Big show at Bairnsdale Speedway this coming Saturday night

This Saturday night at Bairnsdale Speedway is a show you must see, so get in the line-up early to guarantee a spot, then sit back and enjoy the Victorian Title for the Unlimited Sedan race category, a feature event for Sprintcars and the local Limited Sportsman class along with a long list of Latrobe Valley and East Gippsland drivers in Standard Saloons and Division 2 Hot Rods, for a top night’s entertainment.

The Unlimited Sedan Victorian title has attracted a mix of eight cylinder and six-cylinder light weight race sedans built around a purpose-built chassis. Back-to-back Victorian champion and winner at the most recent Unlimited Sedan race at Bairnsdale Warrick Taylor, leads the nominations which includes Lennie Bonnici the current number two driver, Trent Susol who is quickly gathering speed, Peter Cox, Darren Nelson, Daryl Nicolson, and East Gippslander Johnny Young who is from Sale.

Taylor followed up his win at Bairnsdale three weeks ago with another at Wangaratta last week and is focussed on a rare Victorian title triple if he wins the big race on Saturday night after securing the previous two title wins. Bonnici is keen to get his hands on the coveted title trophy as to compliment his four trophies for winner the annual 100 Lap Derby in Alexandra. Observation from the sports media suggests that it is going to take a heck of a lot of unexpected variables to occur to stop Taylor; however the great thing about motorsport is we always expect the unexpected.

In Sprintcar racing, a huge feature race has been supported by local businesses A1 Trailers & A1 Solar and Electrical for the class, the event to be called the A1 Cup. Latrobe Valley racer and state champion Dennis Jones is leading the entrants with a class field set to fly. Bairnsdale racer Shane Steenholdt who won the first event of the season for Sprintcars will be back to attempt to double up, whilst Adam Greenwood, Mark Noonan, and Alistair Bastian also all from Bairnsdale are keen to defeat the big two. Justin Barton a winner at Bairnsdale last season comes up from the Melbourne Suburbs as does David McKay, both with claims on a victory result.

Limited Sportsman entries include local Bairnsdale members including Trent Wilson, Tim McKenzie, Matthew Hurley and Mark Both. McKenzie finished fourth in the last event at Bairnsdale for Limited Sportsman, the first local driver to finish with several Western Victorian drivers from Horsham and Hamilton in the field whilst Trent Wilson is hoping for a mechanically perfect weekend after barely turning a lap three weeks ago.

The Standard Saloon class had a Covid cancellation last week and had large numbers ready to compete at both Rosedale in the Valley and Nyora in South Gippsland, drivers in the class will be keen to make up for missing out with nominations for this Saturday.

The Bairnsdale association have a huge contingent of racers in the class with club champion Joshua Thomas always a favourite competing against Andrew Cormack, Ashley Cormack, Arron Cormack, Craig Cormack, Shaun Cormack, Michael Cormack, Peter Cormack, Nigel Frew, Clinton Geer and Steven Dadswell amongst others just from Bairnsdale. Then the visiting racers from further down the road that including the Stewart brothers Shane our last winner and Daniel and the Vuillermin brothers Jacob and Patrick, and add in Steven Danks, five very good drivers.

Division 2 Hot Rod racing has been popular for many seasons in the East and the class is amid a new growth spurt. A dozen cars are expected to nominate for Saturday night with drivers such as Mel Tatterson and her father Rob nominated, Daniel Angus, Ricky Low in his last race for now with the car sold and finding a new home and Troy Hutchison and Kane Gibson also in for a steer this weekend.

Gates will open to the public from 1pm with racing from 5.30pm. Tickets can be brought online or in cash only from the entry, no card facility available. Adult entry is $20 a head whilst aged pensioners are $15 only Children aged between 12 and 16 enter at $8 each and all children under the age of 12 enter free.

Bairnsdale Speedway Association wishes to thank all their valued supporters;
A1 Septic Tanks
A1 Trailers
A1 Yard Maintenance
Assist A Lift Bairnsdale
ABR 4×4 Bairnsdale
Bairnsdale Automotive & Transmissions
Bairnsdale RSL
Bairnsdale Scrap Metal
Bakers Delight
Boost 2 Drive
Bridgestone Bairnsdale Riviera Tyre Service
Bristol Paint
Buchan Towing
Carpet World
Cheap Tyres Morwell
Clifton Mobile Homes
Craig Riseley Plumbing
Curtis Engineering
Dennison Quality Roofing
East Gippsland Hire
Eastern Signs
Egee Printers
East Gippsland Locks & Keys
EZ Print
Farm Fodder Direct
Gen-Sol Power Australia
Gillicks Busline
Granite Rock Quarries
Great Southern Kitchens
Jarvis Norwood
JBI Concreting
M & S Laity Hay Contractors
Mitchell Valley Excavations
Patties Foods
Napier Photography
Phase Link Electrics
RCI Services
Riviera Concrete
SS Auto Wholesalers
SSM Asbestos
Swan Plumbing
Tambo Waste
Tim Bull MP – Member for Gippsland East
TRFM & Gold 1242
Wayne Trinder Plumbing & Gas fitting
Westpoint Motors
W.G.I Earthmoving & Heavy Haulage

This week’s Nominations;
Warrick Taylor – Victoria 1/Nyora 43
Bob Price – Nyora 7
Trent Susol – Redline 7
Darren Nelson – Drouin 8
Frank Ramsdale – Nyora 9
Daryl Nicolson – Drouin 22
Stan Brown – Drouin 23
Johnny Young – Rosedale 25
Lennie Bonnici – Nagambie 33
Wayne Eames – Corowa 51
Peter Cox – Nagambie 62
Joshua Cormack – Rosedale 82
Anthony McKean – Rosedale 83
Daniel Unternahrer – Alexandra 86
Travis Ramsdale – Nyora 99

Shane Steenholdt – 5
Steve Horton – 8
Phil Micallef – 11
David Dennison – 15
Jack Van Bremen – 16
Dennis Jones – 17
Anthony Snow – 24
Koby Noonan – 26
Michael Evans – 28
Adam Greenwood – 35
Steve McIntyre – 38
Mark Noonan – 42
Jeremy Kupsch – 47
Shane Stevens – 48
Mark Laity – 53
Alistair Bastian – 55
Ethan Bastian – 64
Jordan Abbott – 74
David McKay – 83
Justin Barton – 86
Dillon Siely – 87
Trent Nielson – 88
Andrew Nielson – 90
Craig Tucker – 94
Danny Mayson – 96

Daniel Angus – Victoria 3/Nyora
Ricky Low – Moe 5
Jason Seymour – Moe 10
Rob Tatterson – Moe 11
Leigh Mitchell – Rosedale 14
TBC – Moe 18
Mel Tatterson – Moe 21
Mario Angus – Rosedale 22
Dave Kerrison – Rosedale 27
Robbie Edwards – Nyora 55
Troy Hutchison – Rosedale 74
Leigh Burkett – Rosedale 81
Brett Ciantar – Bairnsdale 83

Trent Wilson – Bairnsdale 10
Matthew Hurley – Bairnsdale 14
Paul Hadden – Bairnsdale 15
Mark Both – Bairnsdale 18
Tony Carpenter – Bairnsdale 32
Tim McKenzie – Bairnsdale 93

Jacob Vuillermin – Victoria 3/Rosedale 59
Shane Stewart – Rosedale 6
Daniel Stewart – Rosedale 8
Andrew Cormack – Bairnsdale 12
Ashley Cormack – Bairnsdale 13
Craig Cormack – Bairnsdale 14
Arron Cormack – Bairnsdale 19
Michael Cormack – Bairnsdale 23
Josh Thomas – Bairnsdale 25
Nicholas Harnett – Rosedale 29
Andy Evans – Rosedale 31
Shannon Overton – Bairnsdale 36
Russell Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 42
Steven Dadswell – Bairnsdale 47
Stephen Overton – Bairnsdale 51
Shaun Cormack – Bairnsdale 62
Peter Cormack – Bairnsdale 71
Nigel Frew – Bairnsdale 76
Kate Stuchbery – Bairnsdale 78
Jamie Angus – Nyora 79
Clinton Geer – Bairnsdale 80
Bradley Dickson – Nyora 84
Patrick Vuillermin – Rosedale 88
Steven Danks – Rosedale 96
Bobby Devine – Rosedale 97

Ends Release

Latest News


Your Daily Racing Fix

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

Welcome Back!

Login to your account below

Retrieve your password

Please enter your username or email address to reset your password.

Add New Playlist