniel Milner achieved the coveted clean sweep of the entire AORC season today. Every race has been won by Milner in 2017 and the victory cements his season amongst one the best in the Championship’s history. Milner took 41:08.977 to finish off the year in style. In second position was Active8 Yamaha Yamalube’s Josh Green. After running out of fuel in the late stages of yesterday’s Cross Country race, Green will be pleased to have returned to the podium on Sunday. Green finished close to a minute behind Milner with a 42:07.555. Riley Graham on his Yamaha was the final podium place getter. South Australian Graham, finished a further 26 seconds off Green with a 42:34.515.

Championship Positions

1. Daniel Milner – 250
2. Riley Graham – 201
3. Josh Green – 194


The E3 heavyweight battle really came to a head between KTM Enduro Team’s Lyndon Snodgrass and Husqvarna Enduro Team‘s Lachy Stanford. In the end it would be Snodgrass to rise to the occasion and win the coveted E3 title! After taking the win yesterday, Snodgrass put the pressure on Stanford and it was clear the KTM rider was in the ‘zone’. After amassing a lead up to 140 seconds, Snodgrass was simply too strong on the day with his time of 41:59.693. After such a brilliant season, it was a tough way to lose the championship but Stanford came devastatingly close. Stanford took 44:20.214 to finish the race. The final podium placer was Jesse Lawton. Lawton with his time of 44:42.149, finished 22 seconds behind Stanford.

Snodgrass shared; “I’m very happy to achieve that E3 title! It’s been such a fantastic weekend for the KTM Enduro Team with Milner clinching the E2 championship yesterday and now E3 today. I managed to adapt to the tracks fairly quickly and despite the wet weather and windy conditions, I didn’t let it affect my performance. It’s been such a great and close battle with Lachy (Stanford) all year.”

Championship Positions:

1. Lyndon Snodgrass – 235 (Equal on count back with decision made on winner of last race)
2. Lachy Stanford – 235
3. Tom Mason – 196

Transmoto EJ

All eyes were on Yamaha rider Michael Driscoll and Husqvarna equipped Fraser Higlett to see who would win the Transmoto EJ championship. With a win yesterday and a second place on Sunday, it indeed was Driscoll to claim the title with a time of 43:19.624! With his first full year out of racing Motocross, Driscoll has blown away all expectations to impress everyone in the paddock. Nic Tomlinson took his first victory of the season for the Under 19’s Transmoto EJ class on his Yamaha machine, his total sprint time of 42:41.856. Tomlinson who has been very strong this weekend built a cap to second place getter, Driscoll to 38 seconds. Title contender Fraser Higlett finished the podium places for EJ, he finished close to a minute behind Driscoll after recording a 43:53.910.

“I couldn’t be any happier to win the EJ title today. The battle with Fraser (Higlett) has been back and forth all year and the nerves were certainly there before the final race. I didn’t let it affect me too much and I managed the second place to get the title! I would like to thank my sponsors, Family and Yamaha for all their support.”

Championship Positions:

1. Michael Driscoll – 230
2. Fraser Higlett – 227
3. Nic Tomlinson – 201

E1 Provisional Results

1. Jack Simpson – 42:46.960
2. Scott Keegan (Snap Fitness Yamaha Team) – 43:30.505
2. Brad Hardaker – 43:48.329
4. Wil Ruprecht (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team) – 44:00.752
5. Baylee Davies – 44:54.489
6. Bayley Burt – 47:18.878
7. Matthew Zygarlicki 48:42.305
8. Simon Boyd – 49:57.323
9. Brad Snell – 51:32.366

E2 Provisional Results

1. Daniel Milner (KTM Enduro Team) – 41:08.977
2. Josh Green (Active8 Yamaha Yamalube Racing Team) – 42:07.555
3. Riley Graham 42:34.515
4. Andrew Wilksch – (DSR Motul Pirelli Sherco Off-Road Team) – 43:50.433
5. Stefan Granquist – 44:22.226
6. Mitch Harper – 44:38.176
7. Jamie Robins – 44:42.610
8. Trent Tucci – 46:10.823
9. Stuart Holt – 4625.490
10. Danny Bray – 47:28.957

E3 Provisional Results

1. Lyndon Snodgrass (KTM Enduro Team) – 41:59.693
2. Lachlan Stanford (Husqvarna Enduro Team) – 44:20.214
3. Jesse Lawton – 44:42.149
4. Tom Mason – 45:37.722
5. Anthony Venn – 46:07.862
6. Josh Major – 47:15.238
7. Jack Matthews – 47:53.561

Transmoto EJ Provisional Results

1. Nic Tomlinson – 42:41.856
2. Michael Driscoll – 43:19.624
3. Fraser Higlett – 43:53.910
4. Ben Kearns – 44:10.284
5. Dalton Johnson – 45:06.272
6. Jacob Peacock – 46:51.063
7. Lachlan Allan – 47:00.805
8. Harrison Tetley – 47:08.292
9. William Price – 47:49.792
10. Patrick McGillvray – 48:34.401

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist