Aus Championship podium locked in

Following the compulsory post-race engine checks that took place after the 2019 Australian Wingless Sprint Championship at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway late last month, the top-three podium getters have now been made official.

Aus Championship Podium Locked In
Photo: 44 Photography

As is standard procedure for an Australian Championship, the top-three drivers must undergo a mandatory engine inspection at the completion of the event, in order to confirm that their engine is in compliance with the rules and regulations of the Wingless Sprints class.

With each of the three drivers now having had their engines cleared, the all-Victorian podium has been confirmed, with Australian Championship winner Alex Ross being joined by Luke Weel and Dayn Bentvelzen in second and third place respectively.

“It’s great to see that all drivers have successfully passed their engine checks and cemented their Australian Championship results,” stated Australian Wingless Sprint Racing President Mick Parry.

“This season’s running of the event was a huge success in all facets, from the record number of participating drivers, to the exceptional racing that was on display throughout the weekend.

“The fact that any number of drivers could challenge for the win is a real testament to the class and how competitive it is, which is in no small part why our numbers continue to grow. We’re already looking forward to next season’s Australian Championship, which will no doubt be equally as entertaining.”

For further AWSR information, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

Photo: 44 Photography

Related Articles

Platinum Partners

Official Partners

Latest News

Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist